We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabullous stay”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the villa from 27 June - 5 July and we loved it. We had a platinum room which was very spacious, beautifully decorated, overlooking Table Mountain and immaculately cleaned everyday.

Most importantly the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast spread was good, and we enjoyed the complimentary sherry and port wine that was prepared for the guests every evening.

The stay would be more perfect if the pillows provided are firmer. :)

Thank you Cindy, Keith and Louis and everyone else from the Villa for being so helpful. We certainly had a very pleasant stay and would love to return one day soon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

Stayed at African Villa for six nights at the end of June during the World Cup. Despite the universal positive reviews on tripadvisor, the whole experience exceeded my expectations.

Stayed in a platinum room (A2) that I highly recommend - the views of Table Mountain are phenomenal. The room itself is very spacious, well decorated, and with a comfortable bed. There is also a safe, which was a nice touch as hardly any other guesthouses in my South Africa stay had one. Two free computers in the lobby area were also a great touch.

Well the Villa itself is well decorated in a super location, its the staff that are truly incredible, always around to provide advice on restaurants and sightseeing and the local area. They also sit down with you when you arrive and explain absolutely everything. I had read my guidebook cover to cover multiple times and still learned a lot.

The area itself is fantastic. Its about 45 minutes to walk to the waterfront and 30 minutes to downtown, but there is a lot to see on the way. Parking is available on the street and I never had a problem getting a spot so dont be put off by renting car. But the restaurant/bar options are the best part of the area, allowing us on most nights to simply come back and relax and take a short stroll to dinner. There are lots of restaurants on Kloof St and Park Ave 5 min walk from the Villa. My favorite was Opal Lounge, but Rick's Cafe has good happy hour specials and a deck right next door too. Simply Asia is a good cheap lunch spot. I highly recommend Aubergine as well for a nice dinner but that is a txi ride area. Some people noted that its quiet and dark at night, which it is, but I thought the area was super safe. My wife and I walked around every night with not the slightest problem - we even walked from Long St on a Friday night (about 20 minutes).

Overall the Villa was wonderful and we will be back. It wasn't just the nice location and facilities, however, but the hundreds of small touches that made the experience a wonderful one. Definitely stay here if your travels bring you to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abellic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Booked on the back of travel guide reviews and Tripadvisor reiews for 6 days in Cape Town during the World Cup. We much preferred staying near the City than on Camps' Bay and the Villa is located in a residential area with Table Mountain as a perfect backdrop. About a 10 minute walk to Kloof Street, it can be a bit dark and quite coming back late at night.

The space is beautifully decorated and has a relaxed, modern feel without trying to be oerly cool. The staff were fantastic with their orientation, maybe they slightly overdid the safety aspect and that may scare some residents, but maybe we were just lucky given the extra security for the World Cup, so better to be safe than sorry. Restaurant recommendations were really good, we made Green's our local to watch the games we didn't go to.

The rooms were clean, well sized with such well finished bathrooms. It was unseasonably cold so the rooms were wuite cold at night, but that's hardly the fault of the Villa. Breakfast was a nice surprise as was the relaxed walk in/out kitchen with honour system for snacks and drinks.

We had a terrific stay and thoroughkly recommend An African Villa for those who donlt want a conentional hotel, it's 5 star B&B/backpacking.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYLON72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at An African Villa for the first six nights during our World Cup holiday and it was everything we hoped it would be and more. We found it on Trip Advisor last year and booked it straight away after reading all of the great reviews. Before we left the UK, Louis was so helpful and emailed several times with info and tips and arranged for us to be collected from the airport. Upon arrival (our flight meant we were too early to get into our room) we were given a complementary breakfast and were made to feel at home while we were given lots of advice about Cape Town and how to get around, where to eat etc.

The whole house is beautifully decorated and our room (B2) was gorgeous. The bathroom was really nice and clean and the bed was massive. We also had a lovely view of Table Mountain from our balcony. Breakfasts are amazing. There is loads of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, museli, juices and whatever you want for a cooked breakfast (the lovely ladies ask you what you would like). Louis and Jimmy always came over for a chat and nothing would be too much trouble if you had any questions about any day trips, where to go, how to get there etc.

There is an honesty bar in the kitchen which is a great touch and very useful. You are invited to take what you want (crisps, snacks, beer, wine, fizzy drinks, bottled water etc) and make a note of it on the sheet on the front of the fridge. You then pay at the end of your stay. There is often complientary cake, port and sherry for guests to help themselves to in the evenings which is really nice. There are two computers with free internet access in the library which came in very handy during our stay.

We absolutely loved our stay in Cape Town and it was made a lot easier and more enjoyable because of the lovely people at An African Villa. We were very sad to leave and would definitely go back!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank GemmaCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked An African Villa for our World Cup trip to Cape Town after reading all the positive reviews on this site - they were spot on.

Easy booking over email, a comfortable room (Gold Class), and an excellent breakfast every morning. Louis, Keith, Cindy and the rest of the staff are as helpful as they are friendly and knowledgeable. Free calls to a local taxi company ensured we could always catch a ride to wherever we needed to go.

The complimentary WiFi was great although the signal strength varied (likely depending on demand from other users). We were in room A5, which is adjacent to the library where two public computers are setup. Unfortunately, we could hear people and their conversations in the library, although staff did post signs requesting that guests be mindful of noise at night.

An African Villa is located on a smaller residential street, so it pays to learn the roads in the neighborhood when you first arrive (they supply you with a map) -- also helps for explaining the location to taxi drivers when coming back at night. We were there for 5 nights during the World Cup; Louis and Keith went out of their way to make sure we knew the best way to get to Green Point Stadium, V&A Waterfront, and other Cape Town attractions. Great restaurant recommendations too! Thanks, African Villa, for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YNWAtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We considered the reviews from others before selecting An African Villa for our stay during the World Cup, and could not have been happier with the choice. Louis, Jimmy, Keith and Cindy could not have been more welcoming, and went way above and beyond our expectations to make our stay here in Cape Town special.

The entire staff and service was great. Rooms were nicely decorated and clean. We stayed in one of the "platinum" rooms which was very spacious and had a nice balcony. Breakfasts were generous portions and delicious (omelettes and eggs to order, meats, cheeses, fruit, occasional pancakes, smoked salmon, quiche, etc, etc.).

The location was good, being relatively central to Table Mountain, Camps Bay, Long Street, and the V&A Waterfront. Taxis were easily available on speed dial, however we were able to walk to the waterfront, Long Street, and surrounding areas. There were probably more people and security around generally due to the World Cup, but the neighborhood felt safe and walking was not a problem for us, as we did not have a car.

There were a number of nice other details that I commend them on such as evening fires going in the fireplace, freely available port wine, computer internet access, and wireless access, a number of current magazines in the lounge, a small a library of books including Cape Town travel guides, an honesty bar, and cakes and treats available in the evening. The mini overview of the Villa and Cape Town at the beginning of the trip as well as the small binder of information provided was extremely useful to us throughout the trip for recommendations of what to do, recommended restaurants, and how to get around. They also provided a suggestion for transport to/from the airport which led us to Yaseen and Tania of Discovery Tours, who we later toured with and are also recommended.

We definitely hope to return to Cape Town and South Africa, and would choose An African Villa again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan7264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

From "Hello" to "Good bye", this guesthouse with its well orgainsed staff and friendly managers makes your stay so pleasant that it is as good as "home again". The Guesthouse need not come with four star faclities but with a large room, comfortable bed, clean shower bath facilities, and most of all a sumptous breakfast that is efficiently done they way you want it to be.

The managers have almost all the answers to your questions of how to get around Capetown and the restaurants that it recommends indeed serve good food. Just a phone call and a reliable and efficient taxi service awaits you at the door. It definitely helps as its location from the main tourists attractions does seem some distance.

A friendly Guesthouse that looks after you and makes you welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wong15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,288 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £104 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing