We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
An African Villa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cape Milner(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Cadogan(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
More Quarters Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fritz Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveller rating
929
91
19
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
91
19
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bplatinum roomhonesty bartable mountaincomplimentary sherry and portafrican themehonor systemmillers thumbguest housewithin walking distancequiet neighborhoodstay in cape townplunge poolperfect place to staycooked breakfastkloof streetcommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed at this fantastic establishment at the begining of November for 6 nights.We thought the staff were brilliant,nothing was too much trouble.The interior is very pleasing and relaxing.The breakfasts are fantastic(as are the 'breakfast ladies'). The position could not be better for getting around the city.The local restaurants offered great value/great food,try the 'Codfather.'
We had a great introduction to South African hospitality
Thank you to Louie and the team.
Lynn Rob Burke
England.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rabLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

*superb bedroom and bathroom
*Ideally located, near the sightseeing bus stop, walking distance to shops,bar restaurants and large supermarket
*wonderful helpful staff, especially the breakfast ladies
*plenty of guide books to read and internet access
*the hire car company recommend by hotel fantasic and SO CHEAP!!!
*fantastic food, great system for having take aways delivered and wondeful honesty bar
overall felt so relaxed and comfortable, highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Caz-Windsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We stayed here for only one night sadly. But if you're going to be looking around Cape Town this place is great. Close to everything really, and Keith is a great host. Honestly one of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KoozaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Like all other reviews, this place is amazing and being a well travelled person having stayed in some of the best hotels in the world, I would thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Cape Town. It is comfortable, the bed especially, excellent breakfast, first class service, lots of little extras that make it special and within easy walking distance (safe too) to some very good restaurants.
It is a cheap taxi ride away from the waterfront which I would recommend you go for your night out. We spent 4 nights in the Villa, 2 we eat locally and 2 down on the waterfront. All very good and recommended by Jimmy.
Staff is wonderful and very helpful and the service you get beats any 5 star hotels I've stayed in.
If you don't know how long to stay in Cape Town, we stayed 4 nights and found it just right to visit all the sights we wanted to do. Table Mountain, (day we arrived) Cape of Good Hope (full day out), which included Bolders Bay for the Penguins, Botonical Gardens & Camps Bay (another full day) , Full day at the V&A Waterfront during the day. Missed Robben Island as it was closed so will do it next time. Kirstenbosch Gardens by the way was well worth a visit.
We plan on returning in 2010 and I wouldn't even think of looking at anywhere to stay.
We went for 3 wks touring the Garden Route & Wine Route and if you want to follow our trip, then log on to our next stop at the Pelagus House, Hermanus.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Having visited Cape Town a number of times we wanted to stay somewhere different and unique. We were not disappointed! The reviews of An African Villa were spot-on, and we found it to be comfortable and tastefully decorated with charming hosts who could not do enough for you. Breakfasts were plentiful, and a unique (these days) honesty fridge made us feel trusted and welcome.

Location was a short distance from the town centre, in a peaceful residential area of town with plenty restaurants only 3-4 minutes walk away. Our room faced Table Mountain and provided stunning views from the balcony.

Hosts suggested excellent itineraries, restaurants and car hire company. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pobthemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews