We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous guest house with 5 star service”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous guest house with 5 star service”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Cape Cadogan is a lovely hotel in an idyllic setting. However, what truly sets this hotel apart is a genuine commitment to customer service. From early check-in, to help getting around town, to accomodating special requests for breakfast - no request was denied! Great hotel & highly recomended.

Room Tip: Go for the room upgrade - they are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tewilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    118
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
53
517
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We spent the first four nights of our two-week visit to South Africa here & couldn't have wished for a more perfect start. From our early arrival at 9am when Daen & the lovely ladies who cook provided us with pancakes while our room was prepared, to the moment we checked out, it was the staff as much as the surroundings that made it such a great place to stay.

Our room was spacious with a small deck area looking out to Table Mountain. Each night we had hot water bottles in bed - most welcome! - along with a lovely tasty treat in a jar & a bottle of water. There were decanters of sherry & port in the room too. Each evening in the lounge there were canapés, rice crackers & divine chocolates to try. It was a lovely room to have a nightcap in before bed.

Breakfast was a fantastic buffet of fresh juice, pastries, cereal, meats & cheese + a choice of cooked to order dishes. The omelets were wonderful & we found it all so substantial we didn't need lunch.

All the above is really what you expect in a boutique hotel though, however, it was the team that work there that the hotel owners should be proud of. They are what made the stay so perfect. Daen booked tickets for Table Mountain, Robben Island & gave us heaps of advice on walking the city, plus chasing up our hire car that 'vanished'. The lady who worked when he didn't (sorry I forget your name) was so kind when my husband felt ill one evening - even getting indigestion tablets for him. All the ladies who cooked, cleaned & the guys outside were just so full of smiles & made you feel very 'at home'.

We hope to return to CT again one day & will certainly stay at the Cape Cadogan.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulubelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

we spent in the Cape Cadogan hotel the first three nights of our honeymoon, and our choice couldn't be better. the hotel is perfectly located in the Gardens area, quiet in the evening, from where you can easily reach both the cableway for the table mountain (5 minutes by car) and downtown (5 minutes by car or 15-20 on foot). the hotel provides also a parking lot for cars.
our room was large and clean, the forniture was good, creating a simple colonial atmosphere; it had a pleasant balcony with a nice view over the table mountain. even if located on the road side of the building, the room was very silent.
the room service was excellent, and made twice a day (normal cleaning during the morning and a second pass during dinner time (and this one was very welcome, since they used to leave a small sweet on the bedside and a hot water bottle under the linen to warm the bed). the staff in general was always smiling and attentive, taking care of everything we might need.
breakfast time was probably the best we had during our entire honeymoon, being the buffet rich and tasty, and the a-la-carte menù delicious, well prepared and filling.
this is definitely a perfect choice for a holiday in cape town!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k1Ara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel (Owners villa). Everything was perfect. The hotel is very clean and charming. The breakfast is perfect. Good restaurants in walking distance from the hotel Thank to all the staff for making our stay in Capetown so perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sootafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The location is very good. The hotel is small, clean, friendly and helpful stuff, nice decoratet... nothing to complain. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosarot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful 4 days in Cape Town. This hotel is so nice we would have been happy to spend the day in our room! When we return we will definitely book here. The staff was so helpful, freindly and accomodating that "service" was raised to a new level.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfool0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We spent four nights at this hotel at the beginning of the honeymoon. It was perfect. Although not right in the centre of the City it feels like a safe area and it is walkable.
The hotel staff are so helpful and polite, and the common rooms are beautifully decorated. Our apartment was spacious and had everything we needed, and more! Breakfast was always delicious and there was so much to choose from.
I cannot rate the Cape Cadogan highly enough. If you want to be really looked after in beautiful surroundings this is the perfect place. It got our honeymoon off to a great start and we will never forget it.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so special :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, South African Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing