We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste, character and convenience”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Well located in the Garden District just north of the city Center, the Cape Cadogan is an elegant litle boutique hotel. If offers attentive service, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. The prices are reasonable - especially considering that they include free breakfast and internet service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Lovely hotel but ask to not be in a small room. Beautifully appointed with a cozy fire in the front room for leisurely visiting or reading. Wonderful breakfast options. We recommend highly.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank J D C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Our South Africa trip began with a four night stay at Cape Cadogan, and we could not have asked for a more warming welcome than the one we received from the charming hotel's staff. From warm touches like complementary pre-dinner port and canapes to more modern amenities like free wi-fi, the Cadogan provided an excellent balance of charm and convenience. Kinita and the rest of the team were terrifically accommodating with suggestions and reservations.

Its location is well-situated away from the city center bustle, but in an area in walking distance (daytime only, people!) from Long Street and the surrounding neighborhoods, providing a good mix of accessibility and escapism.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teschbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Cape Cadogan is a small, unassuming little charmer of a hotel. My wife and I had only the pleasure of staying there one night as we were leaving on a cruise the next day. The lobby was more like a friend's living room complete with food and beverage. Free wi-fi was provided in the room as well as a computer for guests use. We had a couple of problems to be handled (completely unrelated to Cape Cadogan) and the staff let us use their phone and printer to help solve our problems. The staff created an atmosphere of comfort and warmth as though we were cherished family visiting their home. I wanted a 200 Rand note as a souvenier; the desk clerk didn't have one, so she checked around until she found someone who did. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinewood81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our very first Africa experience was staying at the Cadogan and what a start! The staff was warm, inviting and accommodated our every wish included setting up cozy living room gatherings with fellow travelers. Some of our best memories of this trip center around the friends we made at the Cadogan over drinks and snacks. The hotel itself is a delightfully old home with all the charm of squeaky floors, high ceilings and understated elegance. Nearby restaurants were ethnically varied and offered equally delicious dishes. Safe neighborhood welcoming walkers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara Barrett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stay at the Cadogan in Cape Town. Stunning room, great service, classic boutique hotel experience and great value. We will be back. Sincere thanks

Room Tip: As you go up the stairs, we stayed in the room directly at the top of the stairs at the end of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Having visited my son who was working in Durban he encouraged me to visit Capetown before flying back to the U.K. I was a little hesitant to travel on my own but I needn't have worried as More Quarters was absolutely wonderful. Firstly, I was upgraded and the staff were so helpful and courteous. The appartment was lovely and breakfasts really delicious. I used the free shuttle to the Waterfront several times and all the staff were very informative and friendly. In the afternoons it was lovely to come back to some tea and homemade cookies in front of a lovely log fire. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to families,couples and single travellers alike

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank posinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,574 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,293 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town Central
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £184 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing