We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there. We will, over and over again.”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It is my great pleasure to give maximum grades to An African Villa. We stayed there for two nights and are still under the charm. The location is perfect, not far from Long Street, the decoration is extremely tasteful, the room was flawless, the breakfast was a pleasure and our hosts were professional and charming. Attention is paid to small details, like port and sherry in the evening, good WiFi or useful books in the common room. In the war of small hotels in Cape Town, An African Villa is a clear winner. Thanks again to Jimmy and Nel for making our stay in An African Villa perfect. 5 stars, especially since the price of a room is very reasonable. Great job, guys and we will see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

An African Villa and all the people who are part of the day to day operations are fantastic. From the owners to the the night clerk, everyone was friendly, helpful, and wanted to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were beautiful, the food was delicious, and the recommendations were right on. The location was excellent with a view of Table Mountain and Lion's Head Mountain. The Villa is beautifully decorated with a variety of South African artifacts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JandL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

An African Villa is owned and operated by very competent and accommodating hosts. The location is excellent - easy to walk to town or restaurants in the evening. The rooms are well appointed and the extras are awesome - tea/coffee in the room, port or sherry in the sitting rooms, fast WiFi, extensive breakfasts, great recommendations and more. Don't hesitate book into An African Villa.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11jud11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

An African Villa wins on all counts! My wife and I spent a week in this fantastic guest house on our honeymoon.

It's beautiful, comfortable and safe environment to stay. Stylish, relaxed with thought put into every detail of the design and services. Great rooms and the lounges, garden and breakfast spaces are splendid.

The staff at An African Villa are fabulous! After our long flight we were welcomed by the genuinely friendly and professional team, and throughout our stay they took care of us amazingly. Happily organising reservations, giving plenty of local tips and every afternoon a chat to see how our day was - absolutely great!

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I very much enjoyed our 3 day stay here. We enjoyed evening walks around the neighborhood and especially the local restaurants in the evening. Had some delightful meals. There is one local restaurant (can't remember the name but our hosts are the ones that told us about it) that specializes in wild game. The wart hog ribs are the best ribs I ever had.

As most of the other reviewers have indicated, the accommodations are delightful, the breakfasts are superb and the hosts and staff are friendly and very helpful/

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhabofLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Two enthusiastic thumbs up, high up. After checking several options, we decided to spend three nights at African Villa, and it was a great choice. Beautifully appointed, friendly staff, good location, and lots of nice touches (tea/coffee in the room, port or sherry in the sitting rooms, and excellent WiFi connections). Cindy (one of the owners) was especially helpful, making calls and connecting us with our guides (Discovery Tours, highly recommended!). For our last morning, we wanted to walk through the Kirstenbosch Gardens and grab one more look at the beautiful coastline around Cape Town. At Cindy’s suggestion, we hopped on the double-decker Citi Bus, which stops nearby, in front of the venerable Lord Nelson Hotel—which, by the way, is a special place to enjoy a glass of wine or afternoon tea. Our friends stayed at a Victoria & Alfred Waterfront hotel, but we were happy to be in a less touristy part of the city, where we could easily dine in local restaurants and get a sense of daily life a Cape Town neighborhood.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms are tastefully furnished and well appointed. Owners who are invariably on hand to assist in every way are most helpful. Staff is courteous and well trained. Breakfasts are fit for a king. Parking at doorstep. Great restaurants nearby. Quiet and safe neighbourhood. Wish we could have stayed longer than the 3 days we did.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,292 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £105 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing