We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice shop/museum/factory”
Review of Prins & Prins

Prins & Prins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Prins & Prins was founded in 1982, and has since grown into one of South Africa's premier private & family owned jewelers. Located in the authentically restored Huguenot House (circa 1752), a visit to us is more than just shopping, it is stepping back in time. While browsing our extensive and exquisite collections of diamonds, tanzanite and other gemstones, you are surrounded by original 18th century artwork showing the grandeur of this early Cape home.Enjoy a full bodied cappuccino or a glass of fine locally produced South African wine in our private courtyard, away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, while admiring your jewellery under our ancient grapevine and the African sun.From custom design, to individually hand crafted items from our very own on-site workshop, Prins & Prins offers a full service from beginning to end. Come visit the jeweler that helped set the standards for jewellery in Cape Town. Come experience our Passion for Perfection. Come and see the best that Cape Town has to offer in terms of diamonds, tanzanite, gems and jewellery.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“very nice shop/museum/factory”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have been there in march 2014, liked the museum, and also made an order. the quality was excellent , and the stuff is great ! Especially Lindsay. Will come back during my next trip!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sergey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Sergey

Thank you for your visit earlier this year, and I am glad that as one of the first to have seen our museum at that stage, you enjoyed our new attraction!

The quality of our products has always set us apart from other jewelers in that we handcraft our pieces to incredibly high standards, and we are thrilled that you are happy with your purchase. As one of our in-house designers Lindsay was the perfect consultant to have assisted you for your custom order, and should you require any assistance again, please do not hesitate to contact her!

Hope to see you in Cape Town again!

Regards
The Team at Prins & Prins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolute pleasure”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our second visit to Prins & Prins and once again we were not disappointed. Daniel was our advisor and did an excellent job, despite a few changes from the girls, so much choice available, a short tour of the house including the workshop and newly opened museum. Absolutely excellent. This is a much nicer way to purchase your jewelry rather than conventional stores.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Malcolm

Thank you for visiting us again! It was wonderful to have you visit us again. As one of our GIA Graduate Gemmologists, Daniel was perfectly suited to advise you during your visit. We are thrilled that you were happy with his guidance.

Our jewellery selection is something we have always been proud of. Our in-house workshop produces the most exquisite award winning designs, and our new museum has been a wonderful addition - thank you for your positive review!

A unique visit is what we strive to offer, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Hopefully soon...!

Kind regards
The Prins & Prins Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, fantastic service and stunning finished products!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Leonard always provides excellent service with his warm, inviting personality. He listens well to his customers needs. Lovely experience at p&p as always!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
HI Leanne

Thank you for your review! We always strive to ensure that we understand our clients' exact needs to ensure that we make those special items, exactly the way our clients have always dreamed and envisioned. Leonard is one of our stars and we are thrilled you had a wonderful experience.

We look forward to seeing and assisting you again in the future!

Kind regards
The Prins & Prins Teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous service”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A massive thank you to Stefan and team who helped me on two occasions with a lovely pair of diamond earrings and a custom made diamond eternity ring. Both were lovely items with impeccable quick and pleasant service! A really interesting building too with beautiful jewellery pieces on display.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Emily

How wonderful it was to have you and Jake visit us on two occasions! We are indeed lucky to be located in such a beautiful 18th century property! We always strive to ensure our clients receive the best quality craftsmanship when they purchase from us, and with having our own workshop on-site, we are able to control the quality. I am so glad that you agree. Whenever you want to swop the cold weather in the UK for a trip to sunny Cape Town, please let us know, we would love to have you visit us again. Then you can see our recently opened Museum of Gems and Jewellery...

Kind regards
The Prins & Prins Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, a must visit for all girls”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

As amazing as our last trip to South Africa was there is no question over the highlight of my trip, collecting my stunning engagement ring from the amazing Prins and Prins. Leonard and all of the guys at Prins and Prins were so wonderful and made this exciting moment even more memorable for both of us.

Throughout the whole experience they listened to every single demanding request I made and created the most beautiful engagement ring that I have ever seen (I still cannot quite believe it is mine!)

I can honestly cannot recommend Leonard and everyone at Prins and Prins enough. No trip to Cape Town should be complete for any girl without a trip here, I cannot wait for my next trip!

Thank you so much for everything!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Claire

Having your perfect engagement ring made is always such a special time in one's life, and we are truly honored that we get to share in these special moments on a daily basis. Leonard truly is one of our stars and we always know that our clients are in very capable hands with him!

Listening to each and every request, and ensuring that all the detail(s) you have always dreamed of is incorporated into your perfect ring has always been key to us. We are proud to be one of the last jewelers left in Cape Town where we can truly promise, and deliver the custom items your heart has always desired!

Thank you for making us a part of this extremely special moment in your life, and you are always welcome to visit! Even if it is just to say hi and get your jewellery cleaned free of charge.... :)

Kind regards
The Team at Prins & Prins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prins & Prins also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Prins & Prins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing