We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Quarters - More than Happy”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More Quarters - More than Happy”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in February. First time to this establishment and it most definitely won't be our last. This "extension" to Cape Cadogan is a lovely selection of suites in one of the best locations in Cape Town. The suites are delightful, fresh, open and modern. Breakfast is served in the upstairs room above reception and the view, Table Mountain, in all it's glory. A fantastic start to any day. Breakfast, hot and cold, provides more than enough to begin your busy tourist days. What a location for good restaurants in Kloof Street area. Absolutely marvellous. At night there was no need to go into the city centre, everything was on your doorstep. What a great place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    119
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
53
519
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Having booked to stay in the hotel we were offered apartments at no extra cost when it was discovered the hotel was full. I cannot say how pleased we were with everything from the cleanliness of the apartment to the delightful breakfast to the helpfulness of the staff. Whilst staying in Capetown it was my sons wedding and whatever we asked for, nothing was too much trouble. The staff arranged for a hairdresser to visit the apartment, the apartments were re-arranged to accommodate our son and the best man the night before the wedding and they were so happy for us on the day it felt like we were staying with family. The hotel is well situated and tickets for any sightseeing we wanted to do were arranged by the staff and ready for us by the time we had finished our breakfast. Thank you to everyone for making our visit to Capetown so special and so very welcoming.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know what your requirements are. We asked for quiet rooms next to each other which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

- Elegant & charming hotel, with appetizers served for guests
- beautiful room with very luxury bathroom (biggest shower I have ever had in my life)
- nice and professional staff
- good location in a quiet street with parking
- complementary bottle of champagne for our honeymoon
- excellent breakfast

Room Tip: stayed in the main building, which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al3xh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Cape Cadogan was excellent in many respects. The quality of the service, the location and the rooms themselves were all outstanding. The proximity to Kloof Street meant that we had a wide range of restaurants to choose and were only 10 minutes from the central area. As a hotel in Cape Town, it is difficult to imagine a better recommendation

Room Tip: Choose a garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A five star experience, in an undersated and personal way. Excellent location, walking distance of most of the City sights. We recommend room two especially for the chandelier alone!! The staff were efficient and very helpful, even finding the right TV channel for me to watch Wales beating Scotland!! The breakfasts excellent, again the staff were great. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Cape Cadogan (upgraded from the More Park, their sister hotel) for 4 days. The hotel was delightful- the staff were exceptional and extremely helpful in every way, the room was large and comfortable, breakfast delicious, lots of nice little extras from the South African sherry in the living room, to the toffee by the bedside. Location was just a short taxi from the centre of town and away from the hustle and bustle.

The hotel was such an improvement on the terrible, expensive, tacky corporate hotels in the centre of town.

The only small negative- some of the pieces of furniture in the bedroom could be improved.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I have read complaints about noise, not our room which was absolutely silent with a cute terrace ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_J_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

More personal than a chain hotel, the Cape Cadogan made us welcome and wishing we could stay longer. Many dining options in the area, but many of the Cape Town sights are a fair walking distance. Room was very comfortable and staff helped us with parking, luggage and made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing