We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, centrally located hotel”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We just returned to Los Angeles from 5 days at the wonderful Cape Cadogan Hotel. Beautiful, spacious bedrooms, inviting public spaces and a terrific location convenient to sightseeing, restaurants and shopping. Most impressive was the warm, professional staff (special thanks to Simone and Wisdom) who could not do enough to make our vacation special.
We look forward to a return visit in the near future!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Carly_CK130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review! Cemone and Wisdom will be pleased to hear that they could make your stay special - our guest relations team aim to make every guest feel as comfortable as possible. We would love to host you again in the future - our home is your home.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We booked in here as we were visiting the Cape to attend a family wedding. From start to finish the Cape Cadogan provided a high calibre service with extremely attentive staff who helped with all our needs during our stay. The hotel is delightful and offers all the old world charm and comforts that we desire on our travel s and I would have no difficulty recommending this to fellow travellers.

Thank HarareScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for the review and the recommendation! We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and to make our guests as comfortable as possible. I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My new husband and I stayed here in early October for 4 days on our honeymoon. The hotel itself is very charming and quaint. The rooms are very nice and we enjoyed our balcony overlooking the street. Breakfast is delicious and we loved the evening drinks and snacks in the comfortable sitting rooms.

What makes this hotel spectacular, though, is it's wonderful staff. They were extremely welcoming to us at midnight when we arrived and at 5am when we left a few days later! They provided recommendations on restaurants and shopping and knew our daily tour itineraries before we even came down for breakfast in the morning! Thank you, Cape Cadogan staff, for your sharing your wonderful city of Cape Town with us on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Congratulations once again on your marriage! It was wonderful having you stay with us and I am pleased to hear that we could help make your honeymoon in Cape Town unforgettable . I look forward to your next visit to Cape Cadogan - our home is your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My daughter and I have just come back from our holiday here and we stayed at the Cape Cadogan. The hotel is so pretty, the staff are so helpful!! and the position is excellent. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Top Class.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickysevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

It was a pleasure reading your review! Thank for taking the time to do so - we strive to provide fantastic service and I am happy to hear that you experienced it as such. I hope to welcome you and your daughter back to Cape Cadogan soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here in mid September 2013 and had a fabulous stay.
The hotel is in a relatively quiet street but if you want real peace, try to get a room at the back.

The staff were all exemplary. They couldn't do enough for us. We got excellent advice about things to do in Cape Town, there was a roaring log fire in the lounge area, a laptop with internet access that was free for use by guests.

Breakfasts were top notch with fresh fruit, etc, etc and even a honeycomb to get our honey.

Our bedroom was very good. Big bed, hot water bottles at night ! Bathroom had a lovely shower and bath. Only niggle as with other hotels on our trip was finding plugs to put our electrical pieces to charge - they were difficult to find.

Overall this was a perfect start to our time in South Africa and Cape Cadogan rated as one of the best hotels during our holiday

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewiltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for visiting us and thank you for the review! The front office strives to offer “better than first class” service - I am also glad that you liked our breakfast buffet and the fresh honeycomb.

Being a National Monument and dating back two centuries- Cape Cadogan cannot undergo extensive alterations, but we are looking into providing our guests with additional power sources in the rooms. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Cape Cadogan is ideally situated to explore all that Cape Town has to offer and is two minutes away from the restaurants and bars of Kloof St and a few minutes by car / taxi to Table Mountain. The hotel only has 14 rooms so feels more intimate, our room had a private terrace in the shadow of Table Mountain. The rooms are light and airy and nicely furnished. The staff are very obliging, there is free parking in the street outside the hotel and there is a security guard on site 24/7. There is a small pool, library and honesty bar for guests to use. The breakfasts are wonderful with both cold and hot selections.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rav4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk J, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We strive to be first class in everything we do - it is great to hear that you experienced as such. I hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed four nights at this lovely boutique hotel. Beautiful breakfasts, shuttle to town, and helpful staff made our stay as good as it gets. Our room was spacious, comfy bed and many little extras.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which was upstairs with a view of table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk J, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for this review! Our guest relations team tries their best and they will be thrilled to hear about this mention. We support local bee farmer, Mac form Mac's Honey, who supplies the best organic honey in the Cape! We hope to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,100 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town
460 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,802 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: £171 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing