We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Boutique at its BEST!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Boutique at its BEST!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We recently spent a few weeks in and around Cape Town and were Lucky enough to Stay at the Cape Cadogan Hotel.
Its a charming little boutique Hotel which is sooooo central to everything in Cape Town.

Our room was spacious and light with beautiful little balcony overlooking the courtyard,
The staff were sincere, friendly and willing to help with anything and everything- (including helping us change all our onwards flights after the airlines messed everything up) .

Breakfast was delicious every morning and the kitchen ladies were always warm and friendly and knew exactly what we liked.

Best of all is that this Hotel is as centrally located in the "real" Cape Town! Everything is close and we will always go back to the Cape cadogan

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller810223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    117
    19
    12
    1
See reviews for
50
498
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

we stayed at The Cape Cadogan on two occasions and were thrilled with its charm, location, service & food. Our first room was tiny though comfortable and we had a great view of Lion's Head. Our 2nd room was much larger and had a view of the courtyard as well as Table Mountain. This boutique hotel has several beautiful sitting areas downstairs (indoors & out) which are made even more enjoyable each afternoon when they put out complimentary treats & spirits for guests to enjoy. Breakfast was included in our package and the spread was fantastic - it offered something for everyone. Less than a block away there are two very nice grocery stores, shopping and a few night clubs including the very hip & trendy Asoka (we went on a Tuesday and it was packed with runway models, plus they had an awesome DJ). Finally, the service was fantastic. The staff was extremely attentive, friendly & eager to help with suggestions, transportation, etc. One drawback is the wireless internet only appeared to work downstairs...and they weren't able to get ESPN on TV so we missed the Super Bowl, but you're in Cape Town! Who cares!?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthIsThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

I have to start by saying how friendly and welcoming Ashley was when making the reservations. The rest of the staff proved to be equally as pleasant and helpful when it came to any questions or requests. We were totally thrilled when upon arrival my brother and sister-in-law were shown to the owners suite. They couldn't believe their good fortune! We made good use of the private patio and pool and even invited our other friends who were also staying at the hotel over for drinks so they could share the fun.

My room in the main hotel was lovely also. Beautiful high ceilings, great decor and bath products that can't be beat. The breakfasts were a real treat and to be able to enjoy them in the beautiful outdoor courtyard area when it was minus 20 degrees celcius at home with 2 feet of snow made it all the more enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed at the Cape Cadogan for three nights in February. We chose the hotel for its convenient location near to the city and also Camps Bay and the coast. The service in the hotel was very friendly and helpful - we appreciated being able to leave our bags after check out and have showers before our evening flight. The breakfast was very good and overall the hotel was very convenient for our purposes. Our one major criticism would be that the rooms, whilst very comfortable, are really in need of a refurb. The furniture is very standard and overall the rooms are not as luxurious as their website suggests.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aikens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Lovely bed and breakfast in the heart of Cape Town. Staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was memorable. I believe our room was one of the largest and it was fantastic. The beds were very comfortable and linens impeccable. Had our own private balcony. Highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back again.

Stayed January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

ttp://www.morehotels.co.za/cape_cadogan/about_cape_cadogan

We picked the Cape Cadogan from the recommendation of Formers. The short version of this review: amazing boutique hotel, great breakfast, fantastic rooms, helpful staff, looks exactly like the online pictures. Would ABSOLUTELY return!!

Our first thought was what a lovely Victorian looking home with a crisp white exterior. The front guard (as all nice hotels in South Africa have) let us in. My first thoughts were how lovely. Passing through the front entrance on the right side was the common living room area. Beautifully adorned. High ceilings, large couches and a fireplace. A door next to the outdoor common area. This area was a great place to enjoy in the evening. In the evening prior to dinner, an assortment of sherry and port to drink and nuts and chocolate to indulge. One night we sat with another couple prior to dinner and later in the evening we enjoy the room to ourselves, cracking the door for some fresh air and still enjoying the fireplace.

Continuing to the small front desk, we could hear the relaxing chic music in the back ground. The front desk person directed us to the less formal sitting area to sit and have some homemade mint lemonade and a mini muffin while they check on our room. This room had some interesting art on the wall, there was a library wall and a common computer for guests to use.

While we relaxed after our drive in from the airport, we explored the other common area, the outdoor common area and the breakfast area. The outside area has a small pool (it was too cool when we visited to enjoy) with lounge chair with cushions and towels at the foot. The Breakfast area was with white linens. In the morning, when arriving to breakfast, the wait staff would bring you tea or coffee, there was a very extensive continental breakfast buffet which included a variety of pastries, cheese and meats, fresh cut and whole fruit, yogurt, cereal. Then there is a sit down menu! The breakfast was really fantastic! Take a piece of fruit for your travels during the day.

Now to the rooms, and remembering that this boutique hotel only has 12 rooms (I think that is the exact number). We had the first room at the top of the stairs. I cannot remember if this was a luxury room compared to their standard room. Very large spacious room. The bathroom had wonderful toiletries including the room spray (which I wish I had taken with me). Our bathrobes we waiting for us. The shower was wonderful, plus had a double head (one on each side of the shower creating a waterfall for your shower. Also a double sink.

In the room the bed was dressed with wonderful white lines. Each of us had our own bedside tables. There was a small desk are to write. At the base of the bed was a lovely sitting table with candles (I couldn’t find the matches at first so ask …they were in the bedside drawer) there was a personalized note welcoming us. There was a bowel of fruit (but after your first night either eat it or put it away off the table, we didn’t and they removed it out of the room after tidying the room the next morning) there was also a decanted bottle of port wine for our enjoyment during our stay (that was left for the entire visit). Very large closets to unpack you things.

We had double French doors that opened to our private terrace. On the terrace we had another sitting area. From our room we had a view of table mountain!

Few other tips on this area: have the front desk call you a cab and get the business card of the cab company (they are very reasonable). ALWAYS have a cab driver run the meter. ALWAYS ask the front desk were it is safe to walk ESPECIALLY at night. Great restaurants include: African Café, Opal Lounge, Aubergine.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASTmish137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

The hotel has a great look. Our room was really big with a cute little patio with views of table mt. and our bathroom was really nice too. Breakfast was yummy. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Daniel was extra special and was eager to make our stay wonderful. There are a few shops and places to eat close to the hotel, but you will need to take a taxi to most attractions.

If you are going to go on Safari too while you are in SA, I highly recommend another hotel in their group, Lion Sands.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing