We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No detail overlooked.”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No detail overlooked.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here for 5 nights. Louis, Keith, Cindy, and all the staff are exceptional. From the complete walk through of the inn to the restaurant suggestions, they did not miss anything. Keith was very kind and made several dinner reservations for us; all were great places. The breakfasts were so good, we considered staying longer. The room is spacious and has all the amenities you will need. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PowerPlayNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    83
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
647
48
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
244 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Over the top service. Jimmy quickly sized us up and arranged tickets, pharmacy stops and restaurant reservations for us. Beautifully appointed, scrumptious breakfast (though I never managed to get an over easy egg in all of S.A.). Advice: take their airport transfer, take their taxi company. The guests who stay here are also delightful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

African Villa was well reviewed on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint us. In fact, if possible, it surpassed expectations! The location was good, the room was very comfortable and the hospitality from the complimentary sherry to the use of the kitchen and honesty bar, top notch. The owners advised us on our sightseeing and recommended and even booked restaurants for us. They could not have been more helpful. We will recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This property is well appointed and feels very homely. We paid to stay in one of the larger rooms and we were not disappointed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed. The location is great if you want to walk to local restaurants as well as into Long street. There is a lot of information available about what to do in Cape Town at the Villa and if you want more information the owners will enjoy the opportunity to tell you what you must see while in Cape Town. Breakfast was great, very fresh and always an opportunity to eat well if you are keen on a cooked breakfast. Cindy and Keith always gave good advice of where to go and where to purchase goods and Louis always new of the best restaurants to visit. The owners dogs are a treat and we were grateful to Jimmy who found there wasn't a taxi available to take us to the airport so he took us in his car. Such service can't be found in a large establishment. This is definitely a place to stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of a longer holiday in SA - loved it. The managers/owners could not have been more helpful, the room and communal areas were lovely, and the breakfast was the best we had in our three week trip (especially the crispy bacon!).

Very highly recommended - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_s_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My name is Paul and I'm one of the directors of Real Africa in the UK and I recently stayed at An African Villa and would like to thank Louis, Keith, Cindy & Jimmy for looking after me and my partner so well. The guest house is well situated for visiting locally restaurants and is a short taxi drive away to the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and Table Mountain.

We stayed in a Gold Room which was large and had a lovely bathroom. The room overlooked the small pool and terrace area.

The communual areas are warm and inviting and offer comfortable seats and even computers.

Breakfast is taken close to the kitchen and you can help yourself to cold items and a cooked breakfast is also available if required.

I'm confident our Real Africa clients will continue to enjoy staying at An African Villa.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for one of the large Platinum rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauliehickeyfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

An African Villa was so beautifully decorated and appointed, that you felt you were staying with a friend's house who is an interior designer. From the moment we stepped through the doors, we were greeted and an attended to like we were royalty. The attention to detail in this Villa was very high end, right down to the little gift wrapped treat upon check out. The owners were friendly, knowledgeable, and super helpful. Since our flight did not leave until the evening, were were able to store our bags at the Villa for one last day of exploring the city. They booked us the Shower Room to let us get cleaned up before we left for the airport. Who the heck DOES THAT?! An African Villa, that's who. I loved this place!!! HIGH RECOMMENDATIONS!!!

My only very minor complaint is that the door to our room (C3) did not fit the opening as well as it could have. Since the bright hall light outside our door was left on all evening, it shawn through all the gaps around the door. I recommend that the door is replaced with a better fitting door, or have the hall light dimmed after 9 pm. To be fair, the owners did have a draft roll to put at the bottom of the door, but light was still beaming in from the sides.

Room Tip: Noise travels in these old houses, so if that bothers you, you may want to ask for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyTai18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,390 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,996 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,489 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Property: An African Villa
Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing