We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, good food, rock n' roll vibe.”
Review of Truth Coffee HQ

Truth Coffee HQ
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Truth Coffee is first and foremost a coffee roastery. We pride ourselves on artisan coffee. Secondly it is a steampunk cafe, calle dby MSN Travel UK's Tom Midlane, the best coffee shop in the world" and the Guardian Newspaper said, "Probably the coolest cafe in the World"
New York City
Level Contributor
913 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
“Great coffee, good food, rock n' roll vibe.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This somewhat gritty breakfast/lunch institution, the original set in the center of downtown, delivered on most fronts. The coffee was perfect, although the micro textured milk seems too fandangled. The eggs are served on butcher blocks lined with wax paper which was a nuisance when cutting into your food. The French toast is a true indulgence. Don’t miss this spot if in the neighborhood.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    185
    54
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool Ambiance”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I loved the atmosphere of this Steampunk cafe the minute I walked in ... Unfortunately the service was awful the the coffees were luke warm but the food was great and decor is a 10 .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank miamifinnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good coffee.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I love this place, the moment you walk into the door you see it is different from all the other coffeebars. The design is unique and the coffee is really good. I like the fact that they encourage you to drink your coffee without sugar. I've been here more often and had the focaccia with feta and herbs and their amazing almond slice. I keep coming back to this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sterreroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Truth has done an incredible job with the for out of their store. It's raw, industrialist and feels like what a serious coffee joint should feel like. We went on a Sunday morning and it was packed with locals. Due to the busyness the service was very slow. The coffee is a tasty easy drinker so most people will love it. A great place to visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avante Gard, Victorian but Temperature of Coffee is cool.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Service 1 out of ten. Coffee was tepid and asked if I could have a hotter cup and the answer i recieved was that was the way it comes out of the machine. Surely one can alter the delivery temperature of the machine?
Food was good. Atmosphere and decor and machine very interesting but the music too loud and the sound echoed, with all the talking, and no accoustic control due to all the hard surfaces.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Truth Coffee HQ also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Truth Coffee HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing