We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem - you must visit!”
Review of Cape Standard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Standard
Ranked #12 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed here in early December 2011 and, even in a country renowned for its excellent hospitality and great food, this place is in a league of its own. Rooms are beautiful, with a crisp, clean design and wonderful bathrooms - we could see the sea from our shower, what a great way to start the day. Breakfast is healthy and delicious. Communal areas were a delight to spend time in: fresh, comfortable and had an instantly relaxing effect on you the moment you set foot in the door after a day out in the city. This place has so many merits but among them, the staff were legendary. The owners are fun, friendly and make thoughtful and apt recommendations and bookings for you. All the staff are tremendously attentive and keen to ensure that you really enjoy your stay in Cape Town; we left feeling very spoilt indeed. Would absolutely recommend this place - go there and stay as long as you can!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

I absolutely loved staying in this hotel!!!! The staff did an amazing job especially since I stayed there during the world cup. They helped us arrange everything. The rooms are very nice and clean. The decor is very stylish and trendy, You wouldnt believe the size of the bathrooms. The breakfast selection never gets boring.

You truly feel relaxed staying in this place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnaLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The staff at this B & B are very pleasant and helpful, however the room we stayed in was very noisy on the side our room was located. In the early morning, before 6.45am the noise from cleaning staff arriving was awful. We were not sure if this was from the house next door as this is so close to the room, but annoying at the very least.
The room decor is beige and bland. The bare minimum is in this room. We have stayed in other B & B's in the same area which offer just a few more little luxuries and have lovely welcoming decor.
However it is a very clean room and comfortable bed.
The breakfast is good and the waiter very pleasant.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 4 if you can help it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RooDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeStandard, Owner at Cape Standard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear RooDurban

We sincerely regret the concerns expressed regarding your stay with us. However, we appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to give us feedback in this regard.

The Cape Standard is located in a very quiet street and, in particular Room 4, which is located on the side of the hotel. Our staff arrive at 7:30 and are aware that guest needs should be respected at all time. As you have suggested, it may have been from the neighbour's side, although we have previously not experienced a similar problem. I will certainly take this up with them to ensure that there is no repeat occurrence. It's regrettable that you did not report this to us at the time so that we could have taken immediate action.

The Cape Standard is decorated in a very specific style, which is a deliberate choice of the owners. We trust that our website gives a clear indication of this and, specifically, we receive very positive feedback from the majority of our guests regarding the décor styling of the Cape Standard. However, we fully appreciate that interior styling is a matter of personal taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Cape Standard has an excellent and quiet location. It is kept very clean and the living room area was filled with gorgeous flowers, candles and soft music. There is a beautiful garden patio that is the idyllic setting for breakfast, lounging with a book, and even an afternoon siesta. Waking up to the delicious breakfast and fresh juice was delightful. The beds are super comfortable and the showers had pretty decent and hot water flow. Everything is very professional, quiet, and calm.

Beyond the charming atmosphere, Margot, the manager, is the MOST helpful guide! She gave us fantastic restaurant and wine farm recommendations, travel tips, taxi numbers, and directions. She was an incredible resource of the very best information and was always patient, kind, and fun to talk with. Every bit of advice she gave us was spot on.

This is my first Trip Advisor review...I have traveled to many places in the world, but Margot (and the Cape Standard) treated us so well that I finally signed up just to give them praise. There is no doubt that if I went back to Cape Town, I would definitely stay here again. Thank you, Margot!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Cape Standard Guesthouse have a very hospitable Management Team. The Manager Margot spares no effort to make our stay comfortable and impressive. She organised wonderfull tours trough the Cape Town Area and was our adviser about the area !! And the others , so as the Owner David and assistent Rudi were absolutely helpfull, perfect !!

Room Tip: We had room number 6 and that was a comfortable room, we don't know anything about the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Cape Standard is a lovely Guesthouse we very nice rooms, lovely and helpful staff and great breakfast! We had a wonderful stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voile_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great and quiet location, nice rooms and an absolutely amazing service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,460 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,900 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bayflowers Guest House
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
309 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Standard

Address: 3 Romney Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £72 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Standard 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Standard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Standard Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing