We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience”

Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.44*
and up
Half-Day Cape Town City and Table Mountain Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Iziko South African Museum houses more than one and a half million specimens of scientific importance. The collections now range from fossils almost 700-million years old to insects and fish caught last week. There are also stone tools made by people 120 000 years ago, traditional clothes from the last century, and T-shirts printed yesterday.The Planetarium, which is housed in the South African Museum building, is a celestial theatre in the round, utilising the complex Minolta star machine and multiple projectors to transport the audience through the wonders of the universe. The ultimate in armchair travel.Inside the domed auditorium, we can recreate the night sky, so whatever the weather outside, the Planetarium sky is always clear, an extraordinary audio-visual experience for old and young.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I was in the Planetarium 12years ago and thought that it was time to return as I couldnt remember anything. The museum is huge and the Planetarium show was informative. Go on a Sunday as Museum entry is free and it is only R20 for a student to go see the show.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mareze K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    96
    50
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Langebaan, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blast from the Past”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is awonderful eduacational experience for young and old. There is so much to see that one returns again and agin to see that which you missed the previous time. The planetarium is awesome and very informative, These places are a must for visitors to Cape Town.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendywentzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great outing with young kids in winter”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

If you have young kids stuck indoors in winter take them here. They can run and explore to their hearts content and get their noise and energy out. I used to take my children here often when they were little. they learned a lot and have great memories of the place. They love the huge whale skeleton and whale sounds and the ocean area is always popular too, and our favorite was always the 'black hole'.

Helpful?
Thank JaneFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
424 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Lots of History and fascinating exhibits”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My teenager kids really liked this old museum (established in 1825) with it's fascinating exhibits and unusual displays. As Americans we have never seen such fossils which are displayed here.
The gem collection is the largest in the world we have ever encountered and the meteorites displayed in the lobby are amazing. This museum offers a lot of interesting display like the display of stuffed animals from Madagascar. While we were there workers were piecing a dinosaur skeleton together.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiian555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great to see the history of ZA”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

What a way to enjoy the time with family and learn at the same time. Lots to learn and see all at the same time. The planetarium is great and fun for the kids as the show is done in such a way kids of all ages can understand the show.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing