We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have recently had the wonderful experience of staying at the beautiful Cape Cadogan Boutique hotel. Service was first rate, attention to detail impeccable. Loved the location as it was so close to Kloof street, where there are a lot of restaurants and bars which are quite cheap. This is a boutique hotel and certainly has that personal touch. Breakfast was included and was quite good with good choices but was the only part that I would put down to 4 stars. The rooms are lovely, (we had 10, top of the stairs) and we didn't have any problem with noise. Staff were attentive, extremely helpful and had great information and ideas about where to eat. All in all we had a great stay and would not hesitate to stay here again should we return. Would also highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks guys for a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank for you review! We really love to hear from our guests and it was a pleasure hosting you. I am glad that you enjoy the personal service and that the room was up to standard. I am sorry to hear about breakfast - we strive to serve a '5 star' breakfast and I would like to hear your comments in more detail. You can reach me on dirk@capecadogan.co.za if you would like to share more about your experience.

Thank you once again for the kind words and I hope that you will visit again soon!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Cape Cadogan is a beautiful, small boutique hotel. As it is so small it's also more personal and the staff are very helpful and kind. Our room was a luxury suite and it was absolutely lovely. Spacious and comfortable with a beautiful big veranda type balcony with a view of Table Mountain. The bathroom was incredible too; huge with double shower and a large comfortable bath. The Charlotte Rhys toiletries were also a very nice touch and are exquisite! Every evening we also found a bottle of water and a biscuit or sweet by the bed. A lovely touch!
Breakfast was varied and delicious too. The only slight let-down was the pool which was tiny and freezing cold! Everything else was just wonderful and we'd definitely go again. Special thanks to the staff who also filled our room with rose petals on our last evening. A heart on the bed and a trail to the bath. So kind! A wonderful Christmas honeymoon stay.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are well worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatrionaMacPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your review! We strive to make each stay special and as comfortable as possible. Why don't you come visits us again for Christmas this year? We would love to have you.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We loved our honeymoon stay here, the staff were all excellent and made some great restaurant recommendations - thanks to Wisdom in particular who told us about Arnold's restaurant!
The room was lovely with a view of Table Mountain and a huge, comfy bed.
Only slight downside was that the breakfast wasn't quite as '5 star' as everything else but that was possibly in part just due to our own personal preferences.
It's also in a less touristy part of town, just off Kloof St and we were really glad to be situated here rather than near the V&A Waterfront. Lots of restaurants and bars in easy walking distance or a cheap cab ride away. If we go back to Cape Town we wouldn't hesitate to return to Cape Cadogan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for your review! We value our guest’s feedback and I am happy to hear that your honeymoon was comfortable. We are indeed located in a fabulous area and our guest relations team members are the experts!

I am sorry to hear that the breakfast was not to your liking. We are proud of the breakfast we offer and I would like to hear from you, should you wish contact us, to find out what was not up to standard- we appreciate your comments and would therefore like to action it. Please feel free to contact me on dirk@capecadogan.co.za

Thank you for staying with us and I would love to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We just returned to Los Angeles from 5 days at the wonderful Cape Cadogan Hotel. Beautiful, spacious bedrooms, inviting public spaces and a terrific location convenient to sightseeing, restaurants and shopping. Most impressive was the warm, professional staff (special thanks to Simone and Wisdom) who could not do enough to make our vacation special.
We look forward to a return visit in the near future!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Carly_CK130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review! Cemone and Wisdom will be pleased to hear that they could make your stay special - our guest relations team aim to make every guest feel as comfortable as possible. We would love to host you again in the future - our home is your home.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We booked in here as we were visiting the Cape to attend a family wedding. From start to finish the Cape Cadogan provided a high calibre service with extremely attentive staff who helped with all our needs during our stay. The hotel is delightful and offers all the old world charm and comforts that we desire on our travel s and I would have no difficulty recommending this to fellow travellers.

Thank HarareScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for the review and the recommendation! We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and to make our guests as comfortable as possible. I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My new husband and I stayed here in early October for 4 days on our honeymoon. The hotel itself is very charming and quaint. The rooms are very nice and we enjoyed our balcony overlooking the street. Breakfast is delicious and we loved the evening drinks and snacks in the comfortable sitting rooms.

What makes this hotel spectacular, though, is it's wonderful staff. They were extremely welcoming to us at midnight when we arrived and at 5am when we left a few days later! They provided recommendations on restaurants and shopping and knew our daily tour itineraries before we even came down for breakfast in the morning! Thank you, Cape Cadogan staff, for your sharing your wonderful city of Cape Town with us on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Congratulations once again on your marriage! It was wonderful having you stay with us and I am pleased to hear that we could help make your honeymoon in Cape Town unforgettable . I look forward to your next visit to Cape Cadogan - our home is your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My daughter and I have just come back from our holiday here and we stayed at the Cape Cadogan. The hotel is so pretty, the staff are so helpful!! and the position is excellent. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Top Class.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickysevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

It was a pleasure reading your review! Thank for taking the time to do so - we strive to provide fantastic service and I am happy to hear that you experienced it as such. I hope to welcome you and your daughter back to Cape Cadogan soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,097 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
459 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £174 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing