We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pub for beer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beerhouse on Long

Beerhouse on Long
Ranked #47 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: German, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The BEERHOUSE on Long houses 16 taps and 99 different beer bottles from around the world and showcases South Africa’s finest craft brews. Situated in the busiest strip of always-happening Long Street it is destined to be beer lovers paradise.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The pub for beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The place has a great vibe.. it's much more than the pictures I have seen posted. It has energy, a great balcony overlooking long street and ofcourse lots and lots of beer. Its a pub without pretentions. The food is as ok as most pub grub - certainly not the highlight, but that's not the reason why you should be going there in the first place. Young, packed, great music - if it's beer and a gang of friends, look no more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karan20576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    125
    43
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Women's day fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

What a great experience for first time beer drinkers(luckily the waiter helped the beer "dummies" with great choices). We had so much fun! The beer was great, the food wonderful and the whole experience fantastic!! Well done Beerhouse!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Basic pub feeling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Beerhouse is good for drinks. The service can be a bit slow and the bathroom situation for ladies is less than desirable but it works. Love that the orders are taken electronically and the balcony makes it a nice spot for summer chilling.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NoelleKoeries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandBerg, Owner at Beerhouse on Long, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Being rated a 'basic pub experience' isn't making me happy, as we prefer to see Beerhouse as a new, modern pub and beer hall experience. We are working to improve the toilet setup and in September you'll see an extended and improved toilet setup next door. I hope you'll find more than enough reasons to add more stars to your reviews next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great selection of beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not my favorite place but I have to say that their selection of 99 beers is impressive! The food selection is not very impressive but then you don't go there to eat but to have fun and lots of beer. The place can get very busy on weekends!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larssv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not for meals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Maybe this is a great place for a drink out in the evening, but as a lunch time place I found it too greasy, service slow and food disappointing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandBerg, Owner at Beerhouse on Long, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I'm not happy to read this reviews, as dozen of people choose to eat here every day and enjoy our lunch time special, but it eems, we coudn't win you over: Our R50 lunch time special is growing in popularity and we want to build our day trade, hence we take your criticism seriously and will improve cleaning efforts. Please let us know which food disappointed you and I'll discuss it with the kitchen.

Randolf Jorberg
Head Dreamer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beerhouse on Long also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Beerhouse on Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing