We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Cape Town Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Saddle River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Cape Town Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We returned last week from our 5 night stay at the Cape Cadogan. The hotel was spectacular in every way. Beautiful rooms, amazing, helpful staff, perfect location. We walked to dinner 3 of the nights we were there, all to restaurants suggested by the staff. None of the restaurants were touristy and all were delicious. The helpful and friendly staff took care of all of our needs. Everyone there was wonderful, from the staff at the front desk, to the doormen, to the staff in the breakfast room. Breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, modern and well appointed. You cannot go wrong with a stay here.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room, room 2, with our own private courtyard, beautiful chandelier and two sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl9191961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review! I am glad that you enjoyed staying in our Luxury Room. I am pleased to hear that our staff make you feel welcome - I will be sure to let them know.

I hope to welcome you back to Cape Cadogan - our home is your home.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    118
    19
    12
    1
See reviews for
50
504
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My mother and I stayed here in late December and loved every minute. Pretty, clean rooms. Lovely bathrooms. The breakfast was amazing. The staff was spectacular. They went out of their way to make our visit very special. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dressage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for this great review! It was a pleasure hosting you and your mother at Cape Cadogan. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the staff - I will be sure to pass your kind words onto the team.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Cape Cadogan in December 2013. It was a perfect hotel for us; very welcoming and comfortable with a little bit of personal touch. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished, breakfast was delicious and always served with a smile. We also found the people at the reception desk very knowledgeable about the area. They gave us very useful advice on the beat vineyards to visit and booked lovely restaurant for us in CT. Overall, really positive and a place where I felt at home from the first day. Cristina and David

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cscappar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for the great review! We pride ourselves in giving guests a unique and personal experience when staying at Cape Cadogan - I am happy to hear that you experienced it as such.

It was wonderful hosting you and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The staff were excellent and took good care of us while in Cape Town, ideally located near good restaurants. Accommodation, first class as was breakfasts.
We had a great view of Table Mountain from our patio.

Room Tip: Room 8 - the pick of the bunch for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for the review and thank you for the kind words! I am happy that you enjoyed staying in our luxury room and that you enjoyed the breakfast - I will be sure to let Hilda and Grace know.

It was a pleasure hosting you - our home is your home.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights in September 2013 and were very impressed with their fabulous service. All of the staff a very friendly and helpful and will gladly help you choose places to go and things to do. We had a lovely large room, large, comfortable bed and a massive bathroom with walk in shower. A couple of the nights were a little chilly and we returned from our evening meal to find hot water bottles had been put under the covers to warm the bed, a very nice touch and greatly appreciated!

We would like to give special thanks to Pelo for her assistance and hard work

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We pride ourselves in providing great service and to add personal touches like the hot water bottles to make our guests feel at home.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back soon - our home is your home.

Regards,
Dirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location ideal for being a touch out of centre(5 minutes) but in a quiet area. Lots of life / pubs/ restaurants within walking distance.
We were in the Presidential suite with lounge ,own plunge pool, 7 ft bed .fab shower/ bath etc.Magnificent.
Hospitality the best the staff could not do enough to help but in an understated way. Even getting me a doctor quickly due to Sinusitis

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berjan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for this great review! It was a pleasure hosting you in our suite and I am happy that you found our service and facilities up to standard.

I hope to welcome you back to Cape Cadogan - our home is your home.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I traveled to South Africa over Thanksgiving holiday. We stayed in Cape Cadogan for 3 nights. I would say the best part about this hotel was how helpful the staff was. We had no set plans prior to getting to Cape Town. We had some friends staying at Kensington Place and Cape Cadogan's staff arranged our wine tour, Shark Diving, and reservations for dinner for both us and our friends.

The rooms were very nice, loved the big shower in the bathroom, and the little mini bar. We did take advantage of the laundry service while we were there.

Location was great because it was near lots of restaurants and away from the "touristy" part of town. However, you could take a shuttle during the day or night to go to Waterfront and was pretty close. We looked at staying in Waterfront but it's very $$ and touristy. After visiting Waterfront, it's like San Francisco ..everybody raves about Waterfront but we thought it was overrated. If your staying in Cape Town, I would def. stay at Cape Cadogan!. However, if you only have a very small time in South Africa and don't like big cities or crowds, I would stay outside of city in Hermanus or one of the other Wine Country regions and then just go into Cape Town for a day trip.

Room Tip: We had a luxury suite. Bathroom was awesome, terrace I didn't have a view since it was walled o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natbrat185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! Our aim is to provide our guests with an authentic experience that draws from local surroundings and people. We try and stay away from tourist oriented establishments to make this happen and I ham happy that you experienced it as such.

I hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing