We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So interesting!”

South African Jewish Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.79*
and up
Cape Town City Pass including Two Oceans Aquarium and District Six Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London England
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The first thing you meet when you enter this museum is the loveliest receptionist who was so welcoming and informative! After that you enter a world of facts, details of peoples lives and information so interesting that you need to walk round slowly to digest it all! It is beautifully laid out and with fascinating artifacts and video clips and interviews. Thoroughly worth a visit. We ate lunch in the cafe which was very nice and had a browse round the shop, which had some lovely African/Jewish pieces.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    151
    26
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Maybe we can learn from the museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

A very sad period reflecting the cruelty humans can inflict on each other for misguided philosophies.
We, a group from 88 to 16 found something in this well documented history and enjoyed the story as given by those few that relayed it on their journeys to South Africa. Well Done!!
By the way admission is free and a visit should be included in your visit to Cape Town

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“difficult to hear and don't go to the cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Located close to the Mount Nelson hotel, this is not just a museum but a community resource.

There was a lot of variety in the exhibits - starting from a synagogue and going on to a museum of Jewish settlement in South Africa and life in Cape Town. There is even a mocked up East European stetl, or hamlet.

But the insulation of sounds from one exhibit to another wasn't great - so one of the most interesting elements (the role of the Jewish community in the ANC/political struggles and the Rivonia trial) was impossible to hear.

Service in the cafe is slow, and the description of food on the menu misleading (for salad read pickled veg) although it may be more meaningful to an Israeli clientele.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a really good stop for anyone interested in the Jewish community in Cape Town. We started with a look at the Shul where we got an idea of the history of the Jews in Cape Town and the building of the Shul. It was a shame we were leaving before Friday night when there was an event on in what seems like a really vibrant community.
The museum was interesting and well planned out, including a reconstruction of some buildings in an Eastern European shtetl. The staff were lovely and took time to chat to us. The Holocaust museum was comprehensive and moving. We do always try to get a feel for Jewish communities wherever we are and a museum like this never fails to shock, however many times we learn the history. We were there long after closing time, having been assured by the staff that we could take our time, which showed how sensitive they were to the content and not simply rushing us through. We couldn't fail to notice the frightening similarities between apartheid and the Holocaust, which became a common theme through our trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relaxed and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Not necessarily at the top of your initial list when thinking about places to visit in Cape Town, but worth the visit. From an interesting looking a Jewish immigration, a good art gallery, and well put together look at Mandela and his relationship with the Jewish community

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South African Jewish Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to South African Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing