We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell on our feet here”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We arrived tired after an over night flight from London, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely and the two lounges a lovely place to sit and chat.

The hotel is very well situated for access into the city centre, so we could walk in and out very easily.

When they found out we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary we were offered an upgrade. We weren't too sure we could be bothered to mo Bve - but the team were insistent and offered to move our things for us. Well, who could say no to that. Everything moved really nicely - and later that evening our room was decorated - which was really appreciated by my wife for all the trouble I had gone to. Needless to say I kept quiet that I had done nothing at all!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and appreciated all the help we were given.

The breakfast room is done out charmingly - a real haven of peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Cape Cadogan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mores Quarters Hotel in Sept 2011,and were very impressed. The staff was absolutely wonderful. The breakfast they provide was more then we ever expected. The place is close to all your needs. Highly recommended.
The Leddys

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOSEPH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at Cape Cadogan for 4 nights and we were so very pleased with our accomodations.After our long flight we were met with cool drinks and cookies while the reception gentleman gave us a brief orientation to the area. The four of us stayed in two units and each was unique and very comfortable. Not only were the furnishings attractive but the little 'extra' touches added to our enjoyment such as fully stocked bookshelves with lots of information about the area,nice cozy robes and slippers, hot water bottles in our bed at night plus every surface was sparkling clean.The breakfasts were exceptionally good with attentive and friendly service. We fell in love with Southern Africa and when we return we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanmarie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Cape Cadogan was our base for 5 nights in Cape Town and it was thoroughly enjoyable. It is a beautiful, small hotel with a very personal, professional touch. The staff provided excellent assistance with our daily planning. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was superb. It location was great; we walked to local restaurants and enjoyed a pint at the adjacent Van Hunk's while looking at Table Mountain. Our only complaint was the noise. We were in room #1 which is closest to the lobby and on the first floor. We could hear every footstep from the room above us as well as noise from the lobby. We asked to be moved but no other rooms were available. Fortunately, we found our solution with the airline earplugs! We would definitely stay here again but would ask for a quieter room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor and away from the lobby.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Having done a heap of research on the web we settled on Cape Cadogan for our accommodation in Cape Town as it is connected to a lodge we were going to stay at. However it turned out the lodge couldn't fit our times, but we decided to continue with the Cadogan accommodation. After a mammoth flight from Australia to Cape Town we arrived out the front of CC and just knew it was what we wanted. Being greeted by Daen and invited to relax a little before being shown to our room was just the start. Looking forward to our room, we were shown to the "Owners Villa", with our own pool, lounge, kitchen and huge bed. This was sensational. Everything was provided in our home away from home. All the staff were friendly and at the end of our 5 day stay, we felt part of the Cadogan family. The breakfasts were so enjoyable with Monica always greeting us with a warm smile and excellent food. Cape Cadogan has that WOW factor and we were so overwhelmed by the Owners Villa. It is quiet, spotless and on returning to the Owners Villa each night, our huge bed, with crisp white linen, was turned down, along with hot water bottles to take the chill away. All the team were sincerely friendly and instantly recognised us each night after a day out, with a warm welcome back, thanks Chris you hold a special place in our hearts. Dahn and Megan always assisted us during our stay and nothing was too much trouble. Evening drinks around the fire were special times. When dining out each night, many restaurant staff would ask where we were staying and the CC has a sensational reputation in Cape Town. Would we stay there again? - absolutely. We spent 6 weeks in Southern Africa and this was a highlight. We are so pleased to have stayed at Cape Cadogan. Thanks to you all for making the beginning of our Southern Africa holiday so memorable.

Room Tip: Try for the Owners Villa, it is out of this world
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were originaly booked into More Apartments, the adjoining hotel run by the same company, but on arrival were told that because they could not offer us an early check-in as requested, they had upgraded us to the Owner's Villa in Cape Cadogan. After an overnight flight we were even more dazed as we were shown around the palatial apartment - on two floors, two enormous rooms each with luxury ensuite bathrooms, a huge sitting/dining room and kitchen - AND our own plunge pool in a private courtyard. This was our first trip to Cape Town and what an impression it made. The staff are also very helpful and friendly, including Henrietta whose advice to us each time we asked if an area was safe to walk around in was `just don't look too jittery!'. Each morning breakfast was a treat. Our only (slight) complaint is that the hotel refers to a taxi firm they use as `the shuttle' - which gives the impression it is a free, regular service. It is not, and rather more expensive than the local taxis you can hire just on the same street.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

You feel at home as soon as you arrive, treated with a mixture of friendly hospitality and professionalism. The building helps by being stylish and welcoming at the same time. We only intended to stay for three nights but came back for a second stay of three nights at the end of our holiday.
Highlights include the incredible breakfasts and the evening chocolate and sherry in the reception area. All the staff were helpful and full of advice (Daen particularly so).
Not least the rates are very reasonable with the value-add of being conveniently located for discovering downtown of CPT.

Room Tip: Every room is comfortable, well-appointed and quiet
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chatmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,057 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,847 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,281 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £191 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing