We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
607
127
22
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
127
22
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kloof street our honeymoon table mountain private courtyard hot water bottles double shower plunge pool great boutique this small boutique hotel luxury room breakfast room is within walking distance first stop three nights south africa lovely room each evening
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 770 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The staff were really friendly and we couldn't fault the room. Breakfasts were delicious as well. Ideal location for exploring the city and surrounds and if you're feeling tired there's a good selection of restaurants/cafes just a short (safe) stroll away.
Thoroughly recommended for a more personal experience. The restaurant recommendation we got for one night (Umi in Camps Bay) was spot on as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent location just step out into the mall or onto waterfront. Good room, very clean, nice bathroom, robes, free WiFi, good storage, air con.
Good selection at breakfast, and friendly staff, would stay again if in Cape Town. Lots of good restaurants on the doorstep!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank sharon021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Recently returned from our honeymoon to South Africa. After a week of Safari we were excited for Cape Town, and hotel-like accommodations. I loved that upon our arrival Jisca offered us something cold to drink, and sat down with us to really help us maximize our Cape Town experience -- from restaurants, and things to do -- it was a really nice touch, and very helpful!

Dirk and another woman at the front desk were always very helpful and accommodation as well. The woman helped us plan our shark diving excursion, and made all of the reservations for us. The staff we encountered really know the definition of hospitality.

The hotel itself was very charming -- old and with history (smelled great too), and in the BEST location. We LOVED walking right out into the heart of Cape Town -- so many restaurants right around the corner, and gave us a real living like a Capetonian experience, which was awesome! We later stayed at the Waterfont which we really regretted. The waterfront area was somewhat cheesy and touristy -- if coming to Cape Town, definitely stay Central! Very easy to get to that area too from Central Cape if you're looking to check it out.

We stayed in room 1. Do NOT stay in room 1. You will feel like you are sleeping at the front desk. It is located about 8 steps away -- you feel like you're back in college, coming and going, with the RA sitting and monitoring every move. You could also hear everything going on all hours at the front desk -- and I'm sure they could hear us when we were in the room as well. It is not private whatsoever. Not the best honeymoon accommodations, and for any stay.

Another gripe about Room #1 was that it was right in front of their patio (which was lovely) with the exception there was a security (?) or someone standing there at all times -- literally in our room in the window/blinds were open (its all level). This room has NOTHING private about it. If we were ever in our room during the day we could not take advantage of the sunlight, or fresh air. We felt very trapped in so many ways here. We loved the staff and location, but were very excited to leave to our next hotel, even though we would be leaving this great location. Otherwise, I may have rated this hotel a 5. Maybe.

I must say, Jisca tried to accommodate us and move us the Room 12 -- this room was smaller, with no real windows (windows looked out into another empty room/entryway. Room 1 was the only real option.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOStraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This beautiful small hotel yards from Kloof Street is easy walking distance from many restaurants. In addition to that the staff recommended other city restaurants to us, none of which disappointed. The rooms are spacious with huge shower cubicles. Breakfast in the light and airy courtyard was full of variety and my special dietary needs were catered for. In addition cool drinks were always available when we came in and canapés were served early evening. Dirk in particular went to exceptional trouble to check our on-going route over the mountains to Wilderness and to ensure our happiness at all times.

Room Tip: Room 3 is ground floor and has a large sunny bathroom leading onto a private patio. The bath is large and there is also a double shower cubicle.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0ckenhamstr0ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I'm surprised by the 5-star reviews; this is a solid 3-star property at best. The front desk service was okay at this hotel, but the property is dated and dirty. There were hairs and dead insects in our bathtub. The windows were thin, so we could hear everything outside of our room (cars, breakfast set-up, people talking, etc.). There was a giant stain on the carpet in our room. The window frames and baseboards were covered in dirt and dust. Mid-way through our stay, they showed us another room that was supposed to be quieter, but it reeked of cigarette smoke. On two of our four days at this hotel, housekeeping did not leave ANY towels in the room. We had to dry our hands with toilet tissue until housekeeping finally came (>1 hour after being called).

We did have good front desk service while there. However, we arrived 1 day late due to a delay in our travel schedule, and the hotel would not provide a refund for the first night that we missed. Usually, if a delay is due to air travel, hotels are more understanding. I'm a bit shocked by this considering the issues that we had with the room.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the pool. Actually, avoid any room and just choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lepmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jisca J, General Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send through feedback regarding your stay. We truly apologize for the negative experience you had with regards to noise and housekeeping. This is quite a concern as we pride ourselves in our service and attention to detail. Rest assured that all your points of concern have been noted and are being thoroughly workshopped.

In regards to Hotel Policy and guests being charged for no shows; This is common policy amongst hotel’s worldwide and I am unaware of any of the bigger chains that don’t use this policy. The reason behind this is that unfortunately hotels have a perishable product whereby once a night is lost it can never be regained. This puts hotels at great risk as the night can never be “sold” again. In the event that we have a cancellation within the prescribed time, we off course will make the refund, however at such late notice it is impossible to re-sell that night and the hotel loses out through no fault of its own. I apologise that this has upset you and I hope that with the above explanation you can be a little more understanding.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews