We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere, prices and underground museum all terrific”
Review of Prins & Prins

Prins & Prins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Prins & Prins was founded in 1982, and has since grown into one of South Africa's premier private & family owned jewelers. Located in the authentically restored Huguenot House (circa 1752), a visit to us is more than just shopping, it is stepping back in time. While browsing our extensive and exquisite collections of diamonds, tanzanite and other gemstones, you are surrounded by original 18th century artwork showing the grandeur of this early Cape home.Enjoy a full bodied cappuccino or a glass of fine locally produced South African wine in our private courtyard, away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, while admiring your jewellery under our ancient grapevine and the African sun.From custom design, to individually hand crafted items from our very own on-site workshop, Prins & Prins offers a full service from beginning to end. Come visit the jeweler that helped set the standards for jewellery in Cape Town. Come experience our Passion for Perfection. Come and see the best that Cape Town has to offer in terms of diamonds, tanzanite, gems and jewellery.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Were referred here by Kensington Place Hotel and by a tour guide affiliated with Wilderness Safaris, for which we are very grateful Spent a stellar couple in this charming and somewhat ancient (17th or 18th century) Hugenot house, starting with the drama of being buzzed through a heavy security door at the top of the entry staircase, then receiving a most cordial greeting from staff that included offers of coffee or tea on a chilly winter day.
We were soon introduced to Leonard, whom I believe heads the sales department, a most engaging, candid, entertaining and personable gentleman. Leonard took us through the ins-and-outs of diamond qualities and defects, after which we browsed the showcases and my partner found a lovely pair of diamond hoop earrings at a price about half what we would have paid for a similar item from a reputable jeweler in San Francisco. The selection is good but not enormous, as Prins & Prins appears to only sell what its five jewelers design and make in the basement workshop. A diamond and emerald-studded, Cartier-style leopard's head necklace was another eye-catching item at a reasonable price.
Whether or not you buy anything, do NOT fail to ask Leonard to show you the basement and let you peruse the very informative, museum-quality exhibits depicting the history of jewels, mining and jewelry making in southern Africa. Also interesting to look over the shoulders of the jewelers who are busy melting gold bars, sawing and drilling the mounts, polishing the stones, etc.
When it finally felt like time to move on, Leonard introduced us to one of the owners, another cordial and distinguished gentleman who expressed appreciation for our patronage. Eagerly anticipate returning here one day.

4  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear Don

Thank you for your visit, and your very kind review.

As one of Cape Town's oldest, and award winning, jewelers we have always taken pride in our staff, our products, and the experience(s) we offer. With that said, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit and time spent by us.

Leonard is one of our stars, and how wonderful to hear that he looked after you so well! Making our own jewellery in-house affords us the opportunity to keep our costs lower than most others, and it is great to know that you found your purchase to be excellent value and quality. Our new addition, the Museum of Gems and Jewellery, is a project we are very proud of, and it is an absolute pleasure sharing it, and our goldsmith atelier, with visitors like yourselves who have a keen interest in our industry.

We truly hope to see you again in Cape Town one day, and thank you for taking the time to come visit, and review us!

Kind regards
The Team at Prins & Prins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"engagement ring"
in 11 reviews
"precious stones"
in 3 reviews
"entire process"
in 3 reviews
"free museum"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful history"
in 2 reviews
"south africa"
in 7 reviews
"diamond museum"
in 3 reviews
"on display"
in 3 reviews
"tour guide"
in 3 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"lindsay"
in 17 reviews
"diamonds"
in 26 reviews
"jewellers"
in 11 reviews
"jewelry"
in 26 reviews
"workshop"
in 5 reviews
"necklace"
in 3 reviews
"knowledge"
in 7 reviews
Filter

62 - 66 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you want to see some beautiful jewelry and how it's made - still in the 'old' style, this is the place to go. We didn't buy anything and did not intend to (we let him know things were out of our price range). In spite of that, the guide (sorry, I forget his name) was extremely friendly, polite and professional. He was very patient in answering our questions and showing us the entire facility. Best of all, the tour was free. Their only problem may be that they are not geared to handle very many and could quickly be overrun if it gets to be too popular.

2  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear Bill

Thank you for your visit, and review. With mass production taking over in the jewellery sector today, we are truly lucky to still have one of the last goldsmith ateliers in South Africa where we genuinely produce "one of a kind" handcrafted jewellery, "old" style... :)

Our workshop, and new Museum of Gems and Jewellery, has been specifically opened to the public to show and educate those interested in our sparkling industry, what happens "behind the scenes", and how Earthly Treasures have been transformed into glittering masterpieces through Human Ingenuity. Although we have had some larger groups visit us (which we have been able to accommodate) we find that most of our visitors prefer to come and browse outside of a "scheduled tour" set-up, and as such we have been able to offer private tours and educationals, which we are happy you were able to enjoy.

Customer service and excellence is very important to us, and it is wonderful to hear that you found your consultant friendly, polite and professional.

Should you visit Cape Town again, please do pop in for another visit and complimentary cappuccinos!

Kind regards
The Team at Prins & Prins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have been there in march 2014, liked the museum, and also made an order. the quality was excellent , and the stuff is great ! Especially Lindsay. Will come back during my next trip!

Thank Sergey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear Sergey

Thank you for your visit earlier this year, and I am glad that as one of the first to have seen our museum at that stage, you enjoyed our new attraction!

The quality of our products has always set us apart from other jewelers in that we handcraft our pieces to incredibly high standards, and we are thrilled that you are happy with your purchase. As one of our in-house designers Lindsay was the perfect consultant to have assisted you for your custom order, and should you require any assistance again, please do not hesitate to contact her!

Hope to see you in Cape Town again!

Regards
The Team at Prins & Prins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our second visit to Prins & Prins and once again we were not disappointed. Daniel was our advisor and did an excellent job, despite a few changes from the girls, so much choice available, a short tour of the house including the workshop and newly opened museum. Absolutely excellent. This is a much nicer way to purchase your jewelry rather than conventional stores.

Thank Malcolm024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Malcolm

Thank you for visiting us again! It was wonderful to have you visit us again. As one of our GIA Graduate Gemmologists, Daniel was perfectly suited to advise you during your visit. We are thrilled that you were happy with his guidance.

Our jewellery selection is something we have always been proud of. Our in-house workshop produces the most exquisite award winning designs, and our new museum has been a wonderful addition - thank you for your positive review!

A unique visit is what we strive to offer, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Hopefully soon...!

Kind regards
The Prins & Prins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Leonard always provides excellent service with his warm, inviting personality. He listens well to his customers needs. Lovely experience at p&p as always!

2  Thank Leanne456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doveton-Moore, Public Relations Manager at Prins & Prins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

HI Leanne

Thank you for your review! We always strive to ensure that we understand our clients' exact needs to ensure that we make those special items, exactly the way our clients have always dreamed and envisioned. Leonard is one of our stars and we are thrilled you had a wonderful experience.

We look forward to seeing and assisting you again in the future!

Kind regards
The Prins & Prins Teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prins & Prins also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Prins & Prins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing