We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lion's Head

Lion's Head
Book In Advance
More Info
US$250.00*
and up
Sea Kayak and Bike Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great family hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Go early morning and miss the crowds. Have not felt unsafe but we always make sure to go when there's a few people up already (can tell by cars parked at starting point). No loo's or shop at the top. Take your own picnic and enough water.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jo-alt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,062
    593
    78
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make an early start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We started out walk at 7.15am - about the right time before it got either too hot or too busy. Took the hard route up (climbing wall parts) and the easy way down. It does take the hour up and back as you have to stop for photos of the spectacular views

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank miggins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

360 degree views of Cape Town. Can be a little bit challenging for first time hikers towards the top but well worth going as far as you can manage it. On a warm day, take lots of water! A wonderful experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsGeorgeClooney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome experience - Don't go past the ladder if you are afriad of heights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The views were remarkable. We love the experience. If you are afraid of heights or have anxiety turn around when you see the ladder. After you get above the ladder it gets increasingly narrow and I personally got very nervous I was going to have a misstep and fall down the side. For most people this will not be an issue, but I am known to be clumsy, so I was concerned. We turned around when we got to the spot where you have to use the handle to get up. In hindsight I wish I would have continued, but I did not know what to expect. For those who love are not afraid, what a wonderful hike!!!!!! (You can still enjoy it even if you do not go past the ladder!) 

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelinterest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful walk with stunning 360 degree views - a must do in Cape Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Far preferred this walk to Table mountain as it takes you spiralling around the mountain so you get everchanging views over Cape bay, Table mountain and Camps bay on the other side. It is not easy and requires a bit of scrambling up steep bits at times and nervy walkers might not like the steep left hand edge at times eg there are chains to hold onto and a ladder at one point but it is a safe walk for fit people and you dont have to do all of it!! Absolute must do for walkers and photographers

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lion's Head also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Lion's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing