We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #100 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We spent one week in this hotel and were very satisfied. We appreciate especially very good location, nice and helpful staff, clean and spacy rooms, variable food during breakfast, the possibility of parking the car etc. Really good value for good price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetnaPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Lady Hamilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2008

we based ourselves for the full two week stay in the Lady Hamilton Hotel & loved every moment The hotel is the beautiful Gardens District & we had great views of Table Mountain & Devil's Peak. The hotel was spotlessly clean & the staff were wonderful & extremely helpful.
Our breakfast was excellent with a great choice of everything you could want. Neil was a wonderful chef.
Nearby were some great restaurants with superb food at very low prices. Our favourite was Arnold's with the wonderful waitresses Jean & Nina. We also liked Jimmy's & Green's.We also ate at the Waterfront & at Mama Africa (must book a few days in advance here)
As we were a party of six we hired a car for the duration & went out & about each day completing the itenery we had prepared. in advance of going.
The holiday was stupendous & we all decided we would like to live there

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Average hotel, rooms, food, service. We ate in many good fish-restaurants in Waterfront. Not expensive food, neither hotel. I not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarcelSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We booked lady hamilton after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We had originally hoped to stay by the waterfront however as we were here over Easter, most of those hotels were fully booked. However, we are now glad we did book lady hamilton!

On arrival we checked in with no problems whatsoever. The staff at reception were extremely helpful throughout our stay, especially Diane who was exceedingly helpful and always welcomed guests with a smile.

Our rooms were fine - very clean and fresh towels daily. Maid service daily and were immaculate. Good showers, beds fairly comfy. Granted some of the furniture and decor was slightly dated however the cleanliness was the main thing, and clean they most certainly were.

Breakfast was very good. Large selection of fresh fruit, pastries, cooked meats (bacon, sausage, beans, eggs etc), cold meats. cereals. tea. juices etc - as much as you wanted. Tea and coffee available all day long free of charge.

The hotel bar was very small and unfortunatly poorly stocked (ran out of beer and vodka half way through the week). Throughout our ten day stay very few people frequented the bar - and with so many bars so near by (Kloof st and Long st) really this is no great surprise.

We emailed the hotel prior to arrival to arrange pick up taxi. We got a driver named Andries who appears to do a lot of work for the hotel. Subsequently we booked him to take us on some of the tours - the stellenbosch wine tour and the safari - He is 500 rand cheaper than the main tour companies but the best thing about him is that he picks you up at the door and leaves you home (also we found him an excellent driver - very safe on the roads)

We booked afternoon tea at the mount nelson hotel(5 minute stroll from the lady hamilton) and we would thorughly recommend this - it really was excellent - such an array of wonderful foods in a beautiful sorrunding.

The safari we booked through the taxi driver was excellent - a one day safari in Inverdoon - 2 and a half hour drive from cape town so be prepared for an early start!

We found the hop on hop off bus an excellent trip - great way to get around cape town and also get your bearings.

Like I said previously we had originally hoped to stay at the V&A, however a taxi ride from the lady hamilton was only 5 minutes and 50-60 rand making it very convenient. We spent some nights near by the hotel and had some excellent food.Top of our list was most defintely JIMMYS - a 2 minute walk from the hotel (turn right as you leave the hotel and its directly in front of you on Kloof St) - the most wonderful steaks and it is reknowned for its prawn dishes. Also, just a few doors down from Jimmys was Arthurs which also was excellent. For any steak fans, Nelsons Eye, a charcoal restaurant was also excellent. About a 5 minute walk from the hotel (ask reception for directions - you need to book for this restaurant as it appears to be very busy especially with locals).

All in all, we absolutley adores cape town and we thought the lady hamilton was the perfect place to base our holiday. I would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Foodieglasgow1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

We were staying at the lady for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon. Arriving early we knew our room would not be ready so we would wait for a while in the bar/lounge area as the rain outside didnt seem much fun.
We were told our room was ready and they had given us one of the better rooms. Walking up the dreaded stairs we opened the door to the yellow washed room.

Looking around I thought it'll be fine as we had excursions planned so would only really be sleeping ans showering here. Mother nature had other plans. While I mentioned the shower this was the kind where only a few streams manage to squeeze themselves out of the limescale encrusted shower head.

The staff at reception and the porters were all very helpful. Whatever we needed they catered to. Breakfast was the same everyday with classic options, not bad but nothing special.

The pool area was nice even if it was covered by cloud most of our visit. The location of this hotel is close to long street where most of the backpackers drink. If you like that kind of thing then great, if however you would rather have meals at the waterfront then opt for a hotel closer than the lady as i'm sure you would get a honeymoon suite and not a glorified backpackers inn.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank StGeorgeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

Arrived late at night and thought the rooms at the LH a bit basic .
However comfortable beds good air conditioning and perfect location away from the waterfront but lots of nice restaurants - (Gainsbourg was our favourite) made it much more acceptable.
The whole experience was made so much better by delightful staff ex food and service. The Dep Mgr 'Jordy ' was so helpful smiling and pleasant - nothing was too much trouble - what an asset he is! Also liked the 24hr tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Glendeyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We had a short stopover in Capetown enroute to the UK and Europe. Our travel agent booked us into this hotel. We arrived on a wet night and were immediately made feel very welcome. The room we had was delightful and extremely clean and very tastefully decorated. It also had great views of the fabled Table Mountain which we saw the next morning.
Breakfast was absolutely terrific with lots of choise from fruit to the very substantial eggs and bacon and plenty of hot toast and great coffee.
The staff were attentive and always helpful.
It was a lovely stay and I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone

Bill Eberbach

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank BillEber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#76 of 111 in Cape Town Central
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#77 of 111 in Cape Town Central
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#90 of 111 in Cape Town Central
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#82 of 111 in Cape Town Central
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#106 of 111 in Cape Town Central
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 111 in Cape Town Central
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Address: 10 Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Cape Town
Lady Hamilton Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing