We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Villa's great but it's the owners who make it.”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, UK.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Villa's great but it's the owners who make it.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

One of the best places we have ever stayed in - yes, the villa is tastefully furnished and decorated, the rooms comfortable and well appointed, the location in a quiet, safe area, not too far from the city centre; but it is the friendly, professional spirit of the owners that really made the difference for us. We arrived early to drop off bags, but a real effort was made to get us into our room asap. Cindy immediately gave us an excellent overview of the Villa, local restaurants, things to see and general advice. At every breakfast, one of the owners would always ask us about our previous day and offer tips about the day to come. On our departure day, we had to check out by 11 a.m. but our flight wasn't until near midnight; we were allowed to store our bags and when we returned at six, we could freshen up in a shower room, sit in the lounge area and we were even offered coffee and cake. This made the last day of our stay (often a write off) as enjoyable as the preceding days. Other touches such as the honesty fridge, complimentary cake, port and sherry, free wi-fi access from your own device or one of the two lounge computers, facility to print out documents, convenient links with local taxi company all added most positively to the stay. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    83
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
648
48
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southern Germany
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our first time in Cape Town - and so many hotels to choose from. Our 4 days stay was at the end
of our three weeks trip - so it should be a great final!! After checking the reviews of so many
hotels we booked at An African Villa - and what can I say: it was a perfect choice! As so many
have already said: the staff is wonderful and helped in all our questions. Service was perfect.
Location is a huge plus - walking distance to many good restaurants. We enjoyed our breakfast
every morning with a view on Table mountain - what a treat!! An in the evenings, it was a lovely to have a Port or Sherry waiting in the living room for free...
We liked our room and the whole decoration of the house, too. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quiltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, I made the booking with An African Villa. It did not disappoint at all. The staff there - Keith, Cindy, Antonette and Louis had been extremely friendly, patient and helpful throughout our stay: they would help with restaurant suggestions and reservations, on things to do, or calling a cab for their guests. The guesthouse is conveniently located in a residential neighborhood, close to lots of restaurants, and walking to Cape Town downtown will take just about 30 minutes. It is also very beautifully decorated inside and out. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterwant2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We loved this hotel - The staff orientation when we arrived was very thorough. The hotel is beautiful inside. The breakfasts were excellent and we also enjoyed the Port/Sherry served at 6.
The staff at the hotel were wonderful and so helpful about suggesting restaurants within walking distance and making the reservations for us. We will definitely stay here again if in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Accommodation, service, breakfast and all special touches proved the hotel to be an ideal base to explore Cape Town.
The decor and bedrooms were lovely and the hosts were so helpful in advising places to eat etc. would have no hesitation to recommend the hotel and would love to visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawngordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We are a young couple in our late 20s and stayed at an African Villa at the start of March 2014. It was our first experience of Cape Town and the hosts were very helpful with guidance and tours to suit our needs. The bed was amazingly comfortable, breakfast was beautiful and location is excellent. It is a safe walk from many lovely restaurants and an excellent base for exploring Cape Town. Views of Table Mountain was lovely. I would recommend a stay here for friends and family of all ages. Thank You!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Villa came highly recommended by a close friend that travels frequently between his home in the U.S. and his other home about two and a half hours north of Cape Town. Because of the distance he frequently stays here and now we know why. Our good experience started when Cathy contacted Louie, one of the owners, who was extremely helpful with arranging our stay (we had to be a little flexible on the dates) and offering a wealth of information on tour guides, sights to see and restaurants. We arrived in the late evening and departed very early and on both occasions there was a staff member present to assist us (they even offered a box breakfast on departure). The entire staff is friendly and helpful and want the guests to have the absolute best experience possible. Keith and Cindy, the other owners, were just as helpful as Louie. The rooms were very nice and comfortable, breakfast was outstanding (served on the patio in good weather) and the location is perfect to walk to the center of the city and there were restaurants nearby, also. One quick tidbit, because of our need for flexibility we ended up in a fairly small room but after our second night a much larger room with balcony (a little more per night but well worth it) became available and they insisted that we would enjoy it much more, they were correct. This is not a five star hotel, for us it is much better because of being treated like family and we genuinely enjoyed what these partners have done to combine three old row houses in to a delightful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Check on the availability of the larger rooms with a balcony, a little more cost but we thought that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkobernik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,824 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,505 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Property: An African Villa
Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing