We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 stars - No hotel parking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Cape Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“4 stars - No hotel parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at the Cape Sun on 21 Dec 2013. Was a little disappointed as in the heart of city centre, no parking at the hotel, we had to walk up the road and across the street to park and then had to pay R95 a night for parking! Our hotel room was on the 31 floor, while waiting for the lift, we heard the lift alarm continuously going off. Our lift arrived, and all the way to the ground floor we heard the lift alarm being sounded. When we reached the bottom we told the staff someone must be trapped in the lift, they did not even know about it. Found the hotel lacking in entertainment!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Carla L
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to advise you that we are in the process of finalizing the dates for our refurb of our parking area below the Hotel. This will ensure that you have access to your vehicle on the premises for a nominal fee.

Your sincerely,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    290
    103
    25
    13
See reviews for
107
177
38
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here on a business trip in December. The hotel is in a convenient location, middle of town and close to Waterfront etc. The hotel didn't cope with a group of 8 that came in after midday. Only 3 rooms were ready. We eventually checked in late at night, after the event we were in town for (after 9pm). I found the hotel rooms to be a bit dated. It was a decent size but the finishings felt old. I expected the bathrooms to have separate showers but it was attached to the bath tub. The shower curtain was old and turned colour. There were no complimentary toiletries like earbuds or basics that you find in every other hotel (comb, etc). I didn't have a choice about staying here but I would never book at this hotel. Didn't like the whole atmosphere. Waiters at breakfast had a bit of attitude - completely unnecessary.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NafisaAkabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear NafisaAkabor
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we pride ourselved in the service that we offer all our guests. I will ensure that we send a copy of your mail to the relevant Managers to ensure that it does not reoccur.

Thank you,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Nothing to get surprised that Cape Sun comes the third after Cullinan and Waterfront...The hotel is nice but bit older than other group hotels and the location is more in the middle of the hustle. Rooms are spacious and excellent view of table mountain and great lobby. Hotel always been very crowded and I always had a breakfast feeling like I'm in a horse race.
Staff is excellent like in other group hotels. If you're looking for a quality value for money hotels, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Evran A
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we're truly sorry about your breakfast experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Southern Sun Cape Town in Strand Street, an ageing but still a landmark hotel, should by rights offer superlative service. The lounge restaurant in the entrance lobby was virtually empty when our group arrived and, at eight people, was the largest contingent in the venue. Under these circumstances, we might have expected snappy service but it was not to be. Instead, we were kept waiting for 20 minutes before receiving attention, and only after one of our party approached the food and beverage manager for satisfaction. When the drinks order arrived at last, I found myself a glass short. A series of comical exchanges then ensued before I finally secured my drink. Then came the lunch order and another round of mayhem. Ten minutes after placing the order, the waitress (one of two operating in tandem) then returned to check my order. I confirmed the Panini and she asked if this was in addition to the chicken salad, which I had not requested. When I explained this error, she quite vociferously insisted that I had placed this order. I politely disagreed and she irritably crossed the item off the list. I noticed that I was missing some utensils and requested this from her as she departed. When the food arrived I was still sans cutlery, and once more a comedic series of exchanges ensued before I could start on lunch. Or such that it was: with more onion than anything else, the meal must represent the worst example of light lunch that I’ve experienced in years, let alone at one of Cape Town’s grander hotels. Not a lot of leeway, then: disgusting service and awful food will ensure I never return here again. Needless to say, the same applies to my colleagues who were equally appalled. On the positive side, the ride in the lift to the 32nd floor was spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironiclogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Ironiclogic
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

From the outset, please accept our humblest apologies for your experience at the Cape Sun. We are saddened to hear about the shocking service and therefore we would like the opportunity to communicate with you so we can find a way to amicably deal with what happened.

Please be so kind to send your details to our F&B Manager; Robert Hatton-Jones on Robert.Hatton-Jones@Tsogosun.com or alternatively 021 488 5100.

Thank you,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager
c: 076 176 5379
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A clean and spacious hotel in the city area. Service at the counter was friendly and housekeeping happens twice a day. Breakfast starts at 0630 to 1000hr, and the food is great (especially the croissant!) View in the room (high floor) is breathtaking on both sides!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Yueny
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were instrumental in making your tour a good one.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

After spending a terrible night in the strand hotel and tower we decided that this is it! Since the southern sun cape was literally 500m down the street we gave it a try and we are more than happy having made this decision! Rooms are spacious and quiet the AC is working the view is awesome and even though its a big hotel all staff we met so far is caring friendly and always willing to go the extra mile! You dont feel like a room number but like family! For all of you that want good accommodation with fantastic hospitality i can highly recommend the place. On a side the internet in the rooms is for free, the offers a free of charge shuttle to the v+a waterfront and you'll love your breakfast. Thanks a lot to all staff and keep up the good spirits. It means a lot to your guests to be greeted with a smile every day

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear BridgetS
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you decided to try out the Cape Sun. So many of our guests stay with us frequently because they feel at home and part of a large family.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

i use to stay at this hotel every month for 3 days ,for 10 months during 2013. i love the old charm, the beautiful views and the large rooms! The public areas and longe is still beautiful and the food is brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Heilavh
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were instrumental in making your experience in Cape Town a good one.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the future and wish you a warm Christmas and a prosperous 2014.

Happy holidays,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Property: Southern Sun Cape Sun
Address: Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it's all happening and with magnificent views over Table Mountain and Robben Island, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideally located for visitors who want to experience one of the world's most beautiful cities. Hotel guests are invited to make use of facilities like the free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness centre and Camelot Spa. For business needs the hotel offers nine fully equipped conference venues with space for up to 650 delegates There are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance but our free shuttle bus departs regularly to the nearby Victoria & Alfred Waterfront providing convenient access to a range of harbour-side restaurants and first class shopping, offering great appeal to visitors in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town
Southern Sun Cape Sun Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing