We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not have been happier -- a perfect choice”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Friends had recommended An African Villa and we brought back a thank you gift for them as a result of their advice. Cindy, Keith, Louis, Jimmy and the entire staff were so helpful to us.The guest house itself is beautifully furnished, elegant yet very comfortable -- it felt like staying in a friend's home, albeit a very "up market" home! The common rooms were gracious, fires in fireplaces often, and our room was perfect. The spaciousness of the guest room we had was enhanced by the lovely view of Table Mountain. Breakfasts were delicious and hearty. We were on the go constantly, but it's the kind of place where we would have loved to just sit by the fireplace and relax!

We just read the posting by Nov. 2010 and think they were staying someplace else! Their comments could not have been more off the mark!

Would highly recommend An African Villa to any and all -- it was a first rate establishment and a most enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: We had room B2 with a lovely view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkellydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

It's rare for a hotel to get everything right. African Villa is one of the few hotels that does. The style is unique, beautiful Cape Town sophistication with a touch of wild Africa. The staff is accommodating and helpful while still giving you privacy. The breakfast is delicious and cakes, pastries, and other surprises appear in the kitchen throughout the day. We visiting Cape Town while doing research for a travel book focusing on travel for couples and found An African Villa to be intimate, romantic, and lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tangointahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Cape Town was our final destination in SA and we wanted to make it really special so we decided to go for the n°1 guesthouse in Cape Town at the time. We were very excited after reading all the reviews but it turned out to be just ok and nothing spectacular. We had stayed in other guest houses and paid twice cheaper for better standard and amazing service. Not sure why the rates are that high. We found two 4/5 star hotels in the same area with higher standards and 20 % cheaper than the African Villa and we kinda regretted it.
This is defo not a 5 star hotel, just a B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NB02010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africanvilla16, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear NB02010 from Luxembourg, November 2010.

We have had mercifully few negative reports from our reviewers on TripAdvisor over the years, but we realise that we cannot sit on the laurels of an overwhelmingly positive response to our product. We do apologise to these folk who have obviously had a very adverse response to our offering, so much so that they mulled over the experience for 8 months before feeling the need to write their review. Just to se the record straight, at the time of their stay, in November 2010, we were listed as #4 on TripAdvisor and, alas, not #1 as mentioned. Our establishment was and still is rated 4 Stars by the Tourism Grading Council S. A. and not 5 as mentioned.

I am at a loss as to how to correct the objections raised. I have checked to see if there were any other negative reviews during the last quarter of 2010 and found 14 travel reviews - all of which scored us 5s in all areas offered by TripAdvisor. I took the latest review to the guests whom we presently have staying with us at the Villa – three of these were groups of people who had been referred directly to us by past guests or had stayed with us in the past, some were first-timers under our roof. All were astounded at the comments on this review.

NB02010’s unhappiness and main concern seems to have been the standard of our accommodations and service as compared with nearby hotels which were apparently offering lower rates during November 2010. I do assure them that we try very hard to keep our rates lower than our competitors without having to laying off loyal staff members in these hard times of economic uncertainty. We are equally at pains to offer a consistently high standard of service and product. As a result of a falsely-perceived boom during the recent soccer World Cup, an oversupply of rooms in Cape Town has become apparent. Never-the-less for the period in question (November 2010) we were 85% full. Many hotels were not so fortunate and were therefore offering special deals to help boost their occupancy. I can only assume that these are the nearby hotels referred to by our disappointed guests from Luxembourg.

One must ask oneself WHY people elect to stay at smaller establishments rather than at these large hotels? The perception amongst our guests, gleaned from the small survey which I undertook today, indicates that the uniquely relaxed and ‘homely’ atmosphere in our house is preferable to those who have grown tired of the ‘predictability’ of the average cookie-cut hotel environment. An African Villa, for these clients, presents a ‘breath of fresh air’ and allows for a more relaxed vacation. We do NOT offer a glamorous, 5-star establishment but rather a quietly, characterful establishment.

Being owner-managed, and thus dealing one-on-one with our clientele, we are very careful try to gauge how much assistance each of our clients requires. The last thing we want is to appear to be ‘all over them like a bad rash’ but on the other hand, we are aware that for most, the few days’ holiday in our city allowed them are very brief. These constraints, and the unique security concerns which Africa presents them, mean that we aim to have our clients experience as ‘chock-full’ and safe a visit as possible. It may be that our reading of these clients’ needs fell short. For that we apologise most sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

African Village was a great find. We are a family of five and we found it quite spacious and elegantly furbished. It is walking distance to several top TripAdvisor restaurants, including Rick's Cafe, Milner's Thumb (dined there twice), Green House and Mount Nelson Hotel (recommend that you book tea several days in advance). The staff couldn't be more helpful. They had great recommendations for sites, restaurants and other attractions. They helped us map great driving tours to Cape Peninsula and the wine country. We also recommend a fabulous tour to the Langa Township (a must see) via Vamos Tours (a very authentic tour www.vamos.co.za).

Nice daily breakfast and complimentary sherry/brandy in evenings. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The owners couldn't have helped anymore - in fact I'd go as far as to say that it was the best hotel I've ever stayed in!
They briefed us on everything we needed to know upon arrival and then throughout our stay they continued to help with everything - arranging trips/booking things/planning our schedule/local info etc.
The hotel is beautiful and stylishly decorated with tonnes of natural light and African charm.
Breakfast was delicious and the location was ideal. With only a short walk to amazing restaurants and bars it made the evenings easy and extra enjoyable.

Can't wait to go back to Cape Town and An African Villa.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BestBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed here with a group of friends for 5 nights in June and everyone loved this place. This was our first time in Cape Town, so we weren't sure what to expect, but this hotel exceeded our expectations. The location was great - lots of nice restaurants and shops within walking distance or a short cab ride to the waterfront. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the service and rooms were great. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Cape Town. It was also a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I along with my husband checked into An African villa in the last week of June and I think we did the right thing. The rooms, lounges, wi-fi, decor & breakfast were perfect....The location is great and you get all the support from the team for moving around capetown & also organising tours etc. Let me come to the best part now, Keith, Cindy, Louis & Jimmy are angels sent from heaven! yes yes they are and they go all out to make you feel comfortable and answer all your queries. We would surely like to revisit capetown and stay in An African Villa all over again, complete Value for money...what a fantastic experience!
Mrs. Aparna Sidharth
New Delhi, India

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AparnaSidharth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,460 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,336 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £108 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing