We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic Tiny Hotel in the Heart of Cape Town”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Chic Tiny Hotel in the Heart of Cape Town”
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Overall, an excellent stay. The decor of this small hotel is simple, clean, crisp and white. The staff is very helpful - especially the ladies who serve breakfast. And, the breakfast is top notch. The location is very good. The pool is very small, but that was not an issue for us as we were so busy exploring Cape Town. I would go back.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreaming_of_Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    118
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
53
516
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We spent 6 nights in what we belive to be one of the best hotels in Cape Town, The staff were fantasic and the hotel was superb
from the smallest little thing to the complementary Sherry or Port at night. We realy cannot recomend this hotel more highly.

Thanks to all .

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ianskinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

Step back in time for a service second to none.
A small Boutique Hotel full of old fashioned charm.
This is a B&B hotel and does not offer lunch or dinner so might not suit all tastes.
6pm every day sees Port and Sherry together with chocolates and nibbles available in the lounge area free of charge.
Return to your room at night and find the blinds drawn, bed covers turned down, a chocolate on the pillow , a bottle of water with a glass on the bed side table and finally a slip cloth on the carpet placed so that your feet are on the cloth as you get in and out of bed.
We arrived early after an over night flight of 12 hrs and were made comfortable in the lounge with complimentary refreshments as we waited for our room to be readied.
We had to book out by 11 am yet our flight pick-up was not scheduled till 5pm. Complimentary refreshments were provided.
A cancelled tour saw the reception staff going all out to find us a place on a similar tour with another company successfully.
My wife and I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and its staff.
It is close to small restaurants which offer a variety of food from Pizza. Sea Food, Oriental and Bistro.
Food is cheap in Cape Town together with accommodation. Taxi's however are expensive due to the high price of fuel.

  • Liked — Great Service. The view of table mountain as you go to breakfast.
  • Disliked — Only had 3 days to enjoy it
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oldtrave1ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

We enjoyed four nights at the Cape Cadogan at the beginning of March- it was wonderful. From the minute you walked through the door you were made to feel at home. A welcome cold drink and then a tour of the hotel followed. Cape Cadogan is in a small side street off a busy road but you feel a million miles away from civilisation once you walk in through the doors.It is themed on the Irish literary figure Oscar Wilde its main rooms although only small exude a comfortable, luxurious atmosphere, filled with vases of fresh flowers. Our room at the front of the property had the most amazing bathroom with beautiful products to pamper yourself with. Breakfast was a treat with very attentive staff and this could be enjoyed on the patio near the pool or indoors. The hotel also offered full internet access which was very useful. Every effort was made by the staff to book trips ,offer recommendations and arrange any requests made by travellers. On our departure day we had to vacate our room by 11am but weren't being collected until 6pm for our trip to the airport we were fortunate to be able to have another room to ourselves so that we could shower and change ,with no cost. One point of note if you don't have a car and you want to get to the Waterfront taxis are easy to use at a cost of around 50 rand ( under four pound) Also a must do .Use the Hop on ,hop off sightseeing bus its super and if its a clear day go up Table Mountain.Well done Cape Cadogan hopefully we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Denise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

Booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. Whilst the general areas of the hotel are quite nice it was the room that really disappointed. We were "upgraded" to luxury room no. 3. The room had stained coir flooring that was really tired looking and hell under foot. The mattress was hard and cheap and the pillows were synthetic hollow fibre and really not comfortable at all. I can forgive just about any problem in a hotel if their bedding is at least top-notch - here it was not the case. Besides the bedding the room was really 90's in its decor with cheap finishes and furniture - hardly what you call luxury. On a positive note, the staff were very friendly.
You can do a lot better in Cape Town.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank richskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

Stayed on the way home for our last night in Cape Town. This hotel has had faulous reviews so we were looking forward to the stay. Its in a great location for shops and restuarants but isn't a very touristy area (great, in our opinion!!).

The ground floor of this hotel is really fabulously decorated, absolutely stunning. Small plunge pool area is a bonus too. However - the bedroom was terribly disappointing. Our room cost €220 B&B for the night and it was definitely NOT worth it. The bathroom door didn't even close (and it wasn't designed to).

Breakfast was mayhem. The restaurant is far too small and the tables are literally on top of each other. There is little or no room to move around the buffet either and we had to ask for service. Not great.

Also Reception closes quite early and we had to stand outside and shout in the locked door for 10 mins on returning from dinner to get in - and it was only 9.30pm!!!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2008

We've spent 2 nights at this gorgeous boutique hotel which was our first stop on a 3 weeks journey in South Africa. We arrived tired from 11 hour flight from London and were offered refreshements while our room was prepared for us. We had luxury suite N8 with fantastic views over the mountains - the room was stunning , spacious and bathed in light coming from numerous windows and the bathroom was the hugest and most stylysh I've ever seen (and we've travelled the world). Totally decadent, paved with Travertine marble, with a bath, two showers... I could happily live in that bathroom. On St. Valentine's day we couldn't believe our eyes when we walked into our room after dinner - there were candles everywhere, rose petals and candles in the bathroom and a bottle of champagne on ice - the scene would make Hollywood jealous! Our only regret is that our stay was too short. I wouldn't stay anywhere else next time I am in Capetown.

  • Liked — Stunning decor, attention to details, breathtaking bathroom
  • Disliked — No WiFi
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Motienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing