We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Ranked #35 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Add benefits that accrue to frequent. Guests card holders and sometimes surprise them with free accommodation gifts or related vouchers. Automatic upgrades to higher grades rooms e.g. Presidential suites depending on availability will go a long way towards increasing loyalty with your hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlydeJong2014, Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear EdmundN

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the Cape Sun Hotel.

We are always committed to our Frequent Guest Programme and appreciate the continued support from our frequent guests. Thank you for your suggestions in helping us to increase and maintain our customer loyalty.
I do hope to welcome you back the Cape Sun very soon.

Warm regards
Carly de Jong
Rooms Division Manager
Carly.dejong@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    299
    107
    27
    13
See reviews for
111
181
41
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Effective communication with regards additional costs such as parking - customer must be advised upfront when making the bookings
Room must be according to specifications as advertised - King bed size

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mandla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlydeJong281, Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear MandlaM,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Cape Sun and for your feedback received.
I am sorry to see that your stay was not as comfortable and enjoyable as we hope for all our guests. Parking at the Hotel does come at an additional cost, however we will be commencing with the building of our own parking under the hotel, which will see a seamless and less expensive parking option. This work will commence in November of this year. Please contact me directly when booking again so I may personally ensure you receive the room type you have you requested.
I do hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the very near future.
Kind regards
Carly de Jong
Rooms Division Manager
Carly.dejong@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

An unforgettable experience! Wonderful, warm South African hospitality and service!! The staff were helpful, friendly and customer - focussed! The food was great and the atmosphere even better. From the valet to the laundry service, we had no complaints! The rooms were clean but a little dated, and could do with some renovations. Howerever the stunning view of Table Mountain made up for it! The free shuttle to the V&A Waterfront was a god-send! We were stuck in the elevator for about 90 minutes (because 3 large women forced their way in despite the already packed elevator!) but the staff were great! They kept us informed of what was being done and had chilled drinks waiting for us when we were safely deleivered. In addition, they sent us fruit plates and drinks as well as personal letter from the Manager to apologise for the inconvenience. A really great place to saty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone I knew.

Room Tip: The mountain view was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairyLightFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlydeJong281, Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear FairyLightFoot,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Cape Sun and for your kind words.
We are pleased that we were able to make your stay in Cape Town a memorable one. I am please to see that in spite of the unfortunate incident with the elevator; our staff was able to assist as best as they could under the circumstances.
I do hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the near future to experience our great views and friendly staff once more.
Kind regards
Carly de Jong
Rooms Division Manager
Carly.dejong@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

professional management, patient staff
fish, juice, coffee, biscuit, cake and desserts they serve are with outstanding quality
however, most local staff do not have smile , the smile that need not be cause of training, it should be smile from their hearts, i hope their countries will become better and better

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlydeJong281, Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sy t,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Cape Sun and for your kind words.
We are pleased that we were able to make your stay in Cape Town a memorable one, and in particular the quality of our food and beverage offering.
I do hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the near future.
Kind regards
Carly de Jong
Rooms Division Manager
Carly.dejong@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very large and comfortable room and a great view towards Table Mountain (see photo). Excellent service, friendly and accommodating staff. Lots of elevators. Very quiet. Some aspects may need updating (my bathroom was very clean but very old). However I can't give the hotel a 5-star rating because of the super-slow wifi (my colleagues agreed) which made internet and email usage somewhat painful.

Room Tip: A high floor (I was on 26) keeps you away from traffic noise below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binyamin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlydeJong281, Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Binyamin8,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Cape Sun and for your kind words.
We are pleased that we were able to make your stay in Cape Town a memorable one and that you enjoyed the view from our 26th floor. I have noted your comments around the WiFi speed and will take this up with our technical department. The Hotel will be receiving a full refurbishment that will see an upgrade to all 368 bedrooms, as well as the bathrooms.
I hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the near future.
Kind regards
Carly de Jong
Rooms Division Manager
Carly.dejong@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It was just awesome!!! Excellent service all the way!

From the welcoming at arrival until the departure, I was surrounded by very friendly and efficient staff. It had an adverse effect on me as the Organizer, Host and Programme Director of the events because I could concentrate on my business and not worry about logistics. Well done Cape Sun!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Annelize R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlydeJong281, Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Annelize R
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Cape Sun and for your kind words.
It is always wonderful to receive such feedback, and we are pleased that we were able to make your event a successful one.
I hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the very near future.
Kind regards
Carly de Jong
Rooms Division Manager
Carly.dejong@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
205 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I wrote what turned out to be very popular a review of the Vineyard hotel a year or so back calling it "Gracious Old Lady, Best Manners in Town". Extending the analogy, the Cape Sun is the Old Lady's hard working employee, whose beauty has faded and not benefitted as the Old Lady has from either plastic surgery or an expensive wardrobe. However she still comes to work punctually and with a great spirit every day, and displays the wisdom of age.

The Cape Sun really could do with a revamp. The architectural style, while dated, still has a certain charm. But the fittings are worn and very dated, and the interior is quite dark (except when near windows with stunning views). The gym, conference rooms and restaurant are small. However the service was excellent throughout, the food was decent, and the prices (at a conference discount rate) very competitive. I still far prefer the V&A waterfront as a location and for its newer hotels, but the Cape Sun has its place as a reliable, cost-effective business hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlydeJong281, Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear JonB_SA,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Cape Sun and for your wonderful comments.
The Hotel will be receiving a full refurbishment that will see an upgrade of all bedrooms, public areas and conference facilities as well us underground parking. This work will be commencing in the next 12 months.
I hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the near future to once again experience our hospitality.
Kind regards
Carly de Jong
Rooms Division Manager
Carly.dejong@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Property: Southern Sun Cape Sun
Address: Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it's all happening and with magnificent views over Table Mountain and Robben Island, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideally located for visitors who want to experience one of the world's most beautiful cities. Hotel guests are invited to make use of facilities like the free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness centre and Camelot Spa. For business needs the hotel offers nine fully equipped conference venues with space for up to 650 delegates There are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance but our free shuttle bus departs regularly to the nearby Victoria & Alfred Waterfront providing convenient access to a range of harbour-side restaurants and first class shopping, offering great appeal to visitors in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town
Southern Sun Cape Sun Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing