We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous house and exceptional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous house and exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were fortunate to spend a week of our honeymoon here and were blown away by the exceptional service we received at this beautiful hotel. The reception staff have been the friendliest we have met to date they went out of their ways to help prepare itineraries and bookings. Special mention to Dirk and Cemone who were super helpful and made our stay that extra special. Monica the chef was very sweet and made amazing pancakes and other breakfast foods that were off the menu. The weather was slightly cold at this time of year and we loved the hot water bottles in bed -it was a lovely touch. Thank you Cape Cadogan staff you are all amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShGx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk J, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you and your husband at Cape Cadogan! The guest relations team is always eager to assist and I am glad to hear that we could make your honeymoon special. Monica will be pleased to hear that her pancakes received a mention on Trip Advisor - thank you so much! It will be a pleasure to welcome you back – our home is your home.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    118
    19
    12
    1
See reviews for
50
504
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel staff are incredibly nice and helpful, they are not just "available" to help but they are always proactive in trying to make their guests' experience very special. Rooms are very comfortable and the hotel has a "house" feel, we truly enjoyed our stay and warmly recommend it

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk J, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Fabio,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We really enjoy reading about our guests experience and I hope that we will see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Second visit here in two years and cannot say anything bad about the hotel. We had room 8 which is upstairs and has a small balcony with views of table mountain. The room and bathroom were extremely spacious and very comfortable and the location of the hotel is superb for a wide variety of restaurants within easy walking distance. All the staff are eager to please but special mention must go to Simone who was like a ray of sunshine on some quite wet days when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leswor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk J, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
It is always a pleasure to welcome guests back to Cape Cadogan! Thank you for the great review, Cemone is indeed a ray of sunshine and I will pass these kind words on to her. I hope to welcome you back to Cape Cadogan in the future.

Kind Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This small boutique hotel was perfect for our Cape Town stay. The building is beautiful, but the staff sets this hotel apart from many of the others at which we have stayed. They were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The hotel is in a good location – away from the tourist crush but with convenient access to the major sights. One of the best things is the number of good restaurants within walking distance. These seem to be mostly family businesses with great food, in our view better than many of the big name restaurants that we also went to. Let the staff be your guide.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1. The room was a reasonable size, but the high ceilings made the room seem bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel staff are very helpful, attention to detail is exceptional,breakfast was delicious, rooms are big and the the main lounge area has a fire and canapes are served each night. A shuttle runs to the V&A waterfront and there are many restaurants to within safe walking distance for dinner. We stayed 4 nights in August 2013 just wonderful

Room Tip: Highly recommend rooms on level 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at The Cape Cadogan while touring South Africa and were delighted with it. It was our home while in Capetown and has a great location. Just a few steps away you can see Tabletop Mountain. There was a wonderful lounge to have drinks with our friends before setting off during the evening. The outdoor dining for breakfast was really pretty. The food was great !! Our room was perfect, bed was very comfortable and every night upon our return to the room we found a special treat waiting for us - every day it was different! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Capetown.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, every room had its' own merits, so I wouldn't recommend one over anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I spent four nights at The Cape Cadogan Hotel during May, 2013. It is a beautiful property that is well run and provides lovely service to travellers needing a home away from home. I had a deluxe room that offered plenty of space for the in-room therapist who gave me some beauty treatments during my stay. I was very happy with my stay and would recommend the hotel to others. The price was also extremely competitive for the type of establishment it is.
My only concern being a single and independent traveller is that walking around Cape Town is not exactly comfortable after dark. The hotels location is about 20 minutes walk from the waterfront and being a solo female traveller who is used to walking everywhere whilst travelling I did feel self conscious and not comfortable after dark. This meant that I was constantly using taxis for getting around town which are not expensive but meant that I was not able to get a good feel of the city. Because of this I would probably stay at the waterfront next time due to the security presence which meant that I felt more confident walking around with my camera equipment and getting to and from local waterfront restaurants during the evening.
The breakfast was fantastic and a great start to my full days of sight seeing. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and always able to offer great advice during my stay.

Room Tip: The room I was in was up some stairs and out the back. During the weekend it was a little noisy bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saminmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing