We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and very helpful owners”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We arrived at An African Villa at around 8 in the morning following our overnight flight from the UK - and were immediately given the keys to our room. This was probably just because it was coming into winter and the hotel wasn't full, but it was most welcome nonetheless, giving us the chance to get freshened up and ready to explore Cape Town. Our hosts then gave us plenty of advice on what to see and where to eat and suggested we should try to do Table Mountain and Robben Island in our first couple of days as the weather forecast wasn't good for the third day. Invaluable advice and a great example of how much attention the owners pay to their guests.

Our room was massive, with a mock four poster king sized bed taking up less than a quarter of the room and the bathroom was also huge, with two sinks, a bath and a walk in shower. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty and the honesty bar was a fantastic addition for that little drink or snack when we returned after a long day of walking round the city. The two computers for free internet access were also great, allowing us to look up restaurants and weather forecasts (although the five day forecast was also posted in the kitchen each morning)

The only (small) downside of An African Villa is it's location as we had to use taxis after dark to get to the Waterfront for meals, but in fairness the owners did suggest plenty of local restaurants - we only chose to go elsewhere because at that time of year it seemed that the local places were pretty quiet. But the guest house is handy for a couple of the hop on hop off tour bus stops, which is great, and it's also a great starting point for exploring Table Mountain.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuldReekieLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

I have visited many hotels and guesthouses around the world, but I have never had such a welcoming and comfortable stay as here. From the minute we walked in, we were greeted and given a detailed explanation of how the guesthouse works and the local area. We were told everything- how to get around, what to see and do, their top restaurants based on previous customers advice, literally everything we needed. I had never been to Cape Town before and they helped us do everything, from little pieces of advice to booking trips and restaurants with reliable companies. They even had a free taxi line, which allowed us to book cabs directly with drivers who knew where they were going and didn't try to rip us off. By the end of day 1, a taxi driver (Christo) had given us his number and we were able to call him any day or night with any job big or small and he would cater to us. He, along with the hotel staff, made us (a group of 3 young women) feel safe and taken care of. The decor of the whole place is comfortable luxury, and the handy honesty bar is extremely convenient. I cannot recommend An African Villa enough, if you are planning a trip to Cape Town, please please please stay here, you will not regret it!

Also:
-if you are looking for a great place to eat (expensive for Cape Town, but definitely not Londoners) is the Savoy Cabbage.
-if you make it Stellenbosch, make time for the Cheetah sanctuary (they are trying to do an amazing thing)
-when climbing Table Mountain, plan your route, I got completely lost and it took me hours!!
-for a fun night out, try Kennedy's on Long St
-please make time for Robben Island (the tour is given by extremely informative ex-prisoners)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacBeanBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This was a very good choice of accommodation in Cape Town. The location was peaceful and very beautiful, and the interior decoration was stunning. The owners of this hotel are obviously committed to its smooth operation and to the comfort (and safety) of their guests. The internet access was very welcome.
I walked into town and to the bus stop quite easily and there was a nice little cafe up the hill for lunch or coffee. Being on my own if I wanted to go out after dark a taxi was required and was easily arranged.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
Thank WagU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I just got back from Cape Town and stayed among others at An African Villa in Cape Town for a total of 4 days. Usually I don't write reviews, but for An African Villa I would gladly make time. Here's why:
- The place is gorgeously decorated. I've seen four rooms and all exceed expectations.
- It's conveniently located in a quiet street, but close to the bars and restaurants of downtown Cape Town and it's a great starting point for excursions to Table Mountain and the beaches.
- The owners are passionate about the place and about Cape Town. They will make time to give solid advice on trips and restaurants. They seemed genuinely interested in helping out.
- Excellent value for money. We stayed at several lodges in Cape Town. This was by far the best and certainly not the most expensive.
- Details make the difference. A complimenary glass of Port in the evening, lots of fresh fruit for breakfast, 2 properly working computers with fairly fast internet...
Perhaps one small criticism: The room above the kitchen can be a bit noisy in the morning from 08.00 AM onwards. But if you rise early, then no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almostalwaysthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed for four nights. This is a small hotel. It has just 12 rooms. The basis of stay is bed and breakfast. No other meals are possible.. The staff are excellent. Friendly and approachable. On arrival one of the owners sits down with you and takes you through the information pack. This we found very helpful. As far as restaurants are concerned the pack includes suggestions for all tastes and prices. There is one particularly good restaurant which is reasoably priced ( Millers Thiumb) only 5 minutes away. The staff will arrange reservations for you and will also arrange bookings for car hire, taxis etc.. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel was very clean. The room was very good. The power shower particularly enjoyable. The only drawback for some will be location. It is relatively close to Table Mountain but that means it is a few kilometres from the Waterfront. We loved Cape Town and the surrounding areas and we want to return someday. We would without hesitation stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I was warmly welcomed by Keith who took great care of me. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. Good location close to Table Mountain and only 10 mnutes by car to Waterfront. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosPx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed at an African Villa for 4 nights while on honeymoon in South Africa in March. We arrived a little earlier than the check in time, which wasn't a problem as Cindy (one of the guest house owners) was very welcoming. We had a tour of the beautiful guest house and then we sat in the garden for a welcome drink and chat about tours, including where the guest house was in relation to all the main attractions and restaurants in the area. As this was our first time to Cape Town, we found this to be invaluable. The rest of our stay was to the same high standard, with lovely breakfasts each morning, all staff members were very helpful when we were looking for restaurants (our favourites were the Opal Lounge & Miller's Thumb) and were happy to make reservations on our behalf. There are lots of restaurants in the local area which were all in walking distance and we always felt safe. We had hired a car and were initially worried about parking, but it wasn't a problem. There was ample space along the roadside and the local residents pay a guard to watch them at night. We really enjoyed our stay at An Africa Villa and are looking forward to staying there again in the future. We would highly recommend it as a place to stay while exploring Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineLovelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,354 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,408 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £112 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing