We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A town whitin the town”
Review of Bo-kaap

Bo-kaap
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.46*
and up
Cultural Cape Town Tour Including Langa and Khayelitsha Townships and Bo-Kaap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A town whitin the town”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Like a town within Cape Town, Bo-Kaap is a maze of colourful houses, bright colours, houses next to each others harmoniously mismatched in their hues selections. The place has something special, an atmosphere that is inviting and cheery. It feels like a coastal Caribbean town more than an inner city multicultural quarter, originally Malay. The place is full of history and nice walk around will give you plenty of visual excitement (and photos for your collection). There are a few cafes and restaurants around, so the place is a perfect chill out bright-your-life sort of stop. The City Sightseeing Red Bus passes by and stops at Bo-kaap, if you prefer (Print the info at the Bo-Kaap's website if you want to walk on your own with some sort of background!).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Spaussiesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    528
    230
    26
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a fabulous day with the fiesty Zainie. My only regret is that I didn't book it at the beginning of my stay in Cape Town. She's full of life and the most passionate chef I've ever encountered.

She'll take you through the quaint Bo-Kaap neighborhood while reliving her interesting life. The local markets you visit are unique and authentic - much better than any super market for the spices you need. She teaches you about the significance of each spice so that you can grasp why you're using particular flavors and seasonings in certain dishes.

HER HOME is the best part of the tour. It's absolutely adorable, stylish, you'll never want to leave. You feel so welcomed and if you're lucky, you'll meet her parents or grandparents why you learn in the kitchen.

The food Zainie teaches you to make includes dishes that are easy enough that you will make them in the future in your own home, and they are delicious. You'll want the aroma alone simmering away in your kitchen.

I've taken many cooking classes across the globe and what makes Zainie special, next to her sparkling personality, is her technique. The simple tools she uses and the tricks she's mastered to ensure her food has the desired texture and consistency is the most important lessons I learned throughout my day with her.

Whether you're only in Cape Town a few days or longer, this cooking tour/class is must if you seek a real experience in the amazing city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“what a beautiful little place”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

if in cape town, don't miss out on this great little place. walk along the cobble stoned street and greet the people living here. probably the most friendliest community and also the safest due to the tight relationships within the community and the lifestyle, spending time on the street or the patio of the house. probably also the most photographed suburb. if i remember right there is 13 mosques in the area. slowly bo kaap has changed over the years and i hope it will continue change slowly so the special feeling it has remains and not disappear while non muslim people move in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank larslindbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the mixture of colors!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had limited time in town and wanted to visit the Bo-kaap neighborhood so we hired a taxi for a quick photo op. The streets come alive with the mixture of colored buildings with Table Mountain in the background. The streets are very narrow in some places and cobblestone walkway. We were cautioned to be aware of our surroundings at all times, some of the side streets were questionable. The colors and architecture unique, worth a drive through this area for some great photo ops.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Funruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a colorful neighborhood”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nine of us traveling with OAT were taken to this very colorful neighborhood. Took lots of photographs. A fun thing to do when you are in Cape Town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Memasmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bo-kaap also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bo-kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing