We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for last night in Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #100 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 12 March 2013

At the end of a two week camping trip, we landed at Lady Hamilton. This hotel has great staff - very friendly & helpful even when there's not much time to plan and sightsee. The room was comfortable & breakfast was good. It is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping, ATMS. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101travelerNo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Lady Hamilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed in the Lady Hamilton for three nights.The hotel is a little way out of the centre of town and right next to the Mount Nelson Hotel.The promise of views of table mountain and also lions peak are limited as the Hotel is a low structure and surrounded by taller buildings,Checkin staff were very helpful with recommending tours and booking them.The restaurant staff were a bit of a mixed bag,being difficult to raise a smile or service from them.Food was varied as there was a conference on for two days so the buffet dinner was good but on the 3rd day when there was no conference the buffet choice shrank by half but the price remained the same!
They generally do not do lunch but the Chef helpfully laid out a nice plate of fish and chips for the one afternoon that I found myself stuck indoors due to rain.
The rooms are in need of a serious makeover as the window glasses are cracked.the Aircon is a window unit and you have to keet the curtains open for the Aircon to run!!Alos very noisy and difficult to get sleep with tis unit running.The bathroom had a very small basin with no space to keep your toileteries,found that odd.TV is really old and some rooms had this tiny 14 inch TV up on the wall,Telephone did not work and even after reporting this on the second day it never got fixed.
The Free WIFI is only available in the lobby with no other option.Very slow connection and often not working.
No lift to go up to first and second floors and if you have a heavy bag this could be a hinderance.
Inspite of all this it has a homely feel to it.Mainly due to the staff.For some reason I felt quite comfortable here.Better than their sister hotel Fountains which is bigger and nicer but has zero atmosphere.Just wish they would fix these issues and I would be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indian-travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

With scintillating views of Table mountain and the Lions head from the steps of Lady Hamilton this Cape Town hotel just off Kloof street is in an excellent location. Easy access for the Waterfront , TM cable car and trips to Camps bay and Cape point.



Kloof street has many bars and restaurants to cater for all tastes. Start at the Knead coffee pizza bar and upwards to the Jackal and Hyde for a good night out!.



Lady H is very clean tidy and friendly. The staff are always very helpful.



Residents mingle on the steps outside for early morning free tea and coffee exchanging their Escape Town experiences and their plans for the coming day.


This was my third visit and will be returning for many more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had 2 nights here at the end of a tour and we enjoyed having access to free Wi-Fi in the foyer and the breakfast buffet was good as well. The rooms are quite small and the bathrooms need a make over BUT it was clean and comfortable which is the most important thing in my opinion. We had to call a doctor while we were there and the front desk was very helpful in sorting that for us. We did not have toilet paper in our room when we arrived though and we had to ask for it twice.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so go for a ground floor room if you have lots of luggage
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed here for one night in January 2013. I found that the staff wasn't nearly as helpful as the majority of businesses in Cape Town. They were also slow to act on requests.

The bathrooms in the next door rooms were extremely loud. I could hear someone shave at 5:35 in the morning, it sounded more as if the person was in my own bathroom.

It is in a scenic area though and the shops and restaurants nearby definitely is a bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knoesenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

fine to stay overnight, but not much else. Location pretty dead and not central, rooms small and dingy. Feels old and depressing, needs a makeover. Staff was very nice, and helpful. We had to leave before breakfast, and they were very nice about sending us with some bagged breakfasts. Surprised to see some people thought charming, thought totally lacked charm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lady Hamilton for a a couple nights in Cape Town in December. While it's not very centrally located by downtown or the V&A waterfront, we were pleased to find many great restaraunts close by on Kloof (street?), a 2 minute walk from the hotel. If you do want to get to the Waterfront, it's about 60 ZAR. It's even closer to get to the base of Table Mountain.

As far as the hotel goes, they have a great staff who will set up any tours or excursions that you would like. They are extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area. There is free wifi, but it's slow and you can only get it in the lobby. There's also a very old community computer that's availble in the lobby for free. The most extraordinary feature of our stay was the great breakfast and 24 hour availabilty of cold water, tea, and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquirrelofAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#76 of 111 in Cape Town Central
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#77 of 111 in Cape Town Central
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#90 of 111 in Cape Town Central
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#82 of 111 in Cape Town Central
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#106 of 111 in Cape Town Central
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 111 in Cape Town Central
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Address: 10 Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Cape Town
Lady Hamilton Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing