We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Welgelegen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Welgelegen
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Welgelegen whilst visiting Cape Town as part of his birthday celebrations. Fiona is a superb host, advising us about places to eat, best time to visit Table Mountain and Robben Island - accurately predicting the weather conditions and even explaining the best route to our next stop. Our room was beautiful, the breakfasts were extremely tasty and everyone was so friendly. We will be back. Thank you Fiona for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    53
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
284
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had the most wonderful time staying at Welgelegen! The accommodation is so welcoming and comfortable; I loved all of the decorative details of the sitting rooms and dining room and the wonderful music.
The staff is very kind and helpful. Thank you to Simon and Rita for your attentiveness; you are always smiling :) Fiona helped us book an amazing private tour of the Peninsula, massages, recommended fabulous restaurants, and called for transfers when needed. Thank you Fiona for answering all of our many many questions ;) and helping us tourists navigate the city!
Very clean with extra special touches (homemade cookies daily and an honor bar).
Walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and museums. Fresh and hot breakfast made to order daily (one morning we thought we missed breakfast....they called up to see if we would be coming down before they closed the kitchen; so incredibly nice and considerate!)
We would absolutely recommend staying here and God willing if we are blessed to return to Cape Town, we will be staying at Welgelegen!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Welgelegen is a beautiful guest house. We stayed for 3 nights whilst travelling along the garden route. We were welcomed by Fiona who was very attentive, walm and welcoming.
All the staff were so lovely and Simon who works reception during the night is a lovely charascter . The rooms are large, clean and beautifully furnished. We had a breathtaking view of Table Mountain from our room. Breakfast is very good with the choice of a continental or cooked. Would definitely stay again.
Welgelegen was a beautiful start to an amazing holiday.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just like my grandma's home used to be. Professional and friendly staff. Convenient and close to all the sights & restaurants. Great wifi made our travel planning easier. Fiona made our stay very pleasant. Room was extremely comfortable with in room shower and tub. Nice reading room and library with pretty of travel books about Cape Town. Breakfast was ample and made to order, homemade bread and fresh squeezed OJ.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A10pilot69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Beautifully furnished with a breakfast so good I still dream of it, Welgelegen is just a few minutes' walk from Kloof Street where we ended up dining every night. The only faults were the promises when we arrived (the toiletries turned out to be far from organic and we later had trouble booking things through staff) and the broken shower door and toilet which dripped constantly. All minor things though and at other times staff went out of their way to help us. Alex, the night manager, is an absolute gem. And the drinks table in the evenings was unexpected and charming.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

By accident I stumbled upon Welgelegen and it has been a love affair ever since.
I travel to Cape Town on business regularly throughout the year and this place is a little piece of heaven for me - my home away form home.

The staff are attentive but not invasive, the ambience is calm & relaxing and the rooms are spacious & luxurious. They also have an amazing breakfast (continental and cooked).
Situated right by the city centre, Welgelegen offers you easy access to Cape Town, is close to quality restaurants and has the view of Table Mountain ready and waiting.
They think of everything and make your stay, whether it's business or pleasure, an worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: All rooms I've stayed in have been amazing, but I would recommend #'s 4 & 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
303 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We enjoyed a three day stay here after a safari and visit to Victoria Falls. What a beautiful place. The décor is meticulous, the colors soothing, the rooms luxurious. Our room was large with a walk-in closet containing a bench, lots of shelving, safe and hanger rod. Two towels were provided. The bathroom was small but had good space to hold your personal items. There was a tub, shower, towel warmer and view of Table Mountain. The toiletries were especially nice. The bathroom needed another towel rack and maybe a hook for your robe.

The bedding was very soft and plenty of pillows were provided. Across the bed was a large desk with minibar, the best hairdryer I've ever had in a room, adaptors, lamp, TV, etc. In the drawer was a nice book they put together outlining tours, restaurants, etc. A variety of interesting magazines were on the end tables for bedtime reading.

The front desk staff arranged several tours for us - efficient and seamless. All the staff were very professional, yet still friendly. The location was perfect - we walked to the waterfront and market, and to dinner every night. Breakfast was a nice buffet with some hot options as well. All of the food was delicious. In the evening there are snacks available and an honor bar. I enjoyed a glass of wine. Prices were very reasonable, for the minibar too. There are several sitting areas in the common areas with huge comfortable cushions, lots of interesting books and magazines. There is a small courtyard between the building containing lounge chairs and a small pool. Every wall contains interesting paints and art work. I wish my house could look so good!

If I ever get back to Cape Town I would not stay anywhere else. The atmosphere, facilities and service were top notch. It was the perfect end to a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welgelegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen

Property: Welgelegen
Address: 6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Welgelegen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welgelegen Boutique Hotel - an urban sanctuary in the heart of Cape Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Welgelegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welgelegen Hotel Cape Town Central
Welgelegen Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing