We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place, good price”

Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.62*
and up
Half-Day Cape Town City and Table Mountain Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Iziko South African Museum houses more than one and a half million specimens of scientific importance. The collections now range from fossils almost 700-million years old to insects and fish caught last week. There are also stone tools made by people 120 000 years ago, traditional clothes from the last century, and T-shirts printed yesterday.The Planetarium, which is housed in the South African Museum building, is a celestial theatre in the round, utilising the complex Minolta star machine and multiple projectors to transport the audience through the wonders of the universe. The ultimate in armchair travel.Inside the domed auditorium, we can recreate the night sky, so whatever the weather outside, the Planetarium sky is always clear, an extraordinary audio-visual experience for old and young.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place, good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

The Planetarium was a very good place to visit with kids. We had a good price for family of 4.

The Stargazing was very to get introduced to different constellations in just a brief time.

It was just great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kambale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    97
    49
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
156 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Planitarium a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

What a stunning day out!! We went to see the 14:30 show – Basic guide to Stargazing, 45 minute session for only R40pp. This was a real treat – informative enough and very enjoyable. The pitch black dome with the stars looking down onto you…such an exhilarating feeling – it felt like we were somewhere in the desert looking at the night sky. I learned a lot and will now be able to spot at least 3 constellations that I couldn’t see before. Afterwards you can stroll through the huge Museum and have a snack and coffee at the cosy café.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Museum I Have Ever Visited!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Simply the best museum i have ever visited! There is a little bit of everything from the evolution of man.. to ocean animals..to dinosaurs.. to land animals.. to planets..
The huge dinosaur and whale skeletons on display are unbelievable. I would love to go back over and over again coz i'm sure i'll discover something new every time, the place is HUGE!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xyracire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC for children - especially groups.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We visited with a school group of 25 6-year old girls and Lucy from the museum took us around. She is a real gem and was wonderful with the children. They allow for photo opportunities and the children leave there, learning a lot about history. Some of the adults visited the coffee shop - prices are average, service is slow but it was okay.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I was in the Planetarium 12years ago and thought that it was time to return as I couldnt remember anything. The museum is huge and the Planetarium show was informative. Go on a Sunday as Museum entry is free and it is only R20 for a student to go see the show.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mareze K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing