We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars Isn't Enough”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our 5 nights in Cape Town and couldn't have asked for anything better. While there are hotels with nicer rooms and closer to city center, there is not a single place that can touch the service quality of More Quarters. The staff was super attentive, bent over backwards to ensure our stay was great and had nothing buy phenomenal suggestions for places to eat. When we make it back to Cape Town, we would have no reservations about staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattG920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Cape Cadogan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

Nice small hotel on outskirts of city centre area is very comfortable with tantalising views of table mountain and adjacent to Kloof street which leads to vibrant Long street. Great breakfast, but too small to have its own restaurant

Room Tip: Luxury room with large en-suite (room 4) was very good
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Just left the Cape Cadogan. What a treat! Every member of the staff went out of their way to make you feel special. They could not do enough. Insisted that they make dinner reservations for the 5 nights we were there the moment we arrived - all about the food - and their recommendations were great. We had Room 3 which had a fabulous bathroom and private courtyard with a fountain. Only complaint was it was near the kitchen and you could hear a hit of noise at 6AM when the kitchen workers arrived.

We had stayed at Tinga Narina for 3 nights before arriving in CT. Another MORE fabulous property. We could never ask for MORE!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronaldmelincoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Cape Cadogan at the start of our honeymoon. The service was incredible. The staff, the beautiful decor, the lovely suite and the extra special honeymoon touches made for a great experience. I do understand other peoples concern about the traffic noise, it was noticeable, but the guest house is so beautiful I wouldn't let the traffic noise deter you. it was so much more enjoyable to stay in this boutique guest house as oppose to a mainstream high rise hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had a thoroughly enjoyable 5 night stay in this small, chic hotel. Exceptionally helpful staff whose recommendations for restaurants, routes etc were spot on and who booked attractions, taxis etc instantly. Great breakfasts; complimentary sherry and canapes early evening. A shuttle was available to take guests to the Waterfront in the evenings. The area felt secure and security staff kept an eye on our car. All Cape Town attractions were a short drive away. Our one niggle- we could have done with a couple of easy chairs in our room. Those who want Grand Hotel facilities might prefer to look elsewhere. Those who, like us, prefer friendly, responsive and intimate accommodation need look no further.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lampedusa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The wonderfull little hotel is everyhing the traveler could hope for. We as a couple felt like we very visiting the old Africa you read about, but with all the mod-cons such as AC, we knew we didn't have to worry about anything. The staff was friendly and they were also very helpful at find us a place along the Garden Route. Please read our other reviews!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a fantastic holiday in South Africa and we started our trip by staying in Cape Town at the Cape Cadogan for three nights. It was a wonderful experience. We arrived early and although our rom was not ready, they allowed us to visit the sister hotel adjoins so we could freshen up after the journey.

Our room was amazing, very large with a stunning bathroom and a balcony with a view of Table Mountain. The staff were so helpful, suggesting restaurants and places to visit and making all the bookings for us. The breakfasts were scrumptious and we were able to enjoy them in the lovely courtyard.

They provide a shuttle bus to take you to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront and pick you up later. Each day they left a wether forecast for the next day in our room so we could plan our day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. You will be really spoilt during you stay. It is very central too with lots of places to eat. We really enjoyed the meal we had at Nelson's Eye (close to the Mount Nelson hotel) quite basic but friendly and bubbly staff and possibly the best filet steak I have ever eaten

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudeComer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,056 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,281 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £191 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing