We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful place to stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delightful place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We booked in here as we were visiting the Cape to attend a family wedding. From start to finish the Cape Cadogan provided a high calibre service with extremely attentive staff who helped with all our needs during our stay. The hotel is delightful and offers all the old world charm and comforts that we desire on our travel s and I would have no difficulty recommending this to fellow travellers.

Helpful?
Thank HarareScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for the review and the recommendation! We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and to make our guests as comfortable as possible. I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    118
    19
    12
    1
See reviews for
50
504
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My new husband and I stayed here in early October for 4 days on our honeymoon. The hotel itself is very charming and quaint. The rooms are very nice and we enjoyed our balcony overlooking the street. Breakfast is delicious and we loved the evening drinks and snacks in the comfortable sitting rooms.

What makes this hotel spectacular, though, is it's wonderful staff. They were extremely welcoming to us at midnight when we arrived and at 5am when we left a few days later! They provided recommendations on restaurants and shopping and knew our daily tour itineraries before we even came down for breakfast in the morning! Thank you, Cape Cadogan staff, for your sharing your wonderful city of Cape Town with us on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Congratulations once again on your marriage! It was wonderful having you stay with us and I am pleased to hear that we could help make your honeymoon in Cape Town unforgettable . I look forward to your next visit to Cape Cadogan - our home is your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My daughter and I have just come back from our holiday here and we stayed at the Cape Cadogan. The hotel is so pretty, the staff are so helpful!! and the position is excellent. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Top Class.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickysevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
It was a pleasure reading your review! Thank for taking the time to do so - we strive to provide fantastic service and I am happy to hear that you experienced it as such. I hope to welcome you and your daughter back to Cape Cadogan soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here in mid September 2013 and had a fabulous stay.
The hotel is in a relatively quiet street but if you want real peace, try to get a room at the back.

The staff were all exemplary. They couldn't do enough for us. We got excellent advice about things to do in Cape Town, there was a roaring log fire in the lounge area, a laptop with internet access that was free for use by guests.

Breakfasts were top notch with fresh fruit, etc, etc and even a honeycomb to get our honey.

Our bedroom was very good. Big bed, hot water bottles at night ! Bathroom had a lovely shower and bath. Only niggle as with other hotels on our trip was finding plugs to put our electrical pieces to charge - they were difficult to find.

Overall this was a perfect start to our time in South Africa and Cape Cadogan rated as one of the best hotels during our holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewiltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for visiting us and thank you for the review! The front office strives to offer “better than first class” service - I am also glad that you liked our breakfast buffet and the fresh honeycomb.

Being a National Monument and dating back two centuries- Cape Cadogan cannot undergo extensive alterations, but we are looking into providing our guests with additional power sources in the rooms. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Cape Cadogan is ideally situated to explore all that Cape Town has to offer and is two minutes away from the restaurants and bars of Kloof St and a few minutes by car / taxi to Table Mountain. The hotel only has 14 rooms so feels more intimate, our room had a private terrace in the shadow of Table Mountain. The rooms are light and airy and nicely furnished. The staff are very obliging, there is free parking in the street outside the hotel and there is a security guard on site 24/7. There is a small pool, library and honesty bar for guests to use. The breakfasts are wonderful with both cold and hot selections.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rav4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk J, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We strive to be first class in everything we do - it is great to hear that you experienced as such. I hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed four nights at this lovely boutique hotel. Beautiful breakfasts, shuttle to town, and helpful staff made our stay as good as it gets. Our room was spacious, comfy bed and many little extras.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which was upstairs with a view of table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk J, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for this review! Our guest relations team tries their best and they will be thrilled to hear about this mention. We support local bee farmer, Mac form Mac's Honey, who supplies the best organic honey in the Cape! We hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were fortunate to spend a week of our honeymoon here and were blown away by the exceptional service we received at this beautiful hotel. The reception staff have been the friendliest we have met to date they went out of their ways to help prepare itineraries and bookings. Special mention to Dirk and Cemone who were super helpful and made our stay that extra special. Monica the chef was very sweet and made amazing pancakes and other breakfast foods that were off the menu. The weather was slightly cold at this time of year and we loved the hot water bottles in bed -it was a lovely touch. Thank you Cape Cadogan staff you are all amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShGx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk J, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you and your husband at Cape Cadogan! The guest relations team is always eager to assist and I am glad to hear that we could make your honeymoon special. Monica will be pleased to hear that her pancakes received a mention on Trip Advisor - thank you so much! It will be a pleasure to welcome you back – our home is your home.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing