We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in cape town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in cape town!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

After spending a terrible night in the strand hotel and tower we decided that this is it! Since the southern sun cape was literally 500m down the street we gave it a try and we are more than happy having made this decision! Rooms are spacious and quiet the AC is working the view is awesome and even though its a big hotel all staff we met so far is caring friendly and always willing to go the extra mile! You dont feel like a room number but like family! For all of you that want good accommodation with fantastic hospitality i can highly recommend the place. On a side the internet in the rooms is for free, the offers a free of charge shuttle to the v+a waterfront and you'll love your breakfast. Thanks a lot to all staff and keep up the good spirits. It means a lot to your guests to be greeted with a smile every day

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear BridgetS
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you decided to try out the Cape Sun. So many of our guests stay with us frequently because they feel at home and part of a large family.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    308
    111
    27
    16
See reviews for
116
184
43
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
240 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

i use to stay at this hotel every month for 3 days ,for 10 months during 2013. i love the old charm, the beautiful views and the large rooms! The public areas and longe is still beautiful and the food is brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Heilavh
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were instrumental in making your experience in Cape Town a good one.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here during our 12-day SmarTour Highlights of South Africa Tour. My party liked this hotel alot!
Pros:
• Centrally located, walking distance to Long Street, Greenmarket Square and St.George's Mall.
• LOVE LOVE the daily breakfast buffet (6:30-10AM)- all the food is excellent from the cheese bar, baked goods, meats, and eggs. They even have a green/fruit juice bar that you can order your customized green juice or smoothie. You can also order a delicious cappuccino or latte that comes with bfast.
• Happy with our spacious and clean room. We had a view of the ocean with a bit of the mountain range. The bed and sheets are super clean and comfortable. The blankets are very heavy so I turned the temperature to the lowest and as a result slept very well under the covers.
• Shower pressure is strong and hot water comes instantly.
• You can request a hairdryer from room service.
• They have free shuttle service to the Waterfront- sometimes it gets so crowded you end up having to take a taxi. They need to have a sign for shuttle status because we and other guests got frustrated when we had to wait and ask around to find out why the shuttle was late when it had in fact left because it was already full.

Cons:
• The WiFi can be vastly improved. They have some kind of firewall that makes Gmail very slow and iffy. The interface gets broken and you cannot attach pictures to Gmail anymore, which is very annoying since most of us want to email pictures back to family and friends. The WiFi at the Waterfront is much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnL148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear AnnL148
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were instrumental in making your tour a good one. We have sent your feedback regarding the WI-FI to our service provider to ensure that it does not reoccur. Thank you for letting us know - much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel, and believe me, I am very particular. 29th floor, glorious view, large room, safe, fridge, desk, sofa, dressing table with mirror. There was also a tub/shower combo (tub important to me), with very hot water and good water pressure. Price very reasonable. Housekeeping attentive to my every need and never missed a beat. Not once did I need to ask for anything and having cleaned my room for 2 days, they knew what I liked/used, how much I used and I never lacked for those items. Concierge, reception, all polite and friendly. Internet in room worked fine for the most part, 500MB per day complimentary and much better than much higher priced hotels in Cape Town that I have been to. Short distance to conference center (10 minutes walking), V&A waterfront about a $5-$7 fare, 10 minutes or less. Lots of shopping right outside the door. Food - I only had dine-in on the last night of a six-night stay. It was not five star, but certainly tasty. And if you are a smoker, they have dedicated smoking floors. I never smelled the smoke in the hallways.

Room Tip: Any room on upper floors will give you a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CairoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear CairoD
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were instrumental in making your tour a good one.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwanza, Tanzania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed here for a few days during a conference. The property has been looked after however a major upgrade is required. The rooms were big and functional however the furniture etc. was clearly dated. Bathrooms were not the best but you get a decent hot shower!

Breakfast was good and they have a large spread on the buffet! Staff were friendly and very helpful. Location of the property is great as its, safe, downtown and within a 3 minute cab ride to the water front where most of the restaurants were. Good for a business trip but not something I would recommend for those looking to enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Kunal16
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were instrumental in making your tour a good one.. Not all guests like the Cape Dutch style rooms, however we are in the process of finalizing the dates for our refurb that includes all our rooms. This will ensure that our furniture will be more modern and more stylish.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Having stayed before and after an overlanding tour of Southern Africa, I can not fault this hotel. The service was excellent as was the breakfast.
Attention to detail is second to none here, you would be hard pressed to get a better hotel in Central Cape Town.

Room Tip: 31st floor viewing Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berlinalan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Berlin78
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were instrumental in making your tour a good one.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltyedamame
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a great time during our 6 night stay at this hotel. It is very well located - right around the corner from the bars and restaurants on Long Street (I recommend Fork and Five Flies, both suggestions from the concierge), two blocks from Green Market Square (great place to buy souvenirs and curios).

The hotel was very good about arranging and advising for safe and reliable transportation (cab to the Waterfront takes about 10 minutes and 50 rand), and the concierge staff was excellent. The hotel manager was very friendly and checked in on us whenever he saw us in the lobby or common areas. The staff was unfailing friendly and helpful, and were able to assist with things like getting our laundry done on a service-free day, good recommendations on food and attractions, ATMs, shoe repair, etc.

The elevator has an amazing view of Table Mountain, and views from multiple sides of the hotel are impressive. The food is good, but beware the included breakfast on a busy (tour bus) day - the line to get seated was prohibitive a few times, so plan ahead if you're in a rush.

Two small issues prevented the 5th star. One is that the toilet in the room did not flush properly and needed to be done several times (it was an older model) - that being said, we did not say anything or ask to be moved, since we were busy and not that bothered, so it probably was a one off. The other was some issues with the housekeeping in-room; our items were often moved around (dirty clothes shoved back into bags on top of clean ones, our belongings mixed up and put in separate bags, my friend's scarf was ruined when it was put back into bag and zipped up into the zipper). I appreciate that sometimes the housekeeping staff feels the need to rearrange your things but this was excessive and actually damaged a few items. Again, we could have said something but didn't so I wouldn't hold it against the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltyedamame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear gilda
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were instrumental in making your tour a good one. Please accept our humblest apologies for the Housekeeping issues - this is not intentional and we will ensure to caution the room attendants going forward.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,902 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,619 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
776 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Property: Southern Sun Cape Sun
Address: 23 Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it's all happening and with magnificent views over Table Mountain and Robben Island, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideally located for visitors who want to experience one of the world's most beautiful cities. Hotel guests are invited to make use of facilities like the free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness centre and Camelot Spa. For business needs the hotel offers nine fully equipped conference venues with space for up to 650 delegates There are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance but our free shuttle bus departs regularly to the nearby Victoria & Alfred Waterfront providing convenient access to a range of harbour-side restaurants and first class shopping, offering great appeal to visitors in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town
Southern Sun Cape Sun Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing