We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hike ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lion's Head

Lion's Head
Book In Advance
More Info
US$250.00*
and up
Sea Kayak and Bike Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best hike ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great Hike.. Better than table mountain. The view is awesome and I loved every second.. Average fitness required.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank markusnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,977
    575
    77
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Climb to the top of Lion's head, otherwise you haven't done one of the best things one can do in Cape Town. Yes, you need to be somewhat fit and go with someone who know the way, otherwise you can get lost and be up there all night. But the views and the experience is amazing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimmydogdog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must Do in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We came across Lion's Head by chance as the cable car was closed for maintenance. Our 8 year old son, who complains about walking to the bus stop, turned into a mountain goat and lead the charge up the mountain. Views were superb - we went on a cool day thank goodness as I can imagine it is much tougher when it is hot. It could be a bit scary for people who are afraid of heights but I'm not and loved it! A really great morning's excursion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

this is a view that you will never forget, the walk up to the top is sometimes taxing but worth every step of the way. One is always surrounded by nature, views of the ocean or the beautiful Cape Town below.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RouxdeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great family hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Go early morning and miss the crowds. Have not felt unsafe but we always make sure to go when there's a few people up already (can tell by cars parked at starting point). No loo's or shop at the top. Take your own picnic and enough water.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jo-alt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lion's Head also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Lion's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing