We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a Fun Night out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beerhouse on Long

Beerhouse on Long
Ranked #46 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: German, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The BEERHOUSE on Long houses 16 taps and 99 different beer bottles from around the world and showcases South Africa’s finest craft brews. Situated in the busiest strip of always-happening Long Street it is destined to be beer lovers paradise.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a Fun Night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We love this place to hang out and meet new friends. Was super fun and entertaining! So close to the hotel we stayed at and walking distance from all the other entertainment areas

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank simonestephens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    125
    43
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beer is a flowin'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great variety, great vibe, great spot for a Friday afternoon beer! Love the concept, another great add to Long Street!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danie_27081987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't come hungry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Great vibe, cool waiters, but don't come hungry. Waited more than an hour for a flammhuchen, then gave up and paid for the beers. The beer selection is mind-blowing.

Helpful?
Thank Dieter791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Social atmosphere, great beer and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beerhouse is great place to meet for drinks after work, have a meal and enjoy the atmosphere. With an entire menu dedicated to almost all the different beers you can think of - you are bound to be happy! If you are not a beer fan - other drinks are available. Just be warned - only cash is accepted for drinks in the evening which can be problematic if the ATM downstairs is not working. Bar service is good, however seated service is a bit slow. A friend of ours was pick pocketed whilst placing an order, so just be careful of your belongings and be aware that anyone can enter from the street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katelighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We've been here a few times but not sure we'll be back after a disappointing recent visit.

We waited 30 minutes for bitterballen (a snack on the food menu), only to find out it wasn't available. That's cool, so we order something else from the menu, wait another 30 minutes (dying of starvation now), only to find out one item is ALSO not available.

Guys, this is a terrible system. You can't advise people items on the menu aren't available once they've been waiting for it for 30 minutes!

Besides that, in general the service is fairly slow. You need to order your second beer when you're halfway through your first to get it anytime soon. And lots of beers aren't actually available.. despite being on the list.

Definitely some room for improvement here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gen12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filleglasanswiget, General Manager at Beerhouse on Long, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Gen12345

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to write the review and sharing your constructive criticism. It is taken to heart and we can only work hard to improve. There is no excuse for the poor experience you had and I can only apologize and hope you can find it in yourself to return and give us a chance to prove our worth. I realize our weakness and feel it has been strengthened and reinforced since.
Please feel free to contact management directly so we can invite you back and make amends.
Sincerely
Beerhouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beerhouse on Long also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Beerhouse on Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing