We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accomodation and super friendly staff”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superb accomodation and super friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I can only echo the many excellent reviews of this lovely and elegant guest house/boutique hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and accomodating; owners were hands-on; and the decor was very tasteful. The honesty bar was a lovely touch, and after a long day's journey, it was lovely to be able to order take-in to our room, and grab a bottle of wine from the bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    84
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
99
651
50
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a wonderful time at "An African Villa". My wife and I had a chance to stay there for one week. Situated in a cosy and relaxing part of Cape town (Tamboerskloof ) with nice restaurants at walking distance. The staf is extremely friendy and helpful, the breakfasts are perfect and the design of the rooms is a success.

We strongly recommend "An African Villa"!


Colette & Philippe

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

If you want to experience the best staying in Cape Town, An African Villa is without a doubt where you have to go.
There are so many reasons why we liked this boutique hotel that is hard to name them all. In first place the personalized approach feels like a friend that knows you is giving you the best tips ever (thx Louis!), so the owners are not only super friendly but they are also your personal tourist advisor. The rooms are impeccable in cleanliness and very stylish (awesome bathroom!). The bfast buffet is very varied and fresh, another example of the owners taking care of every single detail. The hotel is located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood that at the same time is logistically well located (close to restos, center and highway).

We definitely loved the place and Louis, the bfast and the rooms. Whenever we are coming back to Cape Town, I know 100% sure where are we going to stay.

Barbara & Christophe

PS: Louis, thx so much for the last night!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at African Villa for our 1st four nights in Cape Town and were very pleased we chose to stay here. the owners were great and organised dinner and excursion bookings nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were excellent and the free sherry and port in the evenings was a nice touch. There is an excellent restaurant Beleza within 5 mins walk and some good bars. Highly recommend the pork curry and Fillet steak with red wine sauce.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

An African Villa in Cape Town is a guest house situated in a very quiet and safe neighbourhood. The building is made of three adjacent houses and has been wonderfully re modelled into spacious and attractive accommodation.

The communal rooms were well appointed and very welcoming, breakfast was good and offered both inside and outside depending on the weather. The owners made us feel very welcome and we would definitely return on another holiday. Although in a quiet area ,there were plenty of restaurants within walking distance as was the town centre itself.

Our only negative comment was that we had a room which seemed to have a noisy water pipe running under the floor! On the whole, a great place to stay in wonderful surroundings.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallycolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

From booking to reluctant departure, the team at An African Villa were top-notch.
Relaxed but genuine welcome, sat down by Cindy and taken step by step through this wonderful set of interlinked,converted houses, we were shown the attractions of the house and had a careful briefing on Cape Town , eateries, personal security etc. bookings of every sort made with enthusiasm and knowledge. Louis, Keith and Cindy are all partners in the Villa, and their engagement with every new guest was widely appreciated and noted....too many positives and no negatives make this a first choice for a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

An African Villa was a perfect introduction to Cape Town and South Africa for us on our honeymoon. Immediately after we booked they arranged transport from the airport to the Villa, along with tips about where to eat like the excellent The Test Kitchen.
That continued when we arrived, with Cindy and Louis providing more tips about when and how to book visits to the capital’s big attractions.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable and like the rest of the Villa, incredibly stylish. It was also quiet and meant we could have a decent sleep to recover from our journey.
We found An African Villa’s location ideal as it heavily cut down on taxi bills, with the area of Tamboerskloof a trendy area with lots of nice restaurants like the excellent Emily’s (thanks again Cindy for that recommendation!) and Miller’s Thumb. It also provides easy access to Long Street to walk down to the city centre and the sites like the National Gallery and Slave Lodge.
The breakfasts were also delicious and we were able to eat so much we were usually able to skip lunch (well, it was our honeymoon, diet begins now we’re back...).
In short, we could not find fault with An African Villa, and would recommend anyone looking to travel to Cape Town stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
416 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Property: An African Villa
Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing