We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best B & B in Cape Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best B & B in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed at An African Villa for 15 nights in January/February. It was our second stay and was just as good as ever. From the minute you walk in the front door the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Cindy, Keith, Jimmy and Louis are perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. We had a Platinum room this time with a balcony overlooking the road. Sitting on the balcony was very relaxing after a day out sightseeing. The room is very large and well appointed. The bathroom is modern with a large shower and double basins. Everything was spotlessly clean. The rooms are extremely comfortable and there is nothing that hasn't been thought of. Breakfast is included in the tarriff and is a highlight. It the weather is good, tables set with crisp white cloths are set around the pool. Such a lovely setting. If the weather isn't good, there is a very well decorated dining room. Juices, cereals, fruits and much more are on display. Breakfasts are cooked to order and served by the loveliest staff, many of whom have been at An African Villa for a long time. The honesty bar is very convenient and extras such as complimentary cake and port in the evening make this B & B stand out from the rest. There are computers with free internet available and a very comfortable lounge area. The B & B is in a wonderful position and it isn't far to walk in to the city, V & A Waterfront, Cape Quarer or the Mt Nelson for afternoon tea. If you don't feel like walking a courtesy phone calls a taxi in no time. Safe street parking is available if you have a car. The area is full of excellent restaurants which are within walking distance of the B & B. I can't say enough about An African Villa and wouldn't stay anywhere else if we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    78
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
93
625
46
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Found this via the Trip Advisor good reviews and all are spot on. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. (Thanks especially to Louis). The rooms are large and tastely done, spotlessly clean. The breakfast was yummy and we enjoyed the large common areas as well as the outdoor gardens and pool. Parking is very safe, and we walked to dinner all three nights, and the recommendations that we were given were exactly as we wished. Our first trip to South Africa, we celebrated 40 years of marriage and would love to return one day. Thanks from New Mexico USA

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sewbusy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

With just an online recommendation we booked 4 nights at An African Villa. It was never a mistake. The rooms, the common areas and the hosts were 5 star all the way. The full breakfasts were a great way to start the day. And Cindy & Keith were most helpful in their recommendations for restaurants, transportation and sights around Cape Town. This part of the trip was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed at An African Villa twice in December 2010 and on both occasions we had a great stay. The staff were welcoming, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the breakfasts had everything that you could possibly want, the honesty fridge was a nice touch, there was cake to nibble on in the afternoons, and in the evenings we could have a little glass of port.

We would fully recommend staying here on your trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamwindyfanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We booked our transfer with Discovery Tours on the Hotel recommendation and from the moment Yasseen picked us up at the airport, we felt welcomed. He coordinated our arrival with Louis and within a few minutes we knew we were going to love Cape Town. Our hosts (Louis & Jimmy and Cindy & Keith -- plus Zip, Taylor and Brandy) couldn't have been more friendly, helpful, fun and efficient whether it was booking a car for us, arranging dinner reservations, advising us on walks through the city....everything. The ladies in the kitchen were also charming and put on a great breakfast!

We had a lovely time, made use of the computer to book our stays in the Winelands and every question we asked was met with patience and helpfulness. It really was like staying at a friend's house. Beautifully designed and decorated. Spacious, comfortable rooms with all the amenities. Sherry at 6pm. Comfortable common spaces. Safe neighborhood with lots of great restaurants nearby: Miller's Thumb, Rick's Cafe Americain, Greens. The Mount Nelson Hotel is worth a visit -- a perfect example of Colonial Architecture with lovely grounds and grandeur!

Cape Town is a world class city and quite large. Staying at An African Villa made it feel accessible and user friendly. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C Springs CO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

My wife and I were part of a group of 8 with 3 other couples and we stayed at An African Villa for 4 nights in February 2011. Cindy and Keith were very gracious hosts and provided us all the comforts, guidance and recommendations we needed to make our stay in Cape Town a great experience. The hotel is well located in the center of town in a quiet residential neighborhood and is close to some great restaurants. We walked every night to the restaurants and felt safe. It is a bit of walk to the Victoria and Albert waterfront but we felt comfortable walking down there. We took a taxi because Cindy didn’t recommend walking back at night. The taxi fare was very reasonable.

The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The breakfasts served in the patio area are fantastic! I have no qualms recommending this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great experience in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COscubalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Just returned from a very pleasant four-night stay at An African Villa (silver class room--upstairs, back, no balcony) in Cape Town. The previous reviews on Trip Advisor were completely reliable, and we enjoyed all the amenities and the gracious hospitality provided by An African Villa. We stayed at other hotels in the city (also excellent and each quite different from the other) but this one had the best and most consistent wireless internet access, which was important for us, and also the best access on foot to the Company Gardens, downtown museums, plus easy access to the red and blue hop-on, hop-off buses, which provided a very pleasant and inexpensive overview of the city and coastline. An African Villa was very close to local cafes and restaurants. The back patio was lovely for breakfasts and early-evening drinks. The co-owners and staff were all very helpful, professional, and friendly. The public living room and dining areas in the Villa are very well appointed, though we didn't spend much time there. Having a shared guest fridge in the kitchen as well as an honor bar (wine, soft drinks, snacks) and a room to use for afternoon changing/showering after check-out and before an evening flight were other conveniences. Felt safe and pampered!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadian10142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Property: An African Villa
Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Odigeo so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing