We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Four Seasons of B & Bs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welgelegen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #17 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We enjoyed a three day stay here after a safari and visit to Victoria Falls. What a beautiful place. The décor is meticulous, the colors soothing, the rooms luxurious. Our room was large with a walk-in closet containing a bench, lots of shelving, safe and hanger rod. Two towels were provided. The bathroom was small but had good space to hold your personal items. There was a tub, shower, towel warmer and view of Table Mountain. The toiletries were especially nice. The bathroom needed another towel rack and maybe a hook for your robe.

The bedding was very soft and plenty of pillows were provided. Across the bed was a large desk with minibar, the best hairdryer I've ever had in a room, adaptors, lamp, TV, etc. In the drawer was a nice book they put together outlining tours, restaurants, etc. A variety of interesting magazines were on the end tables for bedtime reading.

The front desk staff arranged several tours for us - efficient and seamless. All the staff were very professional, yet still friendly. The location was perfect - we walked to the waterfront and market, and to dinner every night. Breakfast was a nice buffet with some hot options as well. All of the food was delicious. In the evening there are snacks available and an honor bar. I enjoyed a glass of wine. Prices were very reasonable, for the minibar too. There are several sitting areas in the common areas with huge comfortable cushions, lots of interesting books and magazines. There is a small courtyard between the building containing lounge chairs and a small pool. Every wall contains interesting paints and art work. I wish my house could look so good!

If I ever get back to Cape Town I would not stay anywhere else. The atmosphere, facilities and service were top notch. It was the perfect end to a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at the Welgelegen at the beginning and end of our 10 day stay in South Africa. We stayed in two different rooms and even the smallest one in the hotel was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was very good, the staff great and Fiona has nurtured a real gem in her guest house. There are a number of great restaurants within a 15 minute walk; all excellent and if you need any advice, you can rely on Fiona to provide it. No need to look elsewhere this place is A1.

Room Tip: 1st floor room facing the back was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulboyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a wonderful four night stay with at Welgelegen with our 3 year old son.
Fiona, Colleen and the team are brilliant; the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, and absolutely doted on our little boy.
Welgelegen is in a very safe and quiet area - a short walk from Kloof Street. It was brilliant to be able to take an easy stroll to some great restaurants and cafes. It's also very easy access to Table Mountain, Camps Bay, Signal Hill and the V & A Waterfront; Fiona & Colleen are on hand to provide excellent suggestions for what to do and what the weather's likely to be doing:)
Welgelegen has a lovely feel - the period style buildings separated by a courtyard are really intriguing. We stayed in Room 3, which is a lovely room with a large winter-garden type balcony and a partial view of Table Mountain. The breakfasts and service really are first class.
If you're looking for a lovely, unpretentious boutique guest house near Kloof Street, you absolutely cannot go wrong with Welgelegen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHappyMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We started our month long trip here, made to feel really welcome right from the start, even though it was in the early hours of the morning. The décor is relaxed and comfortable and the staff are fantastic. Our room was spacious and overlooked the courtyard. The fruit and port just a lovely addition to all the other personal touches included in the rooms. The guest house in in a very safe quiet road just off of Kloof Street with all its attractions of bars, cafes etc. All much better value than those on the waterfront. The view of Table Mountain from our room was just the icing on the cake.

We didn't need the hire car for the first 4 days as we walked into the city and to the restaurants in the evening.

We have already booked a return visit for 2015!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We came back here after visiting last year because we were so well looked after. It is in a quiet area but very close to all the places we wanted to visit or with good access to transport. Many good restaurants are within walking distance in the evening.
We were enthusiastically welcomed back and Fiona and her staff appeared pleased to see us again.
We had a very nice room with a terrace overlooking the internal courtyard and pool. It was stylish and attractively well fitted, and very quiet. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fruits and breads etc and a well-cooked hot option.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a fabulous view of Table Mountain and a quiet as the road outside is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogjacgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here 4 nights while visiting Cape Town. The room was spacious with a huge bath and shower. The rooms had complementary port & fruit and the bath rooms had bath salts, which I thought was a nice touch. Just outside the room we had a private terrace overlooking the pool and courtyard. The first night we were there we needed a reservation and I called reception to inquire about good restaurants. They provided two options and I told them I needed time to look them up. When I went back to reception I found that a staff member had already booked the place I wanted, without even having to tell him, which was a good idea because another staff member was trying to book the same restaurant for another couple and by that time they were fully booked. Breakfast was excellent, the cooking staff went above and beyond to make sure I had something to eat (I am a vegan). The last two mornings they cooked me tofu and it was excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Marie_Snyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our first visit to South Africa, so we were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The guest house is located in a quiet road close to one of the trendy parts of town (Kloof street), with good restaurants that are almost certainly better than those in the real tourist areas around the VA waterfront in downtown Cape Town. The lady that owns it has design flair that is reflected in the decor and style throughout these two back to back houses joined by an attractive courtyard. By city standards, the rooms were reasonably sized and we were greeted with complimentary 1/4 litre of local port and fresh fruit. The rooms all have tea / coffee facilities as well as lovely home made cookies.
Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, breads, cheese, ham etc followed by cooked breakfast to order. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here and special praise to Simon the night manager - a great character.
Provided you are not set on a hotel with identical rooms and modern furnishings, this is a great place to begin a Southern Cape holiday.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Standard
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
604 reviews
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#8 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,108 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welgelegen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen Boutique Hotel

Address: 6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £89 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welgelegen Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welgelegen Boutique Hotel - an urban sanctuary in the heart of Cape Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Welgelegen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welgelegen Hotel Cape Town Central
Welgelegen Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing