We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews are bang on - this place is incredible”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We stayed here in 2006 as part of a 2.5 week tour of South Africa, for a few days prior to attending a conference in Cape Town. Family-run small and elegant bed and breakfast. Beautifully furnished and appointed with an African theme - you feel completely at home. Breakfast is wonderful and homecooked with care. Staff are friendly with great advice and guidance and very accomodating. Neighbourhood is quiet but in my opinion safe and very close to a lot of hip restaurants and bars. We were usually back by 9:30pm anyway. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
There are newer reviews for An African Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2008

We just returned. All of the great reviews are true. We really enjoyed our stay. We used their reccommended airport transport which is Discovery Tours and also used 2 tours with Discovery. They were excellent. We followed their restraunt suggestions and they were all excellent. The only thing I don't rememember reading in past reviews is that the common areas are not airconditioned

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smjsmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

The guest house is located in a very nice area of Cape Town (more quiet and lovely than the V&A Waterfront !).

The team is very friendly and extremely helpful. The interior design decoration is quite impressive and this applies to rooms too.

Free access to internet.

The breakfast is delicious and the cleanliness is spotless.

One of the best guest house we have never seen !
Highly recommended !

Guillaume

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GandM_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

There really isn't anything I can add to the previous reviews. Overall, a fantastic experience, from location to staff and room to comfort, everything was spot on.

I have never come across such great value for money.

For dining, take every recommendation given, we did and every meal was excellent. We ate at the Millers Thumb, Rosenhof, 95 on Keerom & Le Quartier Francais (in Franschoek).

Just book it, this place fills up fast!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Great_Dane_Dillema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed at this fantastic establishment at the begining of November for 6 nights.We thought the staff were brilliant,nothing was too much trouble.The interior is very pleasing and relaxing.The breakfasts are fantastic(as are the 'breakfast ladies'). The position could not be better for getting around the city.The local restaurants offered great value/great food,try the 'Codfather.'
We had a great introduction to South African hospitality
Thank you to Louie and the team.
Lynn Rob Burke
England.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rabLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

*superb bedroom and bathroom
*Ideally located, near the sightseeing bus stop, walking distance to shops,bar restaurants and large supermarket
*wonderful helpful staff, especially the breakfast ladies
*plenty of guide books to read and internet access
*the hire car company recommend by hotel fantasic and SO CHEAP!!!
*fantastic food, great system for having take aways delivered and wondeful honesty bar
overall felt so relaxed and comfortable, highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Caz-Windsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We stayed here for only one night sadly. But if you're going to be looking around Cape Town this place is great. Close to everything really, and Keith is a great host. Honestly one of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KoozaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £106 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing