We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great hotel”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My husband and I began our South African honeymoon at The Cape Cadogan. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One night, we had our cab driver call the hotel in order to find out where a restaurant was located - they assisted with the request and helped us to get to the location. Breakfast every morning was delicious. Free wifi, and chocolate and heating pads before bedtime were also a bonus! I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had no idea what to expect when we got to Cape Town, after a long, long journey, which began in Toronto, Canada, but were very pleasantly surprised when we were greeted so warmly by the staff at More Quarters with a cocktail! The service throughout our 4-day stay was impeccable..... the staff couldn't have done more to make our stay/first visit to Africa, more amazing! The breakfast room, with its view of Table Mountain, was gorgeous, and the food left nothing to be desired! Our "Quarters" was another big, and very pleasant surprise - huge, spacious and well appointed. The sherry and port by the fireplace at night was an additional bonus! Great staff, great breakfasts, great accommodations = amazing vacation! Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Great position just off Kloof street, easy walk to bars and restaurant, fairly safe. We were lucky enough to stay in the owners villa, it is as great as mentioned before in reviews. Very spacious with outdoor area with pool and sun beds.
Breakfast o.k , staff excellent. Will definitely stay next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We arrived on Friday after a long flight from Heathrow via Jo-burg to find this little Hotel in a side street away from the main tourist area, what a wonderful place, clean, tidy, great rooms (ours was room 2) with fantastic breakfast. The staff were excellent and could not help enough. Nothing was too much. We spent a total of five nights with The Cape Cadogan and would definitely stay with them on our return to Cape Town. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had 5 wonderful days at the Cape Cadogan. The presidential suite is not just a suite but the villa next door complete with kitchen, huge sitting area, dining table and two fireplaces which are good on cooler evenings. Upstairs is the bedroom and bathroom. The villa comes with your own entrance as well as own garden and plunge pool. On top of the beautiful settings comes the magnificent staff. Daen and his colleagues at the reception as well as Hilda and her colleagues for breakfast are all what makes this place special and deserves the highest recommendation. If we are ever back in Cape Town is will be our choice. This is really boutigue to the fullest meaning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPHworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

5* Hotel quality in a period guest house
Staff to customers ratio 1 - 2
Room 8 has everything you would expect in a 5* suite
Very secure with 24hr porter and only a short safe walk to lively bars and resteraunts
Well done and I am sure we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

It was our first time in South Africa and the welcome at the Cape Cadogan was warm and welcoming. The hot water bottle on our first night was very welcome and a great surprise. The breakfasts were wonderful and the staff could not be more helpful.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town.
Thank you very much Cape Cadogan for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,098 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town
459 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,802 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: £171 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing