We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2011

It took me a while to get around to writing this; please don't hold that against the hotel. My boyfriend and I loved this place! Clean, quiet, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast, cake in the afternoons, port in the evenings, help-yourself fridge. . . I could go on and on. Stop looking for anywhere else to stay in CPT and just book a room there. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust_at_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

A marvelous place. One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The staff is incredibly knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChipUsher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

You walk in to a misleading foyer. Once you turn the corner the B&B opens up like the décor out of a home magazine. Getting the tour, the enormity of the home unveils itself. Huge living areas, dinning areas and a gourmet kitchen I would sacrifice the last dodo bird for. Our bedroom had the softest sheets which called for my body immediately. The style modern washroom screams decadence that I quiver in anticipation to use. The balcony opened up over the wading pool and lounge area, too cold, but the view of Table Mountain was incredible!
Free WiFi, community computer, safety deposit box, in room coffee/tea, travel books was much appreciated.
No alarm clock needed, the smells from the morning breakfast bring our eyes to an open. Great spread of fresh baked goods, a selection of cheeses and fresh juices. The fresh ginger loaf was like eating cotton candy. It was so soft it disintegrated into my taste buds. Eggs done the way you want with all the other fixins' and we started our day with a big smile on our faces. The honor-bar was great too, with water, juices and snacks available.
The staff was fantastic, readily to help with recommendations and pointers. They stored our luggage for the whole day as we went off for a full day tour, and they even gave us a ride to our next hotel (tour pick up from a different hotel).

The B&B is a 10 minute walk to a great street with lined with many great restaurants. Panama Jacks was a local seafood resto favorite, and *blushingly* we loved Ocean Basket as well (coming from where we are, a fresh shrimp is like gold to us)
As well a short cab ride into the downtown, harbor and right around the corner to Table Mountain.

Overall, for their price range, this was the best place I have stayed at - ever.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

All the amazing reviews about this gorgeous B&B are 100% accurate! We absolutely LOVED our stay here and would return in a heart beat.
The ambience is lovely and you just feel at home the minute you walk in the door! The decor is amazing, the owners are FABULOUS (Louis inparticular for us!) and the staff are lovely too.

We stayed in a bronze room as we didn't plan to spend much time in our room and it was all we needed & VERY clean which is very important to us. The breakfast was wonderful and the advice on all the places to eat and shop were just an added feature.

The suburb is lovely & safe and you can walk around without any problems at all.

Love, Love, Love this place and we will return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbournetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I can't really add anything to all the many previous comments about how amazing this place is.. It is exceptional. The service, free internet, fridge to keep your own food/drink in all made to a really hassle free holiday. The complimentary port to sip whilst playing backgammon in the evenings was a particular highlight. We simply loved Cape Town and would move there in a flash. We had the best food we have ever eaten and would particularly recommend SALT, Harbour House (Kalk Bay), the Codfather and the Savoy Cabbage to eat at. We also had a lovely picnic in the grounds of Kirtsenboch and would really recommend doing this whilst going to one of their sunday concerts. All in all a great value, very special place.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BristolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This is a gem! A very beautiful, well kept renovated villa in a safe and accesible part of Cape Town-lovely, spacious comfortable room-delicious, fresh full breakfast served in a pretty backyard gardent with pool-
Best of all was the service and accesibility of the owners
Jimmy provided wonderful information and was very attentive to our needs-we didn't have to use any guidebooks-we just followed his excellent suggestions re restaurants, sights and safety-
Terrific stay and excellent value!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed in An African Villa for five days in May. Splurged on a Platinum room with a view of Table Mountain and the Lion's Head, the only way to go. Room was lovely, though I think smaller than others that faced on the street that were less expensive. Only complaint -- the bed was a bit hard, but nothing that really disturbed our sleep or our stay. The owners, a quartet, were helpful and engaging, the breakfast quite good. The owners even got me special food needed for my limited diet. The place is beautifully appointed, three older brick homes joined together into an inn with 12 rooms, and located in a quiet residential neighborhood, though a close walk to the many shops and restaurants on nearby Kloof Street. The free internet was especially nice to have. It is a close cab ride to stunning Table Mountain, and shops further towards downtown. If you really like walking, as we do, you can go by foot down to the waterfront, the Malay Quarter and the Cape Quarter. Highly recommended is the excursion to Robben Island, and an all-day trip to the Cape of Good Hope and back. You can hire a driver/guide recommended by the hotel, in our case the lovely Tania. The trip is not cheap, nor is Cape Town for the depressed US dollar, but the physical beauty of the region is deeply compelling. You will certainly feel the racial tensions and the economic disparity, but such is the measure of life at this time in South Africa. It made for an even more intriguing trip as a whole as we knew we were tourist voyeurs, soon to leave. I would not think of staying at a hotel in Cape Town, just make a beeline to An African Villa. Oh, and spend the extra few dollars to have your luggage wrapped in plastic as an extra, though not fail-safe precaution. Friends had their baggage pilfered at Joburg airport, though we came through just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danrather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,353 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £112 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing