We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We (my wife, our two adult daughters and I) were all agreed that this was a fantastic place to stay and that we will return here next time we are in Cape Town. The rooms are well appointed, clean and spacious. You can always tell whether a place is clean or not by the state of the bathrooms. You won't be disappointed here.
The communal areas are also places you would want to be in.
Fantastic breakfast. Lovely little back patio to enjoy it in.
So everything you would want from a four star guest house you have here. To this add wonderful hospitality. Louis and Antonette could not have been more helpful if they tried. Nothing was too much trouble and they just couldn't do enough for you. Their wealth of local knowledge made our trip to this wonderful city even better.
We found the locals in Cape Town, no matter whee we went, to be truly friendly and hospitable. The bus system in the city works really well and is inexpensive. We travelled all over the place by public transport and found it to be clean and reliable.
The food is exceptional and to say it was good value for money would be an understatement.
We visited the Biscuit Mill, Camps Bay, Tabletop Mountain and Clifton.
Can't wait to be back and we hope to stay at An African Villa again.

Room Tip: We had one Gold and one Platinum room. Both rooms were equally good. This place gets booked up pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I spent our 2-year wedding anniversary here and had such an amazing time. We were made to feel so welcome and at home and we were even spoiled with a bottle of bubbly. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was the second time that we have stayed at An African Villa and it was the right decision to return. The staff are really helpful and full of great tips for Cape Town and the local area round the hotel. If I had to give a tip, I'd recommend staying in one of the upstairs rooms as they're a bit quieter.

Room Tip: As before, the rooms upstairs are slightly quieter than the downstairs rooms. I'd also suggest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for five nights in January 2014. Housekeeping staff members are really friendly; there is a nice atmosphere at breakfast. Breakfast is delicious. Our room was light and airy with a view of Table Mountain. Terrace and garden are pretty; big downside is that guests are allowed to smoke outside; while having breakfast it was annoying and sometimes we would not open the door to not let cigarette smoke in (from the garden). We used the laundry service and everything has shrunk. As a result I had to give parts of my holiday wardrobe to charity (1 mini skirt, 6 singlets, 7 T-Shirts, 1 blouse, 1 pair of shorts, 1 pair of long trousers). At least it is a good thing to do. I heavily advise everyone to not use their laundry service. I spoke to the blonde Lady at reception (so very sorry that I cannot remember her name) about the issue and she said she was sorry, that was it, she was not really bothered and I would have wished for a bit more enthusiasm. We also had our beach towels cleaned and they were fine though. The location is not too bad, in a pretty neighborhood of CT.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelsFromAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africanvilla, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear "DorCologne "
Sorry to read about your disappointing experience at our establishment. We have taken note of your complaint about the smoking in the courtyard. The South Africa Government enforces a no-smoking policy and does not allow smoking INSIDE public areas, and our establishment upholds that same policy and do not allow any smoking inside our bedrooms or inside the common areas. This means that smoking is only allowed outside our establishment and guests use the OPEN courtyard for that purpose. I, myself am a non-smoker, but it is very difficult to supervise the outside OPEN courtyard area as to where guests are allowed to smoke or not, but we have taken your complaint on board and have introduced a "NO-SMOKING DURING BREAKFAST TIME" policy as a courtesy to other non-smoking guests.

Regarding your laundry complaint.
I am sorry to hear you experienced problems with our laundry service.
We have been using the services of this laundry company for almost 9 years now and we have never experienced any problems with guest laundry before. We also send all the bed linen and bath towels from our establishment to the same laundry company – all these items are 100% cotton and we’ve never experienced any shrinkage problems before. Our records indicate that 5 guests sent personal laundry out on the same day as you and none of the other 4 guests alerted us of shrinking laundry as experienced by yourself on that day. I checked with the laundry company as to what washing cycle they use for laundry. They only wash in cold water (unless a special request is made for hot water wash), and they do tumble dry all laundry as they do not have airing facilities to hang laundry out to dry naturally. We try our best to take care of guest’s personal laundry and we supply 2 laundry bags in each bedroom. One laundry bag for light colours and one for dark colours. For any other special requests, we pin a note onto the laundry bag to alert the laundry of the request. I am not sure if your personal laundry items had special care instructions such as “ DO NOT TUMBLE DRY” – if this was not communicated to the laundry, they would’ve washed and tumbled as per their normal procedure.
As I mentioned, this was an isolated case and not the norm and we apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was a great boutique hotel just outside of one of the major downtown areas of Cape Town. The most impressive part of the experience is the staff/owners. Every day they stop by your table as you eat an amazing breakfast and help you plan your day. They take time to make sure you know exactly what you are doing and let you know if your planning should be tweaked at all. The rooms are really nice and the on-suite bathrooms are great. You can walk from the hotel to lots of great restaurants but it's far enough off the main streets that parking is easy. All in all, the perfect hotel for a short stay in Cape Town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed two nights here in January 2014. The staff is great and makes you feel at home. Breakfast is superb and the room I stayed in was well appointed and very comfortable. Fast wifi, great communication, and great location makes this an easy choice in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vt061498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Sophisticated and welcoming, An African Villa is a highly recommended home away from home in Cape Town. Louis' greeting upon arrival set things off on the right foot... his passion for Cape Town and for hosting guests was clear. We were provided with excellent recommendations on dining and attractions, and came home from a day in the town to find our reservation slip clipped to our front door (nice touch!). Such attention to detail...direct phone line to the local taxi service; honor bar in the kitchen stocked with wines, beer and bottled water; rooms replete with amenities; gorgeous and tasteful decorations; extremely friendly management team. And, as an added bonus for us, we were lucky to get to meet the house puppies... adorable. We will be returning to the Villa!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,292 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £105 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing