We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
604
127
21
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
127
21
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetour honeymoontable mountainprivate courtyardhot water bottlesdouble showerplunge poolgreat boutiquethis small boutique hotelluxury roombreakfast room iswithin walking distancefirst stopthree nightssouth africalovely roomeach evening
Filter
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 766 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This beautiful small hotel yards from Kloof Street is easy walking distance from many restaurants. In addition to that the staff recommended other city restaurants to us, none of which disappointed. The rooms are spacious with huge shower cubicles. Breakfast in the light and airy courtyard was full of variety and my special dietary needs were catered for. In addition cool drinks were always available when we came in and canapés were served early evening. Dirk in particular went to exceptional trouble to check our on-going route over the mountains to Wilderness and to ensure our happiness at all times.

Room Tip: Room 3 is ground floor and has a large sunny bathroom leading onto a private patio. The bath is large and there is also a double shower cubicle.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0ckenhamstr0ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I'm surprised by the 5-star reviews; this is a solid 3-star property at best. The front desk service was okay at this hotel, but the property is dated and dirty. There were hairs and dead insects in our bathtub. The windows were thin, so we could hear everything outside of our room (cars, breakfast set-up, people talking, etc.). There was a giant stain on the carpet in our room. The window frames and baseboards were covered in dirt and dust. Mid-way through our stay, they showed us another room that was supposed to be quieter, but it reeked of cigarette smoke. On two of our four days at this hotel, housekeeping did not leave ANY towels in the room. We had to dry our hands with toilet tissue until housekeeping finally came (>1 hour after being called).

We did have good front desk service while there. However, we arrived 1 day late due to a delay in our travel schedule, and the hotel would not provide a refund for the first night that we missed. Usually, if a delay is due to air travel, hotels are more understanding. I'm a bit shocked by this considering the issues that we had with the room.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the pool. Actually, avoid any room and just choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lepmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jisca J, General Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send through feedback regarding your stay. We truly apologize for the negative experience you had with regards to noise and housekeeping. This is quite a concern as we pride ourselves in our service and attention to detail. Rest assured that all your points of concern have been noted and are being thoroughly workshopped.

In regards to Hotel Policy and guests being charged for no shows; This is common policy amongst hotel’s worldwide and I am unaware of any of the bigger chains that don’t use this policy. The reason behind this is that unfortunately hotels have a perishable product whereby once a night is lost it can never be regained. This puts hotels at great risk as the night can never be “sold” again. In the event that we have a cancellation within the prescribed time, we off course will make the refund, however at such late notice it is impossible to re-sell that night and the hotel loses out through no fault of its own. I apologise that this has upset you and I hope that with the above explanation you can be a little more understanding.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This boutique hotel has a great style with impeccably polite and helpful staff. We stayed for 10 days and every member of the team went out of their way to make us feel welcome and couldn't have been nicer. Our room was a good size and felt very homely. Another plus to this place is it's location. There are so many good places to visit on foot and the staff are more than happy to share their recommendations.

I couldn't recommend Cape Cadogan enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the wonderful review - I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your ten days in Cape Town. We are indeed located in a fabulous area with some of the best restaurants in the city within walking distance.

I am also happy to hear that the staff made you feel at home - we try to make each stay as unique as possible by providing an authentic experience to our guests. I will be sure to pass the message onto the team.

I hope to welcome you back to Cape Cadogan in the near future - our home is your home.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Beautiful work of design, class, culture and comfort.
Very comfortable, helpful staff with good knowledge of the area.
Scrumptious breakfasts and little extras like hors d'oeuvres and Porto in the evenings.

Room Tip: Room three has the BEST bathroom suite - really wows you. Interior suite, so no direct panoramic view. But, from the bed, looking over the wall of the interior courtyard off the bathroom, you can see the top of Table Mountain and the "Tablecloth" coming over it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

It is wonderful to read such a great review - thank you! Room three, a Luxury room, is known for the fabulous bathroom - I am happy that you enjoyed staying there.

I hope to welcome you back to Cape Cadogan on your next visit.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We returned last week from our 5 night stay at the Cape Cadogan. The hotel was spectacular in every way. Beautiful rooms, amazing, helpful staff, perfect location. We walked to dinner 3 of the nights we were there, all to restaurants suggested by the staff. None of the restaurants were touristy and all were delicious. The helpful and friendly staff took care of all of our needs. Everyone there was wonderful, from the staff at the front desk, to the doormen, to the staff in the breakfast room. Breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, modern and well appointed. You cannot go wrong with a stay here.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room, room 2, with our own private courtyard, beautiful chandelier and two sitting areas. Sons had standard room 10, which was perfectly fine with modern furniture and bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerseygirl9191961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review! I am glad that you enjoyed staying in our Luxury Room. I am pleased to hear that our staff make you feel welcome - I will be sure to let them know.

I hope to welcome you back to Cape Cadogan - our home is your home.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews