We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town City Cycle Tour with Dave”
Review of AWOL Tours

AWOL Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.93*
and up
Private Hiking Tour of Table Mountain
More Info
US$130.98*
and up
Private Cycling Tour of The Cape Peninsula from Cape Town
More Info
US$46.23*
and up
Cape Town City Cycling Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: AWOL Tours offers exclusive hiking and biking adventures, with opportunities for genuine cultural exchange and natural encounters, personalised to ensure your extraordinary travel experience. AWOL Tours is a leading outdoor travel specialist for hiking and bicycle tourism in Cape Town, South Africa. We offer you opportunities for breathtaking adventure and authentic interactions. Our experienced AWOL team balance expert trip planning with eco-friendly activities, creating thrilling, memorable travel experiences for you. We've been at the forefront of responsible tourism since 2002, with repeated awards and happy client reviews to prove our success.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was so impressed with the Sunday morning City Cycle Tour my daughter and I did with Dave from AWOL Tours. As a Cape Tonian I discovered so many aspects of this beautiful city that I had not been aware of and would only be aware of when doing a cycle tour with an expert such as Dave. On a beautiful day as it was last Sunday, 10 August 2014 I could not think of a better way to spend a Sunday morning than riding around the city at a gentle pace learning more about the history of the Mother City and and all the wonderful amenities available to residents and visitors alike. I highly recommend this tour and look forward to doing the township tour in the near future.
Lindsay Quail

Thank Lindsay Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Lindsay Q
Thank you for your very thoughtful review of your Cape Town cycling tour with AWOL Tours guide Dave. We are so pleased that our Cape Town locals enjoy this experience as much as international guests. We look forward to receiving more adventurous locals and visitors and sharing Cape Town with everyone. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours. p.s Hopefully you can join us soon for a Table Mountain guided hike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

It was a great experience to visit this part of Cape Town. We (husband, three daughters 15 - 23 years old and me fra Denmark) spend three and a half our together with our friendly and very informative guide Zwai in Masiphumelele - a township in the southern part of Cape Town. He told us about the daily life, history and future for this community. We visited a childcare-house, some workprojects, a small restaurant, a local healer and different part of the area. AWOl tours gave us the opportunity to have these unique experieces in a sustainable way working together with the local community, making jobs, use biking and donate money for local childcare. We were enriched by a lot of sensory input - music, language, shout, moving, taste, smell and friendly people.
It was easy to book on the internet and we get quick answer by email when we had some questions.
Thank you and our best recommandations.

Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Anne D, thank you very much for the much appreciated review. AWOL Tours is so pleased that you had a great Masiphumelele, Cape Town bicycle township tour and found the experience family friendly. AWOL Guide Zwai is very involved in this vibrant community. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cape Town. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I are regular cyclists and whenever we visit a new city we love to start off with a bike tour. It’s a great way to see a wide area of the city in a short amount of time, and it also provides an opportunity to chat with the guide in a relaxed setting. We loved our visit to Cape Town and lots about the bike tour, but the lack of biking infrastructure did take away from our experience (e.g., a couple close calls with cars, not a lot of bike lanes). That said, our guide was terrific — great personal attention, advice and information about the city.

Thank torontoalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Torontoalin, thank you for your review on AWOL Tour's Cape Town city cycle tour. We are pleased that you enjoyed the guide and the overall experience. AWOL Tours presented your above review at the Provincial Cycle Tourism Framework Stakeholder Engagement and we are actively involved with the future of cycling in Cape Town and the development of cycling infrastructure, we hope that when you return you will enjoy a more relaxing cycling experience. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our guidebook recommended AWOL for adventure tours and so I emailed them months in advance to plan tours to the Cape of Good Hope and the Winelands for 3 generations. From the initial contact with Sally, who must have patiently dealt with at least 20 emails from me trying to figure out how to accommodate family members of varying ages and interests, to the actual tours with Mark, Jeremy and Dave, we could not have asked for a better experience. Aside from the fact that the guides were very knowledgable, professional and enjoyable to be with, they were innovative, flexible, and patient. In the Winelands, they brought along cricket bats to entertain the kids (aged 11 and 8) so that the grown ups could enjoy a few wine tastings and helped my son ride a bike when he wasn't totally comfortable so that mom and dad could go on ahead. On the Cape Tour, my son is obsessed with penguins and they arranged a special last minute kayaking tour so that we could get up close to them. We weren't sure we were up to the entire kayak trip so they arranged a one way trip and had the guides return the kayaks. They were amazing and we only wish they had an outfit in Jo'burg too!

Thank Allison Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAWOL, General Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Allison Z, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with AWOL Tours. AWOL Tours really enjoyed planning your families Cape Town experience. Cape Town is an ideal destination for travelling adventurous families of all age groups and fitness levels, and AWOL Tours ensures that nobody gets left out or left behind. We look forward to sharing your future Cape Town adventures. Kind regards, Helen AWOL Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This tour of Cape of Good Hope is amazing. My guide, Jeremy was great. A very knowledgable guy but also funny and friendly. He didn't mind going at my rythmn; often stopping for a photo or just looking at the beautiful sceneries. I would recommend to anyone planning to visit Cape Town and wanting to see the Peninsula. Thank you Jeremy @ AWOL.

Thank LindaM46101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Linda, Thanks so much for taking the time out to share your wonderful experience of cycling the Cape Peninsula with Jeremy. I agree, going at your own pace is the best way to see the landscape. Happy Travels and hope you back in Cape Town one day.
All the best Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AWOL Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to AWOL Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing