We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make you feel like a real guest. Perfect for Cape Town”
Review of Lezard Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lezard Bleu
Ranked #32 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Make you feel like a real guest. Perfect for Cape Town”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

After spending a few depressing nights in the Protea Island Club in Century City, I relocated to this little beauty in CT. And what a difference I got. You are made to feel super welcome. I stayed in the Tree House which has fantastic views over Cape Town. The breakfasts are delicious. The owners, a German couple, very friendly and interesting and helpful. On top it seems to be a perfect base to explore CT.

Tree House room is very spacious, perfect internet, nice bathroom. Absolutely nothing to complain about.

Will try and stay here again if I come back to CT.

Room Tip: Tree House is great. Have not seen the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thanks a lot, hope to have you back one day, Charly !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
107
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mzuzu
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights - this is my second time to stay in Lezard Bleu. Chris and Niki made our stay really home from home (in fact better than home) - they could not be more helpful in every way.

Rooms are very comfortable and breakfast is amazing. You are really made to feel part of the family. Its great having breakfast with other visitors from whom you also learn much!! Very accessible to nearby restaurants and a nice walk or a taxi ride to other parts of Capetown.

Chris and Niki are very knowledgeable about the area and give great advice on things to do!! I was only sorry that we couldn't stay longer. Would definitely recommend Lezard Bleu and hope to be back again soon!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalawiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
underwater58, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
And we truly hope to have you back in the near future, dear MalawiDi, it was great seeing you again. Many thanks for your great review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

It's very common to find a nine bed and breakfast in capetown for sure. However this place has a more then bed and breakfast. Yes it's not luxury but comfortable, very welcome. If you are looking a place for feel like you are welcome and sit around relaxed this is for you. Lovely and delicious breakfast very international guests, good wine. Clean rooms, lovely hosts:) you will like it definetely.

Room Tip: Their corner room is the biggest one at the end of the corridor on the entry level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZ1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
underwater58, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you so much for these applicable description ! Very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the treehouse and based ourselves here to visit Cape Town. The views from the spacious tree house are just superb, looking over the city, to the harbor. We could see the cruise ships, Queen Mary, in dock. It is set back from the road and surprisingly peaceful, considering you are so close to the city. We just called a cab to go out at night and it was so cheap, not worth worrying about driving yourself and getting lost or looking for somewhere to park. I am saving the best until last, the breakfast, wonderful. I understand Chris was a chef, well he still is!!!! Cheeses, fruits, different cold meats, breads, and then you order poached eggs and out comes a complete meal, with stir fried veggies and the egg. It was also lovely to be able to eat with the whole family, and although we all spoke a different language it was as though you are part of the family. I would highly recommend staying here if you need to be close to the city or waterfront it's convenient and good value for Cape Town, and Chris and Nikki looked after us really well, great hosts.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank viewsforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
underwater58, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you so very much, it was such a pleasure meeting you both and I am confident we shall meet again ! All good wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked here as wew liked the idea of the'Tree House',which wasnt really such but part of a structure at the back of the garden albeit that the view was good and the accomodation OK although one of the less comfortable beds we found in SA.

What made our brief stay pleasurable was the fammily atmosphere and the welcoming atmosphere created by Chris and Nicola.We enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine with Nicola in the evening and learnt how the two of them and the family had ended up there.Chris is/was a chef and makes an excellent English Breakfast with a twist !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
underwater58, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear John, dear Chris,

many thanks for your testimony and kind words. Really sorry you did not find the mattresses too
comfortable, we usually get good comments on it and the products are well known. But good to get some criticism too. That keeps you alert and is so important in any industry. Be happy you did not stay in a real tree house. With our South Easter blowing it would been a frightening experience.
Great you liked the atmosphere and the breakfast. Go well and we would love to have you back one day... All good wishes Chris and Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We had a lovely stay with Chris and Nicola. They were accommodating throughout, generous with their time and advice and always around to help.

The quality of accommodation is in line with the price, so we were very happy. Lovely pool too. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faye_lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
underwater58, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Many thanks, Faye,

it was such pleasure having you around for those days. All the best and warm greetings.

C & N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was the first stop on our 17 day holiday in South Africa, and what a great start. As we were flying overnight, we contacted Chris prior to our arrival for recommendations on somewhere local to have breakfast. Chris told us not to worry as he would rustle something up for us when we arrived. The flight was delayed and we did not arrive until after 10am but it was not a problem.
We were greeted like old friends and shown to our very impressive rooms. Whilst we settled in Chris and Nikki got to work on the breakfast, and what an impressive spread was served.
All three rooms were furnished to a very high standard with private outside sitting areas. Chris and Nikki have a great deal of knowledge on Cape Town and recommended restaurants for all three of the nights we stayed, they even made bookings for us. All the restaurants were different and great in their own way, two were off the normal tourist route and mainly used by the locals.
When we arrived, we could see from the garden that the table cloth was over the mountain. As it cleared Chris recommended we take advantage and use the cable car whilst the weather was clear, he booked us tickets on the internet at a discounted price with the condition that if it was cloudy and we did not use them we would get our money back minus a small handling charge. This sums up the way Chris and Nikki operate Lezard Bleu, nothing is too much trouble. On the days that we ventured out in the hire car to visit the surrounding area Chris gave us recommendations for sites to see and restaurants to visit. If you want accomodation where you are treated as old friends I doubt there is anywhere better in Cape Town than Lezard Bleu !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trueguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
underwater58, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Oh my dears ! Such great words and I can feel how easily they flew off your pen - or rather with light fingers into the keyboard. Many, many thanks, also for your reviews on the two restaurants, it's so greatly appreciated. Trust you still had some great experiences while traveling around.
Wish to have you all back one day and in the meantime our fondest wishes. Chris and Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Acorn House
#8 of 155 in Cape Town Central
474 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#39 of 155 in Cape Town Central
49 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#15 of 155 in Cape Town Central
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
#34 of 155 in Cape Town Central
138 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
242 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lezard Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lezard Bleu

Property: Lezard Bleu
Address: 30 Upper Orange Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lezard Bleu 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lezard Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lezard Bleu Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing