We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We arrived to An African Villa from a busy 4 day stay in Malawi, so we were looking for comfort and great relaxation. We were not disappointed. The hospitality and friendliness from the welcoming party, Keith, and the house ladies was superb. We especially liked the breakfast pancakes and baking. Thankyou for such a unique and wonderful stay and creating such a beautiful place for us to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juju008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel was fairly cheap so we didnt expect too much from it. However, we had constant communication from Jimmy before our stay updating us on weather, excursions, prices etc. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and shown to our rooms, then given a tour and an orientation meeting over tea and coffee. The rooms were immaculate! very well desigend and comfortable, Breakfast was provided and again was perfect. All the staff went out of their way to make you feel at home and help you find your way round Cape Town. Louis chatted to all the guests in the morning and it was lovely to have such a personal touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again myself

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 rooms, a silver, gold and platinum. Personally I preferred the B room ground floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XX44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed here in October 2011 for several days before joining my small wildlife-artist-led tour group at the Cape Grace. We loved An African Villa so much compared to the Cape Grace that I tried in vain to convince the tour leader to book here for the next group she took to Capetown. It's more like a boutique hotel or inn than a "B&B" -- quiet, well-edited and serene decor, great breakfasts. The owners gave us spot-on advice about several things, and were eager to help. We were able to walk to a nice neighborhood restaurant for dinner, and had no qualms about safety. You'll need taxis to go to the wharf and city core, but for what you save by staying here compared to a five-star hotel -- that's a great trade-off. I fell in love with the Pan-African market, but shipping items home through the Cape Grace was a nightmare. Next time I'm in Capetown (Nov. 2014), I'll do my shopping while still at An African Villa, and rely on the owners' guidance to get purchases shipped home. I have a feeling these guys would steer me to a more reliable, user-friendly shipper and not charge a huge mark-up. That kind of confidence in your innkeeper is invaluable anywhere in Africa, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Our last few days in Cape Town and we selected African Villa from other Trip Advisor comments! Not disappointed at all, gorgeous room and Louis, Cindy and staff were so very helpful. Plunge pool, lovely patio for breakfast and good service. Loved our room, heavenly bed and modern well appointed bathroom but small so needs hooks for towels, kit bags etc!!
Can walk easily to wonderful restaurants and downtown areas from here.

Room Tip: Main floor at the back opens to the patio. Was quiet and felt very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janbob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inkululeko, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Hello there, and many thanks for allerting us to the problem with hooks near the shower! It was great that you came to us amd mentioned id on departure (I just wish we could have sorted out this ommision while you were there!) When you return to us you will find that your suggestion has bourne fruit and that ALL bathrooms now have such hooks! Just to let you know that at An African Villa - YOU ARE NUMBER 1! Kind regards and may thanks for your very warm writeup about our hotel - it is very motivating for our staff - ALL OF US! Jimmy (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I spent five nights at An African Villa in February, following a week long stay at a 5 star Capetown Hotel. This was my second trip to beautiful Capetown- having stayed in a luxury hotel and then with friends the previous visit. Staying at An African Villa was like staying with old friends; relaxing, luxurious, comfortable and easy going. I cant wait to go back, and if not staying with friends this would always be my first choice. Louis and Jimmy are relaxed, hospitable and incredibly friendly and generous nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully decorated and so comfortable and quiet. We loved the Port left out in the late evenings for bed time treat and the hosts. This is a gorgeous alternative to a hotel,lovely breakfasts in the courtyard and a plunge pool to dip into when hot from walking up the hill from town. Everything is thought of here and the accommodation and hospitality beats a five star hotel easily.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

From arrival to exit, our stay here was such a lovely experience. We were picked up from the airport seamlessly and on arrival were greeted immediately and given the tour. As some other reviews have mentioned, this was a tad patronising and slightly tiring after the flight but very informative and useful. Having a recommended taxi service (reasonable and pleasant) and restaurants (within walking distance) made it easier to navigate Cape Town. The breakfast was always delicious and all the staff happy to answer questions and have a chat. We had no problem with our room which was on the ground floor and noise was expected for a busy B&B in the city centre.
We highly recommend booking a township tour with the B&B - they booked ours for the next day and it was safe, interesting and made our stay in CT.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at an African Villa for 8 nights during a recent visit to Cape Town. Set in a residential area outside the City centre the villa offers excellent facilities and support for a long or short stay, the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the service and support from the team is first class. The owners are also very knowledgeable and helpful when seeking recommendations about local sight seeing and dinner reservations. Its is a homely atmosphere and we really did feel like part of the family during our visit. The whole team provide excellent service and the choice and quality at breakfast would put a lot of five star hotels to shame. Thank you Jimmy, Louie, Keith and Cindy for making our stay in Cape Town so enjoyable and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelstrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,336 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £108 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing