We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel experience in Cape Town, great value !!!!”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great boutique hotel experience in Cape Town, great value !!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stay at the Cadogan in Cape Town. Stunning room, great service, classic boutique hotel experience and great value. We will be back. Sincere thanks

Room Tip: As you go up the stairs, we stayed in the room directly at the top of the stairs at the end of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    119
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
54
522
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Having visited my son who was working in Durban he encouraged me to visit Capetown before flying back to the U.K. I was a little hesitant to travel on my own but I needn't have worried as More Quarters was absolutely wonderful. Firstly, I was upgraded and the staff were so helpful and courteous. The appartment was lovely and breakfasts really delicious. I used the free shuttle to the Waterfront several times and all the staff were very informative and friendly. In the afternoons it was lovely to come back to some tea and homemade cookies in front of a lovely log fire. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to families,couples and single travellers alike

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were 3 couples visiting Capetown for the first time. It was a great location in the city bowl. Close to good restaurants, stores, etc. The service was excellent. The breakfast was very good. I would stay here again. We stayed in an apartment with three ensuite bedrooms, a great living room, kitchen and outdoor space including a pool, although it was a little cool to use the pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boone52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had three nights at the Cape Cadogan recently in late May. We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were caring and very considerate, starting from the welcome at the front desk to the lovely ladies serving the wonderful breakfasts. Our room was comfortable and homely. The hotel is very well located in a safe area just off the popular Kloof Street, which has lots of pubs and restaurants close by within easy walking distance. Also, the Cape Town waterfront is only about 10-15 mins away by taxi. A nice touch on returning at night was to find a warm fire in the lounge along with port and sherry decanters and some little snacks. Staying at a charming and friendly hotel like the Cape Cadogan is an experience – an experience you never have at one of the non-descript chain hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraGrizzlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The service and rooms at the Cape Cadogan / More Quarters were wonderful. First off, the location, on Kloof Street, can't be beat. There were great restaurants within 5 minutes walk and we could get all the way downtown in 15 minutes walk. It is also conveniently near Table Mountain, with good parking.

We got upgraded to the More Quarters which was a beautiful suite, with hardwood floors and expansive living room and bathroom. The dinner recommendations that Wisdom gave us were fabulous.

In terms of service, our dates got all fouled up because of some visa issues in London. The Cape Cadogan was very generous and accommodating in shifting our dates free of charge, even though our changes were last minute. They could not have been more helpful or supportive.

If we go back to Cape Town, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As for More Quarters, if you would like a wonderfully appointed private suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The greeting was first class when we arrived room excellent breakfests first class professional and friendly service we have been to cape town before and stayed at bigger and more expensive hotels the cadogan would be our preffered choice next time

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Cape Cadogan for 4 nights. The staff were really friendly and accomodating. The staff even decorated our room one night with rose petals and left us champagne because we were there on our honeymoon. The room we stayed in was really large and it had it's own private patio on the first floor. The location is great and we walked everywhere. The V&A Waterfront is a little bit of a hike, but we walked a couple of times. There are tons of restaurants and shops within walking distance also. The breakfast was also tasty. The only reason I didn't give them a rating of 5 is because I had luke warm water every time I showered. This didn't seem to bother my husband, but I am someone who loves a hot shower in the morning and I could never get the water hot. Other than that, it was a great place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorita688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
527 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing